No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gallowgate , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Luxury & Customer Service 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, Metro Radio Arena, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius)
In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. This allows us to appeal to a large audience of transient, corporate and leisure travelers.
Our location is suitable for customers travelling by train as the Newcastle Central Station is just 10 minutes walking distance; for those travelling by car, the motorway (A1) is 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
Our hotel amenities include: complimentary high speed internet access, complimentary coffee and tea in the guest rooms and in the lobby. Shark Club Gastro Bar is open daily from 6 am to midnight and we have 24hrs room service available as well. Fully equipped roof top fitness suite.
We offer a variety of different rooms with microwave and fridge as well as studios and suites with full kitchen amenities and some with a private balcony.
Picture of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 200 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were very impressed with the room very comfortable bed surprised and impressed to have a microwave and fridge. Couldn't fault the room but would have been helpful to have bottle opener. The food in the sports bar was very good, staff very friendly we will definatly be staying here again. There is also a car park over the road with some reserved spaces for the hotel it cost £8 for 24 hours which is very reasonable in Newcastle. Many thanks to all the lovely staff.

Reviewed by
linda l

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful stay, will be booking again soon!!
We arrived early as we were going to the football match but they took our luggage and put it in the room for us when it was ready! Room was better than expected and the bed was the best nights sleep in ages!!! Definitely recommend a stay here, right in the centre so no need to use the car!

Reviewed by
melissa knott

From Stourport on Severn, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay,lovely room and no complaints except that there was no hot water at all in the morning for a shower.staff were friendly in the hotel and the bar and were accomodating to our needs etc.The food was also good ,however The hotel needs to sort out the shower issue though as having a cold shower then going out into snow isnt a great start to the day.when i mentioned it on checkout i got the impression a few people had this problem also. but other than that a pleasant stay that was in a great location for everything .

Reviewed by
sandra g

From Whitehaven, England
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable stay
Myself and partner stayed in an executive room and were very happy with it.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central location (I walked back from the town centre - 10mins). Very convenient for Metro -right across the road. Staff were very friendly and attentive, but not overly fussy.
Room was ideal - not too big, or small. Very clean, with a nice modern walk in shower room.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, It’s fantastic to learn that you had a great time with us at the Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle. I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with the team at our weekly management meeting. We look forward to welcoming back again in the not to distant future. Kind Regards, Paul, General Manager

Reviewed by
S Wroe

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, more lovelier staff!
Stayed 2 nights here. Getting the car to a hotel door can be frustrating but as soon as you reach reception desk you are overwhelmed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the reception staff, in particular the blonde girl who checked us in (didn't get her name). By far the nicest check in experience I've had purely down to her.
Visited the gastro shark club for dinner (part of the hotel) and was not let down by the customer service of the girls there, each one stunning might I add and running around in heels making the job look effortless! Great deals on food, wine and cocktails on the Thursday we visited. Definitely recommend a visit here early evening for pre night out drinks. Didn't stay late as was heading out but stays open late at weekend.
On top of that rooms lovely, spacious and equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Great location, 10 minute walk down to metro arena and all the Newcastle hotspots recommended to us by the girl at reception.
Will stay again soon!

Reviewed by
Grant C

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

(very) Near St James, and China Town; Uni not far
heating very noisy - like a rocket in the middle of the night so we had to turn it off....so we were cold in the morning

Reviewed by
Jon H

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hoteltastic
Modern, clean, central location & friendly helpful staff. Fantastic stay & felt welcomed. Would stay again

Reviewed by
d fail

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, good location, friendly staff and modern decor
Had a great stay, only 5 min walk from restaurants and shops. If staying on a Saturday night and arriving after 6pm the metro pay and display car park directly across from the hotel is free sat night/Sunday so that was good n really handy. Didn't eat in hotel but bar/restaurant looked busy and nice. Quick check in and check out. Would definitely stay again

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, It makes us feel great when we get such positive feedback from our guests. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and to hear that you would definitely return again in the future is fantastic. Thanks for taking the time to let us know how you appreciated your stay. Kind Regards, Paul, General Manager

Reviewed by
amy c

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel!
Couldn't ask for anything better! Great rooms, great location, helpful staff!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to express your thoughts following your recent stay with ourselves at the Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to communicate to the rest of the team your high ratings which you attributed to our service, quality, cleanliness, and value. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Paul, General Manager

Reviewed by
M Carter

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next