No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gallowgate , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Luxury & Customer Service 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, Metro Radio Arena, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius)
In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. This allows us to appeal to a large audience of transient, corporate and leisure travelers.
Our location is suitable for customers travelling by train as the Newcastle Central Station is just 10 minutes walking distance; for those travelling by car, the motorway (A1) is 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
Our hotel amenities include: complimentary high speed internet access, complimentary coffee and tea in the guest rooms and in the lobby. Shark Club Gastro Bar is open daily from 6 am to midnight and we have 24hrs room service available as well. Fully equipped roof top fitness suite.
We offer a variety of different rooms with microwave and fridge as well as studios and suites with full kitchen amenities and some with a private balcony. Important, please note – for all Advance Purchase rates, the Credit Card used for the purchase MUST be presented at check in.
Picture of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 211 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Sevice
Polite attentive staff. We arrived early but staff took care of our luggage so we could begin looking around the city. A nice clean, comfortable, modern room. A good choice of food for breakfast. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Tracey P

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top stay in great location
I thought it was in a really good location near to the town centre. Didn't use any facilities. Bar , food etc so can't comment on them. But room was really good standard Very secure and safe. Only negative is I thought it was a bit overpriced. But all in all would stay again. (Maybe on a discount voucher).

Reviewed by
Mark R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was bigger and nicer than it appeared in the pictures. Great lively, friendly and stylish ambiance. Good location, close to everything. Our room was spotless. Highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Avril F

From Wymondham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable but be aware of breakfast
The receptionist was lovely and the room was fine. Beware breakfast, this is served in the bar and run by another organisation. Check out the price before committing.

Reviewed by
S Wood

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice rooms and friendly staff
Room really nice, would have liked a bath.

Reviewed by
T W

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

for price and star rating the sound proofing was terrible

Reviewed by
C Harman

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel location
An outstanding hotel with terrific staff at all levels. Although we went on a late deal, my daughter emailed the hotel to ask for a room overlooking St James's Park and although they could not promise but said they would try, they did indeed provide a wonderful room on the 10th floor. The breakfast period is long starting at 6 am and it is extremely convenient for the shopping/eating areas. Had a lovely time.

Reviewed by
M MERCER

From , England
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Silly Room
I booked a junior suit. It was an average size bedroom with a pointless partition in the middle of it. Making it a tiny sitting area and a needlessly small bedroom area. The bathroom was only separated from the bedroom by a wobbly glass door. Thank goodness I was on my own. The hotel has a designer feel; unfortunately it felt more like a bad copy of a trendy hotel than a genuinely unique and stylish one. In one word I’d describe it as ‘naff”.

Reviewed by
I MacLaren-Lee

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice!
Lovely hotel, very pleasant atmosphere. Modern and stylish and very comfortable. Only gripe would be that the aircon unit was a bit noisy but other than that it was great! Also, any hotel with a giant horse lamp in the reception area can't be bad!

Reviewed by
Graeme T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel in prime location
This hotel was simply great - the staff were most helpful, the room extremely clean and furnished to a high standard. Lovely big shower and such a comfortable bed! We will be returning for another enjoyable weekend in the Toon :)

Reviewed by
Jayne H

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next