No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Redesdale Arms Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Redesdale Arms, Rochester, Otterburn, Otterburn, NE19 1TA
The Redesdale Arms is known as the “First & Last” Inn on route to Scotland and has been providing a warm welcome to visitors for centuries. The oldest part of the building is over 600 years old and is a former bastle house – a fortified dwelling that provided defence during the late middle ages when this part of the world was known as the “Debatable Lands” – A lawless region roamed over by bands of outlaws from both sides of the border known as Border Reivers. Today the area is a tranquil place where visitors from both sides of the border can be assured of a very warm welcome, good food and hospitality and some fabulous scenery. Situated in a great location the edge of the "Northumberland International Dark Sky Park", Redesdale is a great central location for visiting the many attractions seen on Robson Green's “Tales from Northumberland”, such as Hadrian’s Wall, the Scottish Border Country and just a little further afield the beautiful Northumberland coastline, with its castles and fabulous beaches from Alnmouth and Bamburgh to the island of Lindisfarne. At night you can enjoy some the darkest skies in the world, on a clear night the skies are truly breathtaking and were just 45 minutes away from Kielder observatory. All our bedrooms are well appointed, with comfortable beds and complete with modern appliances and facilities including: • Complimentary selection of teas, coffee & biscuits • TV with remote control and freeview • Hair dryers • Free WiFi We offer a full breakfast menu to set you up for the days exploring ahead, there's also a veggie option or you can opt for a lighter continental style breakfast. Our dinner menu has something for everyone, including a selection of vegetarian dishes. We are happy to cater for specific dietary needs. We also offer a good selection of wines, spirits and beers in the lounge and bar areas. We also stock a range of beers and ales from regional producers.
Picture of Redesdale Arms Hotel, Otterburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country inn
Excellent value, quiet rural location. This was my second visit and I highly recommend it. The only disadvantage is that it is located on its own a couple of miles from Otterburn. A car is essential. Food is also excellent.

Reviewed by
R Johnston

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great evening
We stay overnight whilst visiting friends and the accommodation was excellent and the breakfast very good.

Reviewed by
R Charnock

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good friendly pub with clean and tidy rooms. Excellent food and location will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Phil Shillito

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We booked our double room last minute and were extreamly happy with the room. there was more than enough room for our sons travel cot and the staff were very accomodating and couldnt be more friendlt. The room was spotless and had everything you could need. Breakfast was delightful and catered for everyone. Overall a lovely stay and i would definatly recommend to a friend.

Reviewed by
Laura M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly pit stop
Welcome break on our journey to Scotland from the South of England.
Very friendly staff, delicious home cooked food and very comfortable rooms

Reviewed by
Diana W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was excellent throughout. Only disadvantage it is located three miles outside of Otterburn.
Booking made at last minute through unexpected circumstances. Typical stone built country hotel in rural location. Accommodation of high standard and hotel justifies it's 4 star rating. Food good and well priced. Staff courteous and friendly. Excellent value.

Reviewed by
R Johnston

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were staying one night to attend a Golden Wedding celebration nearby. We were made extremely welcome by very friendly staff, and our room was comfortable and clean with gorgeous views over the hills.The only meal we had was breakfast, but it was beautifully cooked and delicious. I would not hesitate to stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Rosie P

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home cooking was superb.
Shower wasn't brilliant but perfectly adequate.
Just didn't get on with the pillows

Reviewed by
Tim S

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome but a bit quiet...
We arrived at 7ish on a sunday evening and were made very welcome by the landlady but it was deathly quiet in the bar and restaurant - probably just a reflection on day and time.

Reviewed by
T Hutton

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family trip
I booked this hotel to join my husband while he was working in the area. The owners made us feel so very welcome, especially our 7 year old son. The room we were booked into was exceptional large. The food was terrific and the service impeccable. We would definitely stay here again next time my husband is working in Otterburn. Thank you to all at The Reasdale Arms for a fantastic, laid back weekend.

Reviewed by
Tammy Mitchell

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next