No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel a Citylodge Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Gosport Road , Alton, GU34 3NN

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Situated in the heart of Hampshire, The Angel a Citylodge Hotel is just 20 minutes’ drive from historic Winchester. The hotel has a welcoming real ale bar, a traditional restaurant and rooms with free Wi-Fi. The bright and airy bedrooms feature luxury Hypnos beds and a flat-screen TV. All rooms have a comfortable seating area and a modern bathroom with bath and power shower and free toiletries. The Angel restaurant offers classic British cuisine and carvery lunches. The bar serves real local ales, light meals and hearty breakfasts, and guests can also dine on the spacious terrace. The Angel a Citylodge Hotel is located on the A32 road, just 5 miles south of Alton, once home to author Jane Austen. There is plenty of free on-site parking, and Basingstoke can be reached in a 20-minute drive. Please note that we are not near Alton Towers Theme Park.
Picture of The Angel a Citylodge Hotel, Alton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Picked the hotel because of location and couldn't have found better. Large clean room with all the facilities. Friendly staff with a great value carvery for dinner.

Reviewed by
Roger B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget stay
Lovely quiet location near to Petersfield where there's great shopping. Hotel had lovely large bed and bathroom. Could have been a little cleaner in the bathroom and found a shirt in the wardrobe! Food was excellent and the eating area is relaxed.

Reviewed by
K ASKIN

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap enough
Paid for a budget pub/hotel and that's what it is. Have to say the bath and toilet are way to close together makes it hard to get out of. Perhaps putting the sink where the toilet is would have been better.
Was clean enough and the carvery was ok, free wifi and good mobile (02), just too small rooms, wife had to sit on the end of bed to use mirror. TV great though.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well placed accommodation
Good value for money and very clean and tidy. Plenty of car parking space and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
M Seabrook

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room good value for money but food is awful
Out in the middle of nowhere, so quiet room guaranteed. Very spacious room and clean. I would eat elsewhere as their menu is VERY limited pub food and not very nice for the price. Go down the road instead. But as somewhere to stay or getaway it has ample parking, free wifi, big beds, tv screen on the wall and ample tea/coffee facilities.

Reviewed by
A Compton

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
enjoyed our stay here, excellent value for money

Reviewed by
anthony r

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Could not fault room, clean, fresh, just wish they had left, shower cream, as we was staying, two days. Carvery was good, but veggies, only warm, which spoilt it. But the staff, were very pleasant, and the Bar area, was friendly. Would stay there again, room 202.

Reviewed by
a hill

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well positioned ,clean and good value.
Good situation,well placed for Hampshire and New Forest.
Hotel room was good if a little cool for us but the heating was turned up immediately upon request,it was nice to see the room serviced every day with clean towels and replacement tea and coffee.
The bar and restaurant were excellent and the carvery superb.
The staff were always on hand and so willing to help .
Overall a real pleasure to visit.

Reviewed by
Graeme P

From Romney Marsh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little dirty
Room made me itch and smelled of dogs.
There was a sticking plaster inside the quilt cover
There was no light to see where I was going around the outside of the hotel to see my way to my room and I did bump into the wall.
The tables in the restaurant were sticky and the food not very nice at all.

Reviewed by
Andy P

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return visitor
Stayed here a few times and always friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfy.

Reviewed by
Kenneth J A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next