Reviews - The Angel a Citylodge Hotel


Gosport Road, Alton, GU34 3NN

Price From 93.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (85)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C Cotton

  • November 2015

Arrived during a power cut which was interesting.

Friendly staff & pleasant areas to sit in the bar/restaurant area. The Reception area/desk could do with a face/lift.

  • J B

  • November 2015

Rural retreat close to towns

The Angel Citylodge Hotel was a lucky find in June when looking for an overnight stay to visit a friend in Gosport.

We have stayed here twice now, as the rooms are clean with comfortable beds, quality bed linen, good television and wifi and ensuite with bath. Staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Added to that the food is good - carvery, home cooked mains and excellent buffet breakfast - and reasonably priced. There is a welcoming country pub atmosphere, too. Often when staying in hotels we have difficulty with wifi signals but on our recent visit to the Angel the signal was reliable and strong, enabling us to video call our little grandson on his second birthday, such a delight. Well done Angel...we will definitely be back!

  • L Spiers

  • October 2015

A nice break

We stayed for a couple of nights, the room was a bit cramped but clean and we had everything we needed.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the evening carvery excellent value and there was a good choice at breakfast.

  • Melanie D

  • October 2015

Its on the list

of places I would happily stay at again.

Lovely clean room and bathroom. Loved the biscuits to go with my cuppa. Room was warm to walk into and had adjustable valve so I could turn down the heat for sleeping. Bed was very comfortable.

I had other plans for the evening so didn't try the food but it smelled wonderful as passed by the dining room and again in the morning as I left for a date with the sunrise ( keen photographer). Staff were all welcoming, friendly and polite. All in all an excellent experience

  • Peter Broster

  • October 2015

My favourite hotel

I am a huge fan of the Angel, buried in the Hampshire countryside it is an absolute delight.

I love waking up to the views from the room. I love the ambience of the dining room and bar. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bed very comfy. Importantly for me the hot water tap is not a scalding temperature like some hotels. My only comment surrounds the buffet, first it's awkward the way the staff have to come round and ask for your room numbr to make sure you have paid for the breakfast. There needs to be a more professional way of doing this. Second, eggs do not keep well in a buffet, I recommend offering to cook them as required or change to scrambled.

  • Ann G

  • October 2015

Friendly hotel perfect for short stay

We stayed here for a family wedding, the location was good.

Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room and reasonable choice of food. Ideal for a short stay to explore the beautiful countryside around the Meon valley.

  • caroline w

  • September 2015

on our arrival the man at the desk glanced at us and then back to his screen for about a minute, eventually he aknowleged us and gave us a key.

Not a welcoming start to our stay. The walls are thin, and from 7am next morning someone was pacing the room above us.

  • Barry M

  • September 2015

Fine place.

  • Paul R

  • August 2015

quiet break

Comfortable, clean and friendly with good food reasonably priced.

  • Sue B

  • July 2015

The Angel a Citylodge Hotel

This is a good hotel to use as a base for the Portsmouth area, our room was not very big but was adequate for an overnight stay, the bathroom was a bit basic.