No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Metro Inns Derby

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Macklin Street , Derby, DE1 1LF
Metro Inns Derby ideally located in Derby City Centre. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of comfort and service, with a friendly atmosphere. With 92 bedrooms, all with full ensuite facilities, hospitality tray and televison .
Complimentary Continental Breakfast is served from 6.00am-9.30am Monday to Friday and 8.00am-9.30am on Saturday and Sunday.

Picture of Metro Inns Derby, Derby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 210 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 48% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Very close to city centre, free parking, comfortable & clean

Reviewed by
Alison R

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic, very clean & in great location with free parking
Superb location

Reviewed by
A Napier

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

having stayed there before nothing had changed friendly staff all round
Really well ran hotel with friendly staff and well maintained rooms.

Reviewed by
d pinder

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
A very tired budget rooms the pictures used for this hotel are out of date .. the shower needed to be cleaned before use ,,, well thats if you could fit in it my elbows kept hitting the side each time i moved ... the so called continental breakfast was a joke Total refit required !!

Reviewed by
Robin W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not very cheerful
This hotel is on one of the roughest streets in derby there were drunks arguing in the street outside when we arrived at 4 in the afternoon. The room we stayed in was like a room in a homeless shelter the whole place is extremely basic, run down and very poorly decorated. The bathroom was clean as was the bedding although the two hard pillows weren't very comfy. The hallway was dark and dreary and smelt of cigarettes and there was an ashtray in our room despite us expecting a non smoking room the smoke alarm was also covered with a plastic bag with was a bit worrying.
The plus points to this place was that it is a two minute walk from all the pubs so its ideal for somewhere to crash after a night out but if you're looking for somewhere nice to stay then avoid this place. Would suit a stag do as there's nothing they could do to the room to make it much worse.

Reviewed by
Erin T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looks better in photos
Unfortunately this hotel looks better in the photos than it actually is.
It says they have parking, but once their small car park is full you have to park on road or in the car park around the corner. The TV was small and not an LCD and only had channels 1-5. The toilet didn't flush so were moved to an 'executive room' which was exactly the same apart from it now had LCD TV. The breakfast was toast, fruit, yogurt and cereal.

Reviewed by
A Pires

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The floor I stayed on the decoration everywhere was very tired, the carpet needs replacing as bleach has been spilt in places. The bedroom itself was okay except the drawers were broken, the toilet was dodgy & the shower was way to small. I was comfy but there probably needed air con or something as the room was very warm through the night. The major plus to this establishment was the free wifi, it was so fast & not many hotels have fast wifi at all even when they charge. The bar area was a good contribution to the hotel a very relaxing area.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would give it a miss
This hotel is in desperate need of a good clean and new carpet! I requested to move rooms as the first one i was allocated was extremely run down,the dressing table seat was broken and there was a huge stain on the carpet next to the bed which was obviously an old sick stain.
I requested to move rooms and the friendly receptionist obliged without hesitation. My friends room was located on 4th floor of which appeared to be a smoking landing and not just for cigarettes. We had to walk through the cannabis clouds to get to our room...not good given our legal occupations!!!
i advise you to spend few quid more and go elsewhere!

Reviewed by
j smith

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor condition
I expected a basic room but it was very tatty - paint peeling off the old windows, which wouldn't shut properly- tatty carpet and tired decor. The bed was lumpy and when I asked for a spare quilt for the second night (which helped) I wasn't offered any apology or alternative. I had paid extra for an "executive room" which meant I had a mini fridge, microwave and huge flat screen TV. However, the only way you could watch the TV properly, because of the tiny size of the room, would be to stand on the bed! There was no double glazing so it was noisy and the curtains were thin and cream so the light woke me early.

Reviewed by
W Hill

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting; terrible & unclean
Apart from the morning breakfast, this is the most disgusting unclean flee pit I have stayed in my 11 year career. This is not a 3* hotel; a 1* is too much. Just terrible.

Reviewed by
J Ali

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next