No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Metro Inns Derby

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Macklin Street , Derby, DE1 1LF
Metro Inns Derby ideally located in Derby City Centre. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of comfort and service, with a friendly atmosphere. With 92 bedrooms, all with full ensuite facilities, hospitality tray and televison .
Complimentary Continental Breakfast is served from 6.00am-9.30am Monday to Friday and 8.00am-9.30am on Saturday and Sunday.

Picture of Metro Inns Derby, Derby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 201 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 49% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic but cheap.
On arival the outside was very run down. Inside the only decent area was the reception. Our room was damp and mouldy and quite dirty in appearance. After a call to reception they changed us to a slightly better room without the mould and damp. Both rooms we saw were nothing like the smart rooms on the website. There were signs up stating the hotel was going through renovation but in general it was quite run down and the corridoors were quite old and dated in appearance. The hotel was quite close to the city centre. If you are purely after a room to sleep in then this hotel is okay i suppose.

Reviewed by
Elaine B

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the money

Reviewed by
S Thompson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The smallest most awful shower. Carpet dirty, bed linen not changed, toilet flush bad
Did complain about the shower room with the thought of bring offered another one, but was told by the receptionist all the showers were same. I couldn't even fit into it.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth D

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not the best
this room should have been refurbished but the only upgraded item seemed to be the tv. Carpet was dirty, bed lumpy , windows rotten and the toilet would not flush properly. This hotel does seem to be undergoing an upgrade though and the reception area was lovely.

Reviewed by
anthony d

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was my second stay at Metro Inn in Derby and was much better than last year. Although I had only booked a Single en-suite, on arrival the receptionist upgraded me to a Double at no extra cost! The bed was big and very comfortable, the bathroom had shower over bath which was far better than the single "shower box"! There is a secure (CCTV) underground car park within a few yards and is only £3.70 for 24hrs. I would certainly stay there again

Reviewed by
Harry T

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful :)
Girls Night Out. Perfect location for pubs and kebab shop. Spacious triple room for £16.60 a head. Very clean room. Nice bathroom. Rooms Fully equipped with everything we needed. Beds clean and comfortable. Would use again for a night out. Continental breakfast was ok too. Nice little selection of cereals toast croissants etc. Plenty of juice and coffee which was much needed for the morning after ;)
Its no where near the hilton but a bargain stay. Cheap and cheerful. If you want luxury then look elsewhere. Perfect for couples and groups.

Reviewed by
Suzanna S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Metro Inn Derby
Very handy for central Derby, cheap parking nearby. Unfortunately very noisy nightclub close by but other than that, stay was very good.

Reviewed by
S Flemons

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

single bed room
Was good enough
Good for money

Reviewed by
Karolis Steponavicius

From Fermoy , Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just when you think u have seen it all.
This is what we booked ! Executive Double Room sleeps 2. Breakfast included. Non Smoking Requested, 2 Adults
Superior En-suite Double room, Newly Refurbished which can accommodate 1 - 2 Adults with the added feature of a 42" inch TV and a Mini fridge.
A Hospitality tray and fresh Continental breakfast is also included. It wasn't at all what we got. A dirty run down dump. We had to ask for pillows etc. The place was full of screaming drunks ! We had to leave at 12pm !

Reviewed by
stacie s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrific. I will not be returning!
I stayed for 2 nights as I was attending a course. On arrival I was not permitted to view the room before asking for payment. I wasn't provided with much information about the hotel facilities only that breakfast was 8-930. The room was dated with no double glazing old cruddy carpet. Old bed without a mattress protector. There wasn't even a remote for the tv. To be honest I figured it was only 2 nights and I'm used to camping so I just got on with it. However I hardly slept due to the noise blasting from the function room on the first night until early hours. And on the second night there was someone shouting abuse and threats outside my room for over 2 hours and there was no night porter or security and no phone in my room to call reception. Though I was too frightened to call the police just in case he over heard me. When I tried to complain after 2 horrific nights.. I was made to feel blamed for not ringing them sooner,(no phone in room However I pointed out that I thought that it was their job to keep rooms up to standard and that I assumed that they would have a night porter to monitor the premises. I gave sent a complaint and have not been contacted. That's customer services!

Reviewed by
Laura B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next