No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Metro Inns Derby

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Macklin Street , Derby, DE1 1LF
Metro Inns Derby ideally located in Derby City Centre. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of comfort and service, with a friendly atmosphere. With 92 bedrooms, all with full ensuite facilities, hospitality tray and televison .
Complimentary Continental Breakfast is served from 6.00am-9.30am Monday to Friday and 8.00am-9.30am on Saturday and Sunday.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION - LIFTS ARE CURRENTLY OUT OF SERVICE**
Picture of Metro Inns Derby, Derby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 195 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 48% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

single bed room
Was good enough
Good for money

Reviewed by
Karolis Steponavicius

From Fermoy , Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just when you think u have seen it all.
This is what we booked ! Executive Double Room sleeps 2. Breakfast included. Non Smoking Requested, 2 Adults
Superior En-suite Double room, Newly Refurbished which can accommodate 1 - 2 Adults with the added feature of a 42" inch TV and a Mini fridge.
A Hospitality tray and fresh Continental breakfast is also included. It wasn't at all what we got. A dirty run down dump. We had to ask for pillows etc. The place was full of screaming drunks ! We had to leave at 12pm !

Reviewed by
stacie s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrific. I will not be returning!
I stayed for 2 nights as I was attending a course. On arrival I was not permitted to view the room before asking for payment. I wasn't provided with much information about the hotel facilities only that breakfast was 8-930. The room was dated with no double glazing old cruddy carpet. Old bed without a mattress protector. There wasn't even a remote for the tv. To be honest I figured it was only 2 nights and I'm used to camping so I just got on with it. However I hardly slept due to the noise blasting from the function room on the first night until early hours. And on the second night there was someone shouting abuse and threats outside my room for over 2 hours and there was no night porter or security and no phone in my room to call reception. Though I was too frightened to call the police just in case he over heard me. When I tried to complain after 2 horrific nights.. I was made to feel blamed for not ringing them sooner,(no phone in room However I pointed out that I thought that it was their job to keep rooms up to standard and that I assumed that they would have a night porter to monitor the premises. I gave sent a complaint and have not been contacted. That's customer services!

Reviewed by
Laura B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was not like the pics on the website! I got changed into 3 different rooms because windows were smashed and wouldn't shut properly! Flys in another room! Then got in a half decent room and was kept awake with music and police cars all night!

Reviewed by
w perry

From royton oldham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get an upgraded room!
This hotel was suitable for my needs - an overnight stay & convenient for the town centre but I would advise getting an upgraded room - my room was not. The shower cubicle was the smallest I've seen, I am by no means a large person, but could not shower satisfactorly. Although not an upgraded room, that is no excuse for a cracked mug for the use of tea & coffee, this should have been thrown out as you could tell it had been cracked for a while by the ingrained stain. TV remote did not work. Continental breakfast which was included was good value, so not all bad.

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Metro Inns Derby
Very spacious rooms and a wonderfull time :D

Reviewed by
G Jeffreys

From Wales
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Utter disgrace
Checked in, corridors stunk of smoke, obviously from people beimg allowed to in their rooms.
Went in room and it was filthy, food and other stuff in beds. Second room was the same so asked them to clean the room whilst we are but they couldn't find a cleaner, if they have them.
They changed us into a third room which looked like a bomb had gone off. At this point we went and got a full refund!

Reviewed by
Wayne P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but adequate
Stopped over to attend a gig in the city. Room was tired (torn wall paper / holes in wall from old TV mounting). bed linen was clean as was the bathroom. Overall okay - but I wouldn't stay again unless there was no option (on price).

Reviewed by
John S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grotty and smelling of cigarette smoke
I stayed here for work and despite the gleaming foyer was acutely aware that this is a hotel in need of complete uplift. The whole place is tired. It is clean enough but for me the worst thing was that the room stank of stale cigarette smoke and even after having the window wide open all night, I woke up with dry eyes and throat. Breakfast equally old judging by how stale my croissant was.

Reviewed by
R Wynn

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rubbish
We have stayed in a lot of different places all over the world ,but nothing as bad as the metro Inn Derby .We were in 3 rooms the first was filthy ,the second supposed to be an up grade was a little bit cleaner not a lot but the wall light when I went to adjust it fell off wall ,as it was only for one night we used the third one ,but if it had been for longer I would not have stayed . The beds didn't have mattress Protectors ,the skirting in the bathroom was dirty that is just some of the problems . I know the place is being refurbished but there is no excuse for dirty rooms

Reviewed by
WILLIAM BURNETT

From Edinburgh, Scotland
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next