You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Holiday Inn DARLINGTON - A1 SCOTCH CORNER

4

Scotch Corner,Near Darlington, Darlington, DL10 6NR

Price From 151.09 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David M

  • July 2016

Overnight stay

A quick overnight halt en route home - arrived late but welcomed in with a complimentary drink and snack whilst room was checked to be a twin.

Good value as just a little more than Travelodge across the road.

  • w coulthard

  • June 2016

Beautiful hotel

Was very surprised at how beautiful the hotel was for where it was just off a motorway.

Room was a good size and shape. We needed in the room earlier as we were at a wedding and nothing was a problem I also left my charger there and they are posting it out to me.

  • Pamela W

  • May 2016

"We aim to make your stay a 10/10 experience.." I didn't know whether to laugh or cry.

We had stayed here before a couple of years ago and so booked again as a stop-off on a similar itinerary.

The greeting at reception was one of the worst I had ever experienced. Three people were behind the desk so I approached one of them at random. She didn't even make eye contact as I gave my name and the three of them all seemed to be involved in an animated conversation about some mistake with another guest via a member of staff. The woman serving me did not seem to be directly involved in rectifying it but she felt it was more important to chip in with her halfpenny's worth rather than serve me. She printed off our bill paid in advance and shoved it at me talking to her colleagues as she did so. It must have been a full five minutes before our keys were produced while she gossiped away and I was on tenterhooks if they'd ever appear. I felt invisible. She then gave me half attention to ask if I wanted to validate my credit card. I then produced my Holiday Inn Gold Rewards card which still didn't draw any eye contact or make her pause for breath. Keys were then shoved at me with a vague hand pointing up the stairs to the direction of our room. No other information was given (time of breakfast etc.). The room was OK. No noise to speak of.

Next morning at breakfast the restaurant staff were friendly and attentive. There was food that 'purported' to be hot. It was stone cold on the hot plate. It was possible to lay one's hands flat on the serving dishes the food was in, the food was so cold and congealed. The plates were also stacked on a cold ceramic shelf.

There was a note in our room about Holiday Inns wanting to make everyone's stay a 10/10 experience. They would struggle to get out of minus figures to 0. Everything smacked of laziness, complacency, bad management and lack of training.

Response from hotel

Dear Pamela W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory level of service you received from our staff. We also regret the issues you had with the condition of the food at breakfast. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. In addition, your feedback has been forwarded to our management for evaluation and proper training.

We value you as our guest and hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a much better experience.

We would love to have you again and hopefully you'll see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Dianne L.

  • S Machell

  • May 2016

Quick Stop At Scotch Corner

Booked a Friday night here on a run up to Scotland, good friendly staff in a clean, hospitable hotel, made for a brilliant overnight stop on this run.

  • Julie C

  • May 2016

Excellent value for money

Would definitely stay here again when we are travelling up north.

Great value and lovely accommodation

  • Sue H

  • April 2016

Shame about the drain smell

Couldn't fault the staff.

I paid extra for an executive room but unfortunately it didn't meet our expectations because of the smell. It was worse when we returned to the room. I did mention it to the receptionist when checking out who made a note and offered an apology. For reference I was in room 112. We are hoping to return in November so hopefully we will have a better experience.

Response from hotel

Dear Sue H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with due to the unusual smell. While we understand that your stay could have been better, we appreciate that you have shared your thoughts with us. We are confident that our management will continue to do their best to maintain and improve our amenities and services to achieve complete guests satisfaction.

We do hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back and make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Faith R

Case Manager

  • D Knott

  • December 2015

CHRISTMAS EVE STAY

Everything we needed to make our Christmas stay great.

highly recommended.

  • Ken J

  • December 2015

Weekend stay

Have used this Hotel before.

Its ideal for us as we visit family @ Catterick. The hotel gives us a place to eat and also a casual bar to relax in. Even though there was an event being held we could not hear it in our room. Only downside is smokers (I'm not anti smoking) stand in the main entrance in full view of the reception desk and you have to walk through them. Would definitely use this hotel when looking for somewhere to stay in N.Yorks

  • C Davies

  • August 2015

All lovely relaxing night on our journey south to see family.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

A good breakfast and plenty to choose from.

  • N MacPherson

  • August 2015

Holiday Inn DARLINGTON - A1 SCOTCH CORNER

Disappointed that breakfast was not included in cost.