No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
JA1/A66 RICHMOND NEAR DARLINGTON, DARLINGTON, DL10 6NR
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym.

Picture of Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner, DARLINGTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stop in convenient location
Passing through and didn't arrive until late. Reception staff polite and helpful. Room spotless. Breakfast buffet style with plenty of choice. Checkouty seamless, good value when booked theough laterooms including breakfast.

Reviewed by
david w

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Swimming pool excellent, staff friendly And rooms modern and clean

Reviewed by
C Keeley

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We travelled down from Northeast Scotland, stopped here overnite and our stay was brilliant, hotel been totally refurbished since our last visit, and my it is wonderful, rooms spotless and fresh, nice bar, pleasant staff and breakfast was excellent, will be visiting next time we travelling down south.

Reviewed by
Brian Neish

From Aberlour, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend break away
we had a great weekend staying here, the first impressions were just great, the room was lovely, and the bar and restaurant were really comfortable, and the staff were all friendly.
we enjoyed the pool and gym, and our stay there was very enjoyable.
our only complaint was there was an Adele tribute act on, and we couldn't get to sleep until it finished after 1am.

Reviewed by
steve l

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very slow check out which is very irritating.Only 1 girl on desk at busy time and no evidence of management helping out!!

ManagementResponse

Dear Paul Gregg, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I apologize for the inconvenience the service you received from our reception staff may have caused you. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Paul Gregg

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

scotch corner weekend away
We really enjoyed our stay at the scotch corner hotel only a few mile from richmond. The rooms were modern with big tv's and new bathrooms. The hotel had a bar and Italian restaurant on site and we were able to use the full leisure club facilities which were in a seperate building. The hotel was in a good location and we were happy with our stay.

Reviewed by
D Brown

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfy hotel.
Room was very nice, clean, and had everything you need! Shower was a little drippy and the walls are a bit thin as you could hear people talking loudly in the corridors, but other than that it was a comfortable and pleasant room to stay in. Decent value for money.

Reviewed by
Oliver M

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed on this stay
We have often stayed at Scotch corner and have been pleased with the room. However, the breakfast is far too overpriced at £10.00 a head, and we had very noisy people in the next room to us, which kept us awake for most of the night. Usually a good place to stay for a couple of nights. May look for somewhere different next time.

ManagementResponse

Dear Janet Keegan, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you like your room and apologize for the inconvenience the breakfast and noise issue you have encountered may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Krysllin G. IHGCare

Reviewed by
Janet Keegan

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding
Drains were smelly but hopefully that is sorted...otherwise nice venue.

ManagementResponse

Dear R Bryson, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for the unusual smell of the drains. Rest assured, your comments have been documented and forwarded to the appropriate parties for review and to take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we all hope to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Anthony M IHGCare

Reviewed by
R Bryson

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A1 Holiday inn at Scotch corner
Quick and easy book in with more than 1 person on receiption which is unusual .
Ate my meals in the bar area which was very clean and the food was brought to me very quickly.
Food was very good and value for money. As for my room it was a wee bit smaller than the ones I've stayed in before at this hotel but very clean, quiet and the bed was very comfy.
The bathroom and shower were amazing after a day at work just what you need .

Reviewed by
M CAYZER

From , UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next