No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Raithwaite Estate

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The 80 acre Raithwaite Estate with its gorgeous landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, two restaurants and two bars.

Our 73 bedrooms come with luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and a shower, bath or both, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.

Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estates restaurants located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby’s famous fresh produce from both land and sea.

The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival

The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes’ drive away.

Important information Children are more than welcome to use the swimming pool between 10:00 and 12 noon and 16:00 to 18:00. Outside these hours it is restricted to adults only.

Standard Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Club Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Executive Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Executive Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Deluxe Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Deluxe Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.
Picture of The Raithwaite Estate, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were a amazing and thanks to Simon and Harry who may our stay very special with their excellent skills and quality of customer care. I think the design of the hotel could be improved and the bar area and adjoining room has something missing. The gardens are beautiful. Thank you

Reviewed by
S Pern

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect country retreat!!
The most luscious hotel and staff so professional and courteous that it made the most amazing get away for my partner and me. Highly recommended for anyone that wants a stay in whitby.

Reviewed by
Aaron Turner

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent choice for my wife's birthday
Friendly atmosphere throughout. I asked for a upgraded room and our bedroom,at the top end of the hotel had a wonderful view up the valley. The room provided everything we could ask for especially the large tinted flattering mirror on the main wall. The bathroom was good but I managed to soak the floor when using the shower because the shower screen was below the height of the shower.
The one nights stay couldn't be bettered.

Reviewed by
c jarvis

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"The Best Spa Break Ever"
The estate is in a fantastic location, the rooms, restaurant, food and leisure facilities are first class, but the main plus, was the friendliness, helpfulness and efficiency of the staff, they were a delight!! I would recommend and revisit without hesitation

Reviewed by
E Jennings

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short birthday stay
Having stayed here before decided this was the perfect place to take my wife for her birthday.
All the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Food in the restaurant is of the highest quality along with the service.

Reviewed by
Kenneth D

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
I've stayed at raithwaite many times now and stayed in a variety of rooms ranging from suites to club rooms, all of the rooms are fantastically clean and well kept, this place is very friendly with really polite staff that are well trained and super efficient, the spa is excellent if not a little small but it's never been too busy that I've not been able to relax and take in the atmosphere, it's great for children with lots of walks and animals to look at in a very peacefull setting. First class 5 star accommodation highly recommended by our family.

Reviewed by
L Wilks

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Treat
All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Nothing too much for them.
Snack purchased in bar not particularly good value for money.
Breakfast excellent.
Accommodation excellent.
Would have liked the Spa area and Jacuzzi to have been bigger.

Reviewed by
B Harland

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff 5 stars
The staff were absolutely brilliant, helpful, friendly and couldn't do more for us when we casually enquired about bringing our dogs, showing us all the on site facilities in person.
Lovely surroundings and grounds.
Room was lovely, pool etc was lovely, didn't try the spa as not enough time.
The bar was relaxed and priced as you would expect. The restaurant was a little disappointing, the food was nice but not outstanding which was expected due to the rest of the hotel being so nice. It was pleasant but the flavours combinations were somewhat tired, ill thought out and whilst I'm no masterchef, I've eaten in my fair share of restaurants charging less than this did with more balanced, better seasoned food. Try the Magpie in Whitby instead!
All that said it was a lovely hotel and breakfast in the conservatory on a sunny morning is a must!

Reviewed by
EMMA M

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely chill out time
Had lovely time, gorgeous place to chill out, was disappointed with the size of the room we booked an executive room, was very small, just seemed like a small double room!! I should of questioned the room! Other than the room every thing else was excellent, food amazing. Staff were simply the best ,

Reviewed by
T SMITH

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hotel with lovely surroundings.
The hotel and gardens were beautiful but the friendliness of every member of staff that we met was exceptional. They were genuinely kind, helpful people from the concierge to the gardeners. They were a credit to the North! The room was clean and very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Just wish it had been a bit warmer so that we could have enjoyed the view from our balcony.

Reviewed by
Amanda H

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next