Reviews - The Raithwaite Estate

4

Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Price From 265.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (59)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jem W

  • August 2015

Could be improved

Excellent room, but shame about the view.

Despite going UPstairs to get to our room, it felt to be subterranean. Hotel must be built into a hillside. We looked out on to a brick wall. Room very comfortable, but design of bathroom ill-thought out..........big mirror, but it was behind the loo and washbasin, so it was impossible to get close to the mirror. Made it very difficult getting contact lenses in. Make-up had to be applied using remote control. The food was generally ok, but not quite to the standard I was expecting. Nor did I feel it represented good value for money. Felt menu could have been more imaginative. Otherwise, we had a lovely stay. The staff were wonderful throughout. But I wouldn't stay here again.

  • S West

  • June 2015

Over rated and over priced

This was supposed to be a luxury 2 night stay in fabulous surroundings at this estate.

We stayed in Jefferson suite, room was very stuffy as no aircon, carpet required retentioning presenting a trip hazard, loose floor boards groaned out look on to nettles out side. Unable to see TV from chairs. Breakfast a fiasco 2 days running. Food dried out run out of bacon first morning and orange juice on both days and milk. If it wasn't for the spa facilities downstairs we would have checked out, after the first night. Not worth the asking price of £450.00 for the 2 night stay

  • alan p

  • April 2015

raithwaite estate

could not be faulted location rooms facilities and food all 1st class and the staff we meet were ALL helpful friendly and polite all in all a great break

  • paul wilkinson

  • March 2015

Awful

We stayed here on our wedding night and the following night - we had asked for a nice room - we were given a box which was located next to the hotels generators so sitting outside on the balcony ( the only nice thing about the hotel) wasn't a particularly pleasant experience.

My brother booked us in for afternoon tea as a wedding treat; after sitting for 40 minutes we complained - they brought us Luke warm pot of tea - a further half an hour went by so we made the decision to tell them we wouldn't be staying any longer. A young girl brought out a pathetic excuse of an afternoon tea - high lighting that it was complimentary - when we refused she appeared annoyed - as if we should be grateful for their offer !. We ate out and spent the remainder of our time in our box - oops sorry room

Disgraceful hotel with badly trained staff !!. We intend to make an official complaint !.

  • P Wright

  • March 2015

An excellent and relaxing stay

We stayed here a couple of years ago and it has lived up to our expectations, I would recommend the Raithwaite to anyone.

Old, young or fsmilies. Situated in a fabulous location, with a great history and the place is far and beyond the best hotel I've stayed at. Will definitely be coming back for another visit. Thanks for having us.

  • Julia S

  • March 2015

Fabulous

Everything about our stay was 1st class.

The Staff were very attentive and polite. Even the groundsmen offered to carry our luggage. The room was very comfortable and clean. We used the spa which again was excellent and very clean. The food also lived up to the hotels standard. We definitely would return.

  • S Jones

  • March 2015

was spoilt as soon as we arrived

the room was lovely the only down side we was on the 3rd floor and only had sky light windows it would of been lovely to look over the gardens

  • Mairead K

  • March 2015

Romantic getaway

Excellent from start to finish.

. Beautiful rooms& comfortable , gorgeous setting , gardens and surrounds, with very friendly helpful efficient staff. Very enjoyable bring ferried about in the hotel grounds in the Raithwaite BMW and Bentley to the hottub & spa and restaurant and back Only slight let down is unusual design of the dining "room" in The Keep, it serves as restaurant bar and lounge rolled into the entrance hall and reception and stairs to rooms all as one. It doesn't work at all and is not a relaxing or cosy atmosphere due to design

  • john watts

  • March 2015

Raithwaite Hall

Everything about the Raithwaite was excellent...only one fault....the room wasn't ready on time

  • Simon P

  • February 2015

Raithwaite, Whitby - Feb 15

Modern accommodation.

Very handy for Whitby and beaches to the north. Very well managed and exceptional staff.