No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Raithwaite Estate

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The 80 acre Raithwaite Estate with its gorgeous landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, two restaurants and two bars.

Our 73 bedrooms come with luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and a shower, bath or both, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.

Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estates restaurants located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby’s famous fresh produce from both land and sea.

The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival

The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes’ drive away.

Important information Children are more than welcome to use the swimming pool between 10:00 and 12 noon and 16:00 to 18:00. Outside these hours it is restricted to adults only.

Standard Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Club Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Executive Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Executive Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Deluxe Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Deluxe Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.
Picture of The Raithwaite Estate, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lush
The hotel was first class. It was very welcoming and relaxing.

Reviewed by
j goodwin

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Raithwaite Estate
Excellent hotel only problem was bad tv reception. Hotel staff welcoming and efficient.

Reviewed by
janice t

From batley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff very nice hotel
really nice stay, staff couldnt do enough for us. really nice location and a lot of extra touches. Spa really nice, food in bar and breakfast really nice. Have reckomeneded to friends

Reviewed by
C Janes-Hurst

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Everything about the hotel was excellent .The suite we had in the Keep was the best room we have ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
geoffrey farley

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
great short break been four times now would stay again

Reviewed by
k jackson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First weekend away post children!
What a fantastic hotel....we were so looked after from the moment we arrived at the hotel until the morning we left. The service was outstanding all the staff were so attentive and helpful.
We spent two nights in the Hall and really loved our room, it was beutiful and the bathroom was huge!!
Really looking forward to returning to the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Price

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced, Overrated, Under equipped!
The standards at this hotel are not high enough to warrant the price. At £179 a night without breakfast we found the hotel over priced and under equipped. The room was fine but for the price we expected something more luxurious, there was no mini bar, the bathroom products were minimal and had a medicinal odour, the internet access / coverage was appalling and the final insult was being woken at 6:30am by an alarm that had been set on the phone by the previous occupant which we could not switch off so we had to disconnect the phone. Very disappointing and certainly not good value for money. On a more positive note, the staff were very pleasant.

Reviewed by
J Turner

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Sandsend Whitby
We had a great few days in Sandsend lovely place, the Raithwaite Hotel is a good place to stay the setting is in a wooded valley just of the sea, the welcome and service is second to none, our room was stylish and had a veranda over looking the woodland. The breakfast was excellent and the menu offered a different choice each day which was a nice touch. We would recommend this hotel and Sandsend for a relaxing break.

Reviewed by
Graham S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a treat - a perfect end to our touring week.
The stay was a treat for my husbands birthday. Booked from what we saw on the website my only concern was the hotel being busy with weddings at this time of year. It was but not intrusively at all. We stayed in the Keep which was friendly, relaxed, very efficient with a super restaurant right outside our room! The pianist/s were excellent and a lovely touch in very luxurious surroundings. We loved it and are intrigued to know what will be added to the estate next. The staff were all absolutely charming.

Reviewed by
Angela Breckenridge

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place, fantastic staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
G Monaghan

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next