No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Raithwaite Estate

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The 80 acre Raithwaite Estate with its gorgeous landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, two restaurants and two bars.

Our 73 bedrooms come with luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and a shower, bath or both, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.

Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estates restaurants located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby’s famous fresh produce from both land and sea.

The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival

The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes’ drive away.

Important information Children are more than welcome to use the swimming pool between 10:00 and 12 noon and 16:00 to 18:00. Outside these hours it is restricted to adults only.

Standard Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Club Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Executive Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Executive Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Deluxe Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Deluxe Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.
Picture of The Raithwaite Estate, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First weekend away post children!
What a fantastic hotel....we were so looked after from the moment we arrived at the hotel until the morning we left. The service was outstanding all the staff were so attentive and helpful.
We spent two nights in the Hall and really loved our room, it was beutiful and the bathroom was huge!!
Really looking forward to returning to the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Price

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Sandsend Whitby
We had a great few days in Sandsend lovely place, the Raithwaite Hotel is a good place to stay the setting is in a wooded valley just of the sea, the welcome and service is second to none, our room was stylish and had a veranda over looking the woodland. The breakfast was excellent and the menu offered a different choice each day which was a nice touch. We would recommend this hotel and Sandsend for a relaxing break.

Reviewed by
Graham S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a treat - a perfect end to our touring week.
The stay was a treat for my husbands birthday. Booked from what we saw on the website my only concern was the hotel being busy with weddings at this time of year. It was but not intrusively at all. We stayed in the Keep which was friendly, relaxed, very efficient with a super restaurant right outside our room! The pianist/s were excellent and a lovely touch in very luxurious surroundings. We loved it and are intrigued to know what will be added to the estate next. The staff were all absolutely charming.

Reviewed by
Angela Breckenridge

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place, fantastic staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
G Monaghan

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff impeccable manners and professionalism
we were very impressed with the friendly arrival from the staff. Upon being shown to our room we explained that we had requested a twin room. This was swiftly dealt with, and a complementary wine was provided to compensate for their error. The breakfast was outstanding, especially the eggs benedict and the setting was beautiful. Great location to enjoy the Yorkshire coast.

Reviewed by
R Storey

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel. Great location and excellent service

Reviewed by
joanne m

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Even though I've drove past this hotel numerous times I never thought about booking a stay here on such a special occasion as my 15th wedding anniversary and I'm glad I did. The hotel is excellent, the staff very friendly and can't do enough for you, the room was amazing and the food equally as good. Although is was slightly pricey I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone and will be a returning guest.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of room
Considering the price of the room (£175), it was smaller than expected. It did not include breakfast. If we wanted breakfast it would've been an extra £11 each - so that's £22 on top of the room rate. The room had a spider by the wardrobe which shows that the housekeeping staff ignore that side of the room - lack of room inspection. Either someone came into the room at night time to set the lighting and put jazz music on, or it was set automatically? It would have been nice to have been informed about this though as we then panicked about someone coming into the room without us knowing.
Everything else was fine - poachers bar food was fantastic!

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mini-break at The Raithwaite Estate in June 2014
From the moment of my arrival until the time I left four days later everyone made me feel a welcome guest., customer service was the best I have ever experienced either in the UK or overseas. It was marvellous to hear the employes' pride in the facilities and the gardens (the latter should not be missed). Food in the restaurants was not only beautifully cooked and presented but locally sourced where possible. This hotel has spoiled me for staying anywhere else.

Reviewed by
Cynthia Musgrave

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

raithwaite hall hotel
Excellent

Reviewed by
David Stone

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next