No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Raithwaite Estate

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The 80 acre Raithwaite Estate with its gorgeous landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, two restaurants and two bars.

Our 73 bedrooms come with luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and a shower, bath or both, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.

Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estates restaurants located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby’s famous fresh produce from both land and sea.

The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival

The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes’ drive away.

Important information Children are more than welcome to use the swimming pool between 10:00 and 12 noon and 16:00 to 18:00. Outside these hours it is restricted to adults only.

Standard Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Club Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Executive Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Executive Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Deluxe Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Deluxe Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.
Picture of The Raithwaite Estate, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Raithwaite Hall Feedback
All staff very friendly and extremely helpful.
Room was clean and well equipped with great shower room.
Excellent breakfast. Other food a bit expensive.
Staff happy to bring jug of milk when requested.
I stayed somewhere similar before where individual pints of milk and ice were supplied from a fridge on the landing which could be a good idea for future development.

Reviewed by
Felicity Killeen

From Goole, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location near Whjtby. Attentive service and great buffet breakfast

Reviewed by
Richard Murphy

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay.
We stayed in two standard rooms. One for myself and my husband and one for our granddaughter. Both rooms were lovely with all necessary amenities such as tea and coffee, hairdryer, safe and flat screen tv. The beds were very comfortable. The larger of the two rooms had a walk in shower in the bathroom and both bathrooms had good toiletries. Both rooms had skylights instead of windows with a view and this was a little disappointing.
The food in the dining room was very well presented with attention to detail and this was the same in the Poacher's Bar.

Reviewed by
E Lewis

From Oldham, USA
Who stayed in November 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location. Fantastic Break.
The staff are very welcoming, helpful, polite, friendly and courteous. They go out of their way to make you welcome and feel at ease. The rooms are imaculate. With excelent attention to detail. We were extremely well looked after.

Reviewed by
Alan L

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The hotel itself was nice and staff generally very helpful and friendly. However the whole experience was not what I would expect for £239 room only. The room was reasonable but nothing special for that price and there were 4 spiders on a web which had been missed with cleaning. You are not allowed to use the pool/spa after checkout which I found very unusual for a hotel of this supposed standard - this meant we didn't get chance to use it at all on our visit. Breakfast was cold as my poached eggs were brought and then I had to wait 10 minutes for the hot buffet breakfast to be replenished. Cold eggs yum

Reviewed by
Julie G

From Halifax, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lay up dinner
Lovely hotel, excellent staff, beautiful room.

Reviewed by
J Greaves

From York, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tranquil haven of peace if you wanted it with so much to offer.
A tastefully designed hotel in beautiful surroundings,having a very definate international feel to it. The staff were warm and oh so charming all of the time it was such a refreshing experience, nothing was to much trouble. The bed we slept in was the most comfortable bed in the world and that's comparing it to a seven star hotel in Dubia!!!just unbelievable. We were advised the breakfast was amazing and we were't disappointed they had thought of everything,it was nice to eat whilst music played one of the few times we've felt relaxed whilst eating among strangers, the spar was in such a tranquil setting you couldn't fail but to feel relaxed and the view outside from that area was fantastic. All in all we can't wait until we return again and all on the north yorkshire coast line.

Reviewed by
g marron

From Middlesbrough, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely but expensive
Raithwaite Hall is extremely well run. The staff are trained to a very high standard and you are made to feel welcome wherever you go. It is spotlessly clean and great attention has been given to every detail. However it is somewhat overpriced. The rooms are quite small and the bed, although obviously of good quality, was too hard.
I would thoroughly recommend Raithwaite Hall if you have deep pockets...or are looking for a place to celebrate a special occasion.

Reviewed by
Christal Prigg

From Morecambe, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seaside break
Raithwaite Hall is a lovely hotel just a few moments from a sandy beach and the old town of Whitby. It has a beautiful setting and a very relaxing atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Susanne J

From Malton, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole very enjoyable stay. Welcome staff were very keen to help and help settle us in. Rooms and facilities were very good and the food was in the circumstances (wedding) well prepared and served.

Reviewed by
Linda L

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next