No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Raithwaite Estate

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The 80 acre Raithwaite Estate with its gorgeous landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, two restaurants and two bars.

Our 73 bedrooms come with luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and a shower, bath or both, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.

Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estates restaurants located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby’s famous fresh produce from both land and sea.

The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival

The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes’ drive away.

Important information Children are more than welcome to use the swimming pool between 10:00 and 12 noon and 16:00 to 18:00. Outside these hours it is restricted to adults only.

Standard Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Club Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Executive Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Executive Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Deluxe Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Deluxe Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.
Picture of The Raithwaite Estate, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean, fresh and comfortable
We needed to stay in Whitby to visit a sick relative. The comfortable and relaxed atmosphere was wonderful after a stressful day and long drive. The relaxing, quiet spa was the icing on the cake! Breakfast offered all you would expect and good service.

Reviewed by
Fiona F

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winter break
We have been coming to Whitby for over 30 years and Raithwaite is the best place we have stayed.
After viewing it online it exceeded our expectations. The location of the hotel was excellent. The staff were very attentive helpful and friendly. We ate in the Poachers bar each evening and the menu was excellent and good value. We have already been recommending the hotel to our family and friends. We are planning our next break in the summer so as we can appreciate the beautiful grounds.

Reviewed by
jill towndrow

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Raithwaite is perfect. They really make you feel like a guest not a number. Each member of staff does that bit extra to make you feel special. The food is stunning quality - local & fresh. We had the first rhubarb of the season at breakfast. The spa rooms & treatments were lovely. I've stayed here twice & can't wait to come back. Location is great too

Reviewed by
J Moorhouse

From Henley in Arden, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel, staff very professional
Room a bit small, but well furnished and very clean, some nice touches were in the room upon arrival.
Room right next to lift door, but the lift was so silent it did not resent a problem at all, unlike my experience in other hotels.
Will certainly go back, without question.

Reviewed by
David Irving

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Escape from the stress
This has to be one of the best places I have ever stayed in peaceful, relaxing , comfortable and lovely staff who just couldn't do enough for you!!!

Reviewed by
j Walton

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel in a woodland setting
will be back again to this 1st class hotel

Reviewed by
CHRIS WOODWARD

From Bradford, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas break
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Raithwaite Hall as a one night break between Xmas and New Year. The spa facilities are excellent along with the friendliness of staff and size of bedroom. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep. The breakfast was superb and very well set out with appealing little jars of yogurts and preserves.
The evening meal in the restaurant was slightly disappointing. There was nothing actually wrong about it and therefore nothing to complain about at the time just a couple of things which detracted from an excellent dining experience. The meal was quite ordinary and my frites were missing from my meal. We did ask for them and received a small basket of thin french fries which were not as the menu. Our coffee arrived before our dessert and although not significant in itself just added to the overall experience. We have been to other hotels of a similar quality and this one beats them all with regard to the spa and overall experience but the dining experience does not measure up to the others.

Reviewed by
Marian Hart

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a really good hotel and the service was excellent and the stafff very friemdly and helpful.
My wife used the spa and pool and found it exceptionally clean.
Our only criticism is that at very busy times. mostly at breakfast, the dining room is too small, which means that people have to wait in the longe for tables to come free.

Reviewed by
Ian R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent yet again from all at Raithewaite
As usual from the moment you pass through the gates and up the drive it is just PERFECT. If you want to get away from everything and relax then come here. Special mention to the porter. Breakfast is amazing and bar is so special and relaxing. Well done again and thank you

Reviewed by
D Jarvis

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8