No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Raithwaite Estate

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The 80 acre Raithwaite Estate with its gorgeous landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, two restaurants and two bars.

Our 73 bedrooms come with luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and a shower, bath or both, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.

Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estates restaurants located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby’s famous fresh produce from both land and sea.

The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival

The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes’ drive away.

Important information Children are more than welcome to use the swimming pool between 10:00 and 12 noon and 16:00 to 18:00. Outside these hours it is restricted to adults only.

Standard Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Club Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Executive Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Executive Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Deluxe Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Deluxe Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.
Picture of The Raithwaite Estate, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

regular visitor now as so pleased with each stay. Staff second to none.

Reviewed by
Alison D

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Lovely hotel. Clean, spacious and friendly and attentive staff.
Excellent swimming pool and spa area.

Reviewed by
D Duffill

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Touch of luxury in Whitby
We stayed just 1 night ,used the Spa ,explored the grounds, Also we had a 3 course meal and breakfast the following morning. We can highly recommend the hotel, its staff and the facilities. Will be looking on LateRooms for a good deal when the weather is warmer .

Reviewed by
DAVID M

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a beautiful hotel, lovely surroundings, gorgeous accommodation and wonderful staff
This hotel hidden within beautiful grounds was smart, stylish, warm and friendly. The towels were crisp and white, underfloor heating to the bathroom with top quality Molton Brown complimentary products, white bath robe and slippers all fresh and new. What a Gem! The breakfast was perfect, vast choice, wonderfully cooked, very different local produce from cheeses to mini glass potted yogurts to breads. The pool was immaculate and if we'd had the time we would have tried the spa. Looking forward to our next trip to Raithwaite Hall sooner rather than later. Wonderful !!!!

Reviewed by
S Taylor

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous!
My husband and I stayed 2 nights to celebrate a 'big' birthday, and can hardly fault Raithwaite Hall! The hotel was secluded and impressive without feeling uncomfortably prim & proper. Without exception every member of staff exceeded our expectations of customer service, I hope management have a good staff retention strategy as they really have a team to be proud of. The pool/hot tub/sauna/steam room facilities were spotless and well laid out & equipped. The breakfast was possibly the best I've had, and not just in a hotel! The gardens will be outstanding when they've matured, and I would imagine there are some spectacular walks to be had when the weather's a little more clement (well done to the receptionist who gave us several scenic options when asked for a walking route into Whitby instead of asking us if we'd like our heads examined going out on foot into a blizzard!).
The only things I can identify as needing improvement (and I do feel very picky even mentioning them!) - it would've been nice for the hotel to acknowledge the 'big' birthday we were celebrating, as staff knew about it. No biggy though! The ladies' toilet in reception has a hole in the sink where the tap's been changed for one of a different size and it was obvious the Molton Brown handwashing and lotion had been refilled as both bottles claimed to contain hand lotion, although one was clearly handwash. Told you it was picky stuff!
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed Raithwaite Hall and we'll definitely be back, hopefully not in the midst of a blizzard next time!

Reviewed by
Marie S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Raithwaite Hall March 2013
My wife and I stayed in a courtyard room with upstairs bedroom and downstairs lounge and bathroom. The rooms were immaculate and furnished to a high standard. Food [breakfast] was very good with a wide choice; standard of the food was excellent. Staff were helpful and friendly but not overfriendly/familiar - just right. The pool area including sauna and steam room was spotless and tastefully decorated. Overall a most enjoyable stay on a very interesting coastline

Reviewed by
Howard Evans

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean, fresh and comfortable
We needed to stay in Whitby to visit a sick relative. The comfortable and relaxed atmosphere was wonderful after a stressful day and long drive. The relaxing, quiet spa was the icing on the cake! Breakfast offered all you would expect and good service.

Reviewed by
Fiona F

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winter break
We have been coming to Whitby for over 30 years and Raithwaite is the best place we have stayed.
After viewing it online it exceeded our expectations. The location of the hotel was excellent. The staff were very attentive helpful and friendly. We ate in the Poachers bar each evening and the menu was excellent and good value. We have already been recommending the hotel to our family and friends. We are planning our next break in the summer so as we can appreciate the beautiful grounds.

Reviewed by
jill towndrow

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Raithwaite is perfect. They really make you feel like a guest not a number. Each member of staff does that bit extra to make you feel special. The food is stunning quality - local & fresh. We had the first rhubarb of the season at breakfast. The spa rooms & treatments were lovely. I've stayed here twice & can't wait to come back. Location is great too

Reviewed by
J Moorhouse

From Henley in Arden, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel, staff very professional
Room a bit small, but well furnished and very clean, some nice touches were in the room upon arrival.
Room right next to lift door, but the lift was so silent it did not resent a problem at all, unlike my experience in other hotels.
Will certainly go back, without question.

Reviewed by
David Irving

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next