The Raithwaite Estate

4

Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Price From 432.73 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (75)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • j pow

  • August 2013

Fantastic Stay in a Beautiful Environment

The room was superb as were the facilities, the staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, I will definitely be coming back and would recommend it highly.

  • Adrian W

  • August 2013

Outstanding

This hotel is outstanding, one of the best we have stayed in.

The staff are extremely well trained and attentive. Every detail has obviously been thought about. The food is top quality and presented to a high standard. The spa area is relaxing and beautifully looked after. All in all, a top notch hotel. I wish we could move it with us wherever we travel!

  • Neil M

  • August 2013

August 2013

An enjoyable stay.

Some work is still being carried out around the site which is a slight distraction, service in the Poachers bar was a little hit and miss but generally very enjoyable.

  • Ryan B

  • August 2013

Relaxing stay

I haven't really got anything negative to say about the Raithwaite Estate.

It's in a beautiful setting. The staff are attentive and efficient. The rooms are excellent and very clean and the food was very good. The only negative would be that food and drink is quite expensive.

  • G Deakin

  • August 2013

Enjoyable relaxing stay at Raithwaite

We stayed in the Keep which is only a few weeks old.

We'd only just got married a few days before so a little break with our dog before going on a honeymoon. The hotel organised a bottle of Prosecco in our room which was lovely. Good facilities for dogs. The bar area is nice and the breakfast is beautiful and all local produce. It's a good 40 mins into Whitby which is a nice walk on the coast if you wish. This complex is very much in the process of being extended everywhere. Definitely going places and I think it'll be one of the best places in the north in 12 months.

  • Peter M

  • July 2013

Top Quality

This hotel was at the very top of its peer group for its facilities, levels of service, its gardens and its food.

Impossible to find fault.

  • Sam L

  • July 2013

My Wife's Birthday Treat

Please bare with me and read all my comments to get the full picture.

For my wife's birthday I wanted to treat her to something really special so eventually found the Raithwaite and thought it looked perfect. I checked prices on the internet v's the hotel direct as i'm not loaded and wanted the best deal like we all do. I emailed the hotel direct regards booking first of all and as I got no response in a day or so I booked the room on Laterooms as rooms were in short supply. I then emailed direct to book a table for dinner and asked other than the spa was their anything they could do or to reccomend anything extra that would make the stay more special for my wife, again I got no response?. I then had to go away for a few days and meanwhile reccommended that my sister in law's book the spa treatments as presents for my wife to which they thought was perfect as a present. They rang the hotel and there was a little confusion to start with that they couldnt find me booked into the hotel but eventually managed to sort this and find the booking. My sister in law got in touch to say all sorted and I was booked in for dinner which although i was good to hear it should have been confirmed with myself. When I got back from my trip i had to email the hotel to change the time for dinner as the spa treatments finished just an hour before dinner(no way my wife can get ready in that time) I was a little surprised as they did contact me and advise a later time that I was more than happy with, perfect. When we arrived we were greeted politely at the main hotel, we were then told we were booked into the keep(a separate building) to which I was a little annoyed at at first as we were eating and booked into the spa which is located in the main hotel. We loaded our bags back in the car and made a very short drive back down the road to the keep. We were then welcomed by a very polite happy receptionist who advised our room wasnt quite ready (2.30pm i think) but asked us to take a seat as it wouldnt be long. We decided to have a quick drink while waiting again another lovely waitress(asian girl) came over and sorted drinks. The room was ready very quickly after this and was lovely, virtually brand new and had a small balcony that just needed seats (maybe they have not been delivered yet). Very comfy bed, great bathroom and everything we needed, including a hairdyer as my wife forgot hers. Anyway a quick change and down to the spa where it goes a little wrong I'm afraid, first we were greeted by a young blonde girl who was little abrupt and not very polite. I explained that my wife was booked in for spa treatments and I was hoping to use the pool etc while i wait. She said "Sign the book" and took my wife off with the pen I was supposed to sign in with. A little taken aback I said "please can i borrow your pen to sign in" she came back presented me with the pen to sign and told me to go through the door for the pool. I get people can have bad days, i do but i work in sales so have to switch it on when needed. Anyway i went to the pool and its great, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi all spot on. My wife comes back to join me after a facial to chill out for an hour before her massage. I asked her how she got on and she said the girl who did her facial, again very young but was very pleasent and a vast improvement from the girl on reception. Again my wife went off for her all over body massage and told me later that when she went back to reception their were a few staff gathered(including grumpy reception girl) and looked her up and down a little funny and my wife had to explain that she had a massage booked to which they looked at her with surprise (as though she had no right to it), another customer who was waiting even looked shocked and shook her head to my wife as she couldnt quite believe the attitude either. Now my wife is asian and I hope in this day and age it wasnt anything to do with that as its what my wife thought but I convinced her it won't be a race thing due to the staff they keep. My wife also said although another lovely girl did the full all over body massage they didnt touch her stomach, hands or feet which she thought was strange, again I told her that some spa's may do different things but she felt relaxed and that was my aim. We went back to the keep,changed for dinner, came back to the main hotel for a drink before dinner. We spoke to the waitress to say we were having a drink in the bar and please give us a shout when the table is ready. The barman was great and the waitress who then gave us the menu's to look at. We were then advised our table was ready and went through and sat down. We then got a waiter called Sabe, i think, who I have to say is probably the best waiter I have ever come accross, he was very attentive without over doing it, extremely polite and even wished my wife a Happy Birthday (not sure how he found out but he did) he even after I chose my wine asked me what I thought of it and asked me to compare it to another he preferred as it was an ongoing discussion with his Manager. I tried it and we had a little banter as I preferred the one I chose and he left us to it, what a great little touch and i'm sure it was off the cuff, Brilliant guy and a credit to the hotel. The food was superb and I asked the waitress to let the chef know and then we spoke to the restaurant manager who kindly showed us how to get to the gardens as we fancied a quick walk plus the photos i had seen on the website it looked great and was. Again he was very polite and helpful and we had a lovely romantic walk around the gardens before heading back to the bar for a quick coffee and then back to the keep to our room.

Overall great, we loved it and my wife said it was the best birthday she had ever had, although if it wasnt for some of your great staff this would have been a very dissapointed customer and review for you( I did spend over £500 in total for my one nights stay with spa treatments and dinner/drinks). A smile and manners cost nothing and I think a few of your staff could benefit from a day with Sabe(sorry if spelling is incorrect), he was again superb and sorry to score overall servise a 4 out of 6 but due to some poor staff it has to be. So yes I would reccommend this hotel although a little pricey and a few staff need direction, we ended up having a good stay and may visit again. Thank you.

  • D Brown

  • July 2013

No air conditioning

We had a fabulous stay, with lovely room and balcony.

However, as the weather was so hot, we were extremely sorry to find no air conditioning in our room. For the price of the accommodation and the setting, it should be something all guests have in their rooms. This I feel ought to be addressed by the owners for future guests comfort. We found great difficulty in sleeping. The rest of our stay was perfect, excellent food, good service and nice surroundings.

  • S Grant

  • July 2013

The room had no air conditioning, it was a hot day therefore the room felt stifling.

We were given a fan and a jug of iced water. The hotel staff were going to pass our comments on to management.

  • Rosemary G

  • July 2013

Excellent customer service maintained

Great hotel in lovely grounds, with good pool.

Stayed last year and returned as we were so impressed. Had a great room last year, so wasn't as pleased with the room this time. Upgraded because we wanted a bath, rather than a shower. It's worth ringing the hotel if you have a preference as facilities do differ. Would not stay in room 117 again as it had a noisy extractor outside the room. Pity, as the bathroom was huge and luxurious. The staff are really courteous, but wonder about the management chain. Is there anyone to refer up to in case of problems. Will return, but will speak to reception beforehand. Might try the Keep, as it looks very good.