No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Raithwaite Estate

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The 80 acre Raithwaite Estate with its gorgeous landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, two restaurants and two bars.

Our 73 bedrooms come with luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and a shower, bath or both, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.

Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estates restaurants located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby’s famous fresh produce from both land and sea.

The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival

The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes’ drive away.

Important information Children are more than welcome to use the swimming pool between 10:00 and 12 noon and 16:00 to 18:00. Outside these hours it is restricted to adults only.

Standard Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Club Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Executive Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Executive Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Deluxe Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Deluxe Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.
Picture of The Raithwaite Estate, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No air conditioning
We had a fabulous stay, with lovely room and balcony. However, as the weather was so hot, we were extremely sorry to find no air conditioning in our room. For the price of the accommodation and the setting, it should be something all guests have in their rooms. This I feel ought to be addressed by the owners for future guests comfort. We found great difficulty in sleeping. The rest of our stay was perfect, excellent food, good service and nice surroundings.

Reviewed by
D Brown

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
We have stayed here several times and the experience has always been great. The food is excellent and the staff are always friendly & attentive.

Reviewed by
Deborah d

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service maintained
Great hotel in lovely grounds, with good pool. Stayed last year and returned as we were so impressed. Had a great room last year, so wasn't as pleased with the room this time. Upgraded because we wanted a bath, rather than a shower. It's worth ringing the hotel if you have a preference as facilities do differ. Would not stay in room 117 again as it had a noisy extractor outside the room. Pity, as the bathroom was huge and luxurious. The staff are really courteous, but wonder about the management chain. Is there anyone to refer up to in case of problems?
Will return, but will speak to reception beforehand. Might try the Keep, as it looks very good.

Reviewed by
Rosemary G

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hideaway on your doorstep
What can I say about this beautiful new build with outstanding gardens and breath taking scenery.
There's a great friendly atmosphere about the place were the staff bend over backwards to meet your needs and ensure you have a wonderful time. The decor and furnishings are something else and add to the very modern restaraunt and bar areas, the room we had even had our own shared balcony.
We enjoyed the spa and indulged into massage and facials on offer. Both myself and my wife have already booked to go back end of August for two nights, we are really fussy on we're we stay, but believe me you have nothing to worry about with this marvellous hotel and spa.

Reviewed by
Anthony Mcdougall

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room had no air conditioning, it was a hot day therefore the room felt stifling. We were given a fan and a jug of iced water. The hotel staff were going to pass our comments on to management.

Reviewed by
S Grant

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gold star quality retreat
This hotel is a must if you are in the Whitby area, we were treated like royalty by the staff, even the contractors building on site took the time to greet us. The accommodation was top class, the food was superb.
The fresh modern spa facilities on site made for a relaxing stay.
We are planning our next visit already.

Reviewed by
Derek W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idyllic retreat
we booked Raithwaite Hall on the day we arrived for a couple of days relaxation after our wedding. It didn't disappoint, beautiful grounds, comfortable, spacious, excellent food and enjoyable pool/steam/sauna facilities.
Whilst no trace of the hotel's history remains so it may appear a little generic, it's of a really high quality, the staff are lovely and very professional and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
p barrett

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We came to this hotel as my husband was celebrating his birthday. We had a brilliant time. We could fault nothing. We would definitely visit again .

Reviewed by
Gillian S

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Love this hotel, I stay at many, many hotels through my work, but I always look forward to staying here. Def recommend.

Reviewed by
andrew dickson

From Largs, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic!
What an enjoyable experience. Staff really helpful and pleasant and the food and accommodation were superb. Booked again already for October and invited another couple too.

Reviewed by
lisa tynan

From Sowerby Bridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next