The Raithwaite Estate

4

Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Price From 432.73 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (75)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • andrew dickson

  • October 2013

Excellent

Love this hotel, I stay at many, many hotels through my work, but I always look forward to staying here.

Def recommend.

  • J Bakes

  • October 2013

Superb

Very good experiance

  • david Irving

  • September 2013

Raithwaite scores again

  • D MARTIN

  • September 2013

A quality hotel in all aspects

The hotel is situated on a large estate just off the beach at Sandsend.

There are extensive woodland areas and gardens which gives the hotel a calm and peaceful setting. It is not cheap but you will not be disappointed with the quality of the rooms, the staff's helpfulness, the spa facilities or the restaurant food..We were up-graded to a suite because the Keep was needed for a private function and this was a very pleasant surprise. This is the second time we have stayed here and will be keeping a close eye on Laterooms for any special deals.

  • Gillian S

  • September 2013

Excellent stay

We came to this hotel as my husband was celebrating his birthday.

We had a brilliant time. We could fault nothing. We would definitely visit again .

  • David R

  • September 2013

Still one of the best hotels l've stayed in however, l've noticed the odd cost cutting practice now that they are firmly established in the market.Still this doesn't detract from the overall experience and is always my favorite place to stay.

  • S Wilson

  • September 2013

A Hidden Gem

Stayed in the Keep and was impressed by the light airy feel to it all.

Fantastic room, ample breakfast and friendly staff. If you want to visit the spa at the main hotel then there is a buggy service to transport you or a short walk. Will definately be back.

  • Derek A

  • August 2013

Wonderful base to explore Whitby and North Yorkshire coastal and moorland area

The hotel is situated in woodland 3 miles from Whitby and 1 mile from Saltsend.

The grounds and beautiful gardens were a joy. It is possible to do a 1 hour walk along the beach to Whitby at low tide ( and then return by the number 5 bus later on as it stops right outside the hotel. - catch from the bus station near the station). We had a very pleasant 5 night stay in the Keep at the end of August. The building has only been open for a month so there are a couple of issues still to be resolved but our stay there was very comfortable and enjoyable. We used the hotel as a base to explore the Whitby area. Staff were very helpful as we were planning our days out and as part of our North Yorkshire Moors excursion suggested we take in the really interesting Egton Show which was great. I would suggest though that more literature and advice about the area is prepared and put on display with plans of the town to help future guests plan their trips out. Our room was large and comfortable with a fabulous spacious well lit bathroom which had both a bath and a shower. All the features were there like tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary bottled water, ironing board, well positioned magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Above all we really appreciated the free and highly efficient WiFi in our room which greatly facilitated our research on places to visit in the area. The room was very warm but we were able to open the windows wide at night as our room was very private and quiet and had a small balcony which added to the general feeling of spaciousness. I gather that air conditioning will soon be a feature as will proper full wardrobe facilities for hanging clothes.

The pool was very pleasant and of a reasonable size with good shower and changing facilities. My husband liked the gym too. Breakfast was nicely presented,with a delicious range of individually cooked items. I was disappointed with the lack of croissants which nearly always ran out by the time we arrived and with the tea which was never very hot. We thought the hotel restaurant was very expensive so decided to eat in town every evening and were very satisfied with our meals in Greens, the Magpie Café, Kam Thai and Cosa Nostra. The Coffee Shop in Grape Street opposite the Captain Cook Museum was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Margaret H

  • August 2013

Room very hot no air con etc,no wardrobe for clothes,no welcome booklet etc.poor customer service,unfriendly staff.would not recommend.

  • S Walker

  • August 2013

We stayed in the keep which is a separate building about 200 yards from the main hotel.

It has its own bar but they don't serve food there so it tends to be very quiet . You can go to the main hotel bar but it gets very busy so not always a good idea . We went into Whitby in the evening to a local bistro and had lovely meal of their local lobster. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a quiet break.