No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Raithwaite Estate

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The 80 acre Raithwaite Estate with its gorgeous landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, two restaurants and two bars.

Our 73 bedrooms come with luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and a shower, bath or both, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.

Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estates restaurants located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby’s famous fresh produce from both land and sea.

The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival

The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes’ drive away.

Important information Children are more than welcome to use the swimming pool between 10:00 and 12 noon and 16:00 to 18:00. Outside these hours it is restricted to adults only.

Standard Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Club Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Executive Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Executive Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.

Deluxe Rooms
Located within both the Hall and The Keep our Deluxe Rooms are modern in style and feature either a walk in shower or bath with shower over. Some rooms also offer a balcony or terrace. All rooms are bright and offer views of the Estate. Whether in the Hall or Keep you receive access to the Spa within your room rate.
Picture of The Raithwaite Estate, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A piece of heaven in Whitby
I cannot fault any aspect of the service and facilities. The staff were extremely helpful, even providing some wellies for our walk on the estate.

Reviewed by
Varaidzo M

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite finished!
We stayed in The Keep, on a room only basis - comfy bed, lovely bathroom with large shower and bath. Excellent welcome from porter and very friendly staff - super spa area and lovely gardens. But eh room was very hot - luckily, able to open window to balcony area. But, given the overall standard, surprised by lack of hanging space in the wardrobe, no rubbish bin in the room (just a tiny one in bathroom) limited freeview channels on TV, lacklustre booklet about the estate in room (no map of grounds). In fact, if we weren't from Yorkshire, would have found lack of information about local attractions irritating. Also no obvious dinner menu on display, and as breakfast was £19 per head, we went into Whitby instead. But a fantastic location and would definitely
stay again with a Late rooms deal.

Reviewed by
Gill M

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
Very good experiance

Reviewed by
J Bakes

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Raithwaite scores again

Reviewed by
david Irving

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quality hotel in all aspects
The hotel is situated on a large estate just off the beach at Sandsend. There are extensive woodland areas and gardens which gives the hotel a calm and peaceful setting. It is not cheap but you will not be disappointed with the quality of the rooms, the staff's helpfulness, the spa facilities or the restaurant food..We were up-graded to a suite because the Keep was needed for a private function and this was a very pleasant surprise. This is the second time we have stayed here and will be keeping a close eye on Laterooms for any special deals.

Reviewed by
D MARTIN

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Still one of the best hotels l've stayed in however, l've noticed the odd cost cutting practice now that they are firmly established in the market.Still this doesn't detract from the overall experience and is always my favorite place to stay.

Reviewed by
David R

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hidden Gem
Stayed in the Keep and was impressed by the light airy feel to it all. Fantastic room, ample breakfast and friendly staff. If you want to visit the spa at the main hotel then there is a buggy service to transport you or a short walk. Will definately be back.

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very hot no air con etc,no wardrobe for clothes,no welcome booklet etc.poor customer service,unfriendly staff.would not recommend.

Reviewed by
Margaret H

From KIDDERMINSTER, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful base to explore Whitby and North Yorkshire coastal and moorland area
The hotel is situated in woodland 3 miles from Whitby and 1 mile from Saltsend. The grounds and beautiful gardens were a joy. It is possible to do a 1 hour walk along the beach to Whitby at low tide ( and then return by the number 5 bus later on as it stops right outside the hotel! - catch from the bus station near the station).
We had a very pleasant 5 night stay in the Keep at the end of August. The building has only been open for a month so there are a couple of issues still to be resolved but our stay there was very comfortable and enjoyable.
We used the hotel as a base to explore the Whitby area. Staff were very helpful as we were planning our days out and as part of our North Yorkshire Moors excursion suggested we take in the really interesting Egton Show which was great. I would suggest though that more literature and advice about the area is prepared and put on display with plans of the town to help future guests plan their trips out.
Our room was large and comfortable with a fabulous spacious well lit bathroom which had both a bath and a shower. All the features were there like tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary bottled water, ironing board, well positioned magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Above all we really appreciated the free and highly efficient WiFi in our room which greatly facilitated our research on places to visit in the area. The room was very warm but we were able to open the windows wide at night as our room was very private and quiet and had a small balcony which added to the general feeling of spaciousness. I gather that air conditioning will soon be a feature as will proper full wardrobe facilities for hanging clothes.
The pool was very pleasant and of a reasonable size with good shower and changing facilities. My husband liked the gym too.
Breakfast was nicely presented,with a delicious range of individually cooked items. I was disappointed with the lack of croissants which nearly always ran out by the time we arrived and with the tea which was never very hot. We thought the hotel restaurant was very expensive so decided to eat in town every evening and were very satisfied with our meals in Greens, the Magpie Café, Kam Thai and Cosa Nostra. The Coffee Shop in Grape Street opposite the Captain Cook Museum was very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Derek A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay in a Beautiful Environment
The room was superb as were the facilities, the staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, I will definitely be coming back and would recommend it highly.

Reviewed by
j pow

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next