Reviews - The Raithwaite Estate


Raithwaite Hall Sandsend Road, Whitby, YO21 3ST

Price From 516.63 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (56)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Andrew C

  • June 2014

Quality of room

Considering the price of the room (£175), it was smaller than expected.

It did not include breakfast. If we wanted breakfast it would've been an extra £11 each - so that's £22 on top of the room rate. The room had a spider by the wardrobe which shows that the housekeeping staff ignore that side of the room - lack of room inspection. Either someone came into the room at night time to set the lighting and put jazz music on, or it was set automatically. It would have been nice to have been informed about this though as we then panicked about someone coming into the room without us knowing. Everything else was fine - poachers bar food was fantastic!

  • David Stone

  • June 2014

raithwaite hall hotel


  • Danny Bingham

  • May 2014

Highly recommend

Great hotel will go back

  • C Dingle

  • April 2014

Enjoyable stay

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Spa and facilities fantastic. Lovely relaxing atmosphere and close to whitby

  • Steven F

  • April 2014

Excellent service and friendly staff

Perfect hotel and location for a short break; excellent friendly service, fantastic breakfasts and good clean spa.

  • D Evans Doig

  • April 2014

Mixed feelings

Front of house staff were lovely.

The big disappointment was the service in the restaurant. Table booked for 8.15pm, it was 9.45pm before we got our main course!. The quality was also disappointing. We were told it was because the kitchen was "very busy", not a very valid excuse as they know how many diners they are catering for. We were not offered anything in the way of compensation ( one would at least expect a free drink or money off the bill). The same thing happened 2 nights later in the bar . Would have to think hard about returning as the stay was not cheap.

  • david r

  • April 2014

Over priced but nice

Very nice hotel with good but not great facilities.

The Gym is very small, 2 treadmills, 2 bikes. The pool was nice but dodge the kids time if you want to swim. Room and batchroom very nice. The hotel is very very expensive, I would say double what it should be, for 1 night I could literally have gone to spain for a weeks holiday. Finally, the staff were lovely and couldnt do enough for you.

  • Sandra S

  • April 2014

Excellent accommodation, lovely setting.

  • Kelly King

  • April 2014

Thought £243 was pricey.

  • Helen G

  • April 2014

Outstanding local staff, locally sourced food, and wonderful hospitality.

This is our second visit at Raithwaite Hall.

We were so impressed with our first visit that we took our Canadian friends who were here on holiday on this second trip. It all lived up to our expectations. The weather was so good we had the opportunity to explore locally - this venue ticks every box!