Reviews - Eden Arms Hotel


Bay Eden Arms Hotel Ferryhill, County Durham, DL17 0LL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • A Wilkinson

  • March 2015

one night stay

Me and partner used to stay here quite regularly when we 1st got together, was disappointed when we 1st entered our room as when we stayed previous times we stayed in four poster room and bridal suite, but we made do with what we had and it was a nice stay even though it was just classic double, next time we go we will stay in four poster or bridal.

For our eveing meal we went out to eat as the restaurant has changed, it used to be a Italian restaurant but now I think it's just run by the hotel as there is not much choice.

  • P Cunningham

  • February 2015

Room was nice and warm, breakfast poor

Staff need to smile at breakfast time.

  • Peter C

  • February 2015

Eden Arms Stay

After staying a week ago, the breakfast was small, the hotel was nice and warm through out the hotel.

Breakfast team need to smile.

  • G Moon

  • February 2015

Excellent for the money, breakfast good but small portions, No tea /coffee in rooms.

Carlsberg well over priced at £3.70p compared to around £2.00 in West Midlands

Above where minor irritations as generally everything was good

  • Dorothy F

  • February 2015

Good quality affordable accommodation

Good place to stay overnight.

Visiting a friend nearby so didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel. The staff are welcoming and friendly. Room very clean and had everything we needed. Lots of character and very spacious. Service at breakfast was excellent. Plenty to eat, good choice for the cooked breakfast and extra toast and coffee too. Didn't take advantage of the swimming pool but it looked lovely and inviting. Would definitely stay again. Good value for money.

  • Andrew Longstaff

  • January 2015

Awful Experience

When I arrived at the Eden Arms they had no record of my booking.

the spa area was very dirty and unhygienic. the steam room seemed to be powered by a boiling kettle. the stairs that ran over the pool were rusty, a lot of which had found itself in the pool. I did not see one staff member smile and the changing rooms resembled those of a Sunday league football team!

  • Stephen T

  • December 2014

Eden Arms Hotel

Required an overnight stay close to the site I was working at.

First class all the way. Would recommended this hotel.

  • j glover

  • October 2014

Lovely place

A relaxing hotel,quite old fashioned (which I like).Rooms are very large & the staff are lovely.They couldn't do enough for you at reception My only downside would be the small breakfasts & limited choice of an evening.If you came down to dinner halfway through the allocated 1 hour slot!half of the options were not available.

  • Jeff H

  • September 2014

Needs mode updating

Lovely helpful friendly staff work here but the hotel needs updating,great pool,sauna but steam room out of action with no sign to say why the shower on the way out of the sauna didn't work fully.

once we made our way up to our room we found it very old fashioned eg the old fashioned tv which buzzed more than a busy beehive. the decor was outdated. the shower head was broken but on the plus side the room was clean and the bed comfy. just watch for the squeaky floor boards if you're having a naughty weekend away wink wink ha.

  • Mr P

  • August 2014

A Dank Place

From the outside, the hotel looks promising enough.

Quite a bit of available parking within the ground of the hotel is a positive. The service at the front desk was good enough. The person issuing the room key and stay details was pleasant and knowledgeable about the facilities. I had booked for three nights at the Eden Hotel. However the biggest let downs were:

1) The room. A tiny, dank, hole of a room. Creaking floorboards, damp in the corner, and a one inch gap below the door, made for an uncomfortable nights stay. It was clean enough, but the room (and hotel) had a very tired and shabby feeling to it. 2) The food. I had an evening meal in the 'restaurant' downstairs. This was the most uninspiring trial of food I have ever eaten. Due to it being late on the first night I had to stay the first night. I slept on what can best be described as a hardened fish finger of a bed. I promptly attended the front desk and cancelled my last two nights staying there.