Reviews - The Farndon Arms


The Farndon Arms, High Street High Street, Chester, CH36PU

Price From 139.05 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • S Blackburn

  • April 2015

Excellent little find

Really enjoyed our 3 night break at The Farndon.

Food was faultless. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and served with a smile. The room was very comfortable and even though on the main village road was very quiet. The only let down for us was the housekeeping, the first day the bed wasn't made and hospitality tray not replenished. The second morning the bin was left overflowing.

This wouldn't deter us from staying again.

  • Jean W

  • April 2015

Excellent location, service could be better

We had a lovely week at the Farndon.

It's in the perfect location, very convenient for Chester, North Wales and the Marches, lots to do and see in the area, and Farndon and Holt are beautiful villages on the Dee. Our room was pleasant and comfortable, the owners were very friendly. We only ate in one night, but the food was excellent, and breakfast was good too

BUT - housekeeping was erratic. Some days the room was made up immaculately, some days the bed wasn't even made. The breakfast buffet wasn't replenished or tidied all week, so people who arrived at the weekend had to make do with the boring cereal and marmalade we hadn't used. Overall I'd say it was a nice B&B, but not good enough for hotel prices.

  • Susan G

  • December 2014

Friendly and comfortable stay at the Fardon Arms

Last minute booking for work as no City hotels available - Pleasantly surprised on arrival at the standard of accommodation for a village pub.

Friendly, relaxed atmosphere, great food and felt comfortable as a female traveling on my own to eat in the restaurant. Very comfortable bed, lovely decor and quiet room. This is an old building so be prepared for narrow/steep staircases and rooms are on 2nd floor - not suitable for people with mobility issues. Also if you are an early bird breakfast isn't served till 8.30am on weekends. However the owners kindly leave out cereal/milk/OJ so you can get something to eat before you go. Very enjoyable stay and preferred it to large chain hotels. I will definitely stay again when working in the area.

  • P Finnerty

  • October 2014

it is a shame the hotel needs a lot of money spending on it, the food was very good, but we were disappointed with the standard of the room certainly not executive standard, more a travel lodge the tv reception was very poor .

it was all a little cramped because there was to much in the room

  • Andrew H

  • July 2014

Quiet, cosy hotel and pub

  • k foster

  • June 2014

A beautiful village and an excellent welcome

Once inside a warm welcome was given.

The room was a good size with all we needed for our time there.

The restaurant was amazing. The food was delightful!.

My only reservation was the stairs. Access for less able residents

could be a problem. But overall I highly recommend the Farndon.

  • john d

  • May 2014


excellent stop over nice village good food would stay again

  • j cope

  • April 2014

friendly farndon

thankyou for a very enjoyable stay,comfortable room, friendly staff excellent food ,what more can you ask.

  • Ian P

  • April 2014

Very Good

  • P Arrell

  • February 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly staff.