Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > The Peak District > Derbyshire > Castleton Hotels > Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Castle Vintage Inn, Castle Street, Castleton, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, S33 8WG
If you’re looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper’s Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.

Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it’s clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.

A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don’t come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.

The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There’s plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country’s best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park.
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing stay
food good service good bedroom and shower good room could have been cleaner

Reviewed by
Tom W

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Excellent bathroom facilities but the bedroom could do with a makeover to brighten the decor.

Reviewed by
R GUEST

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

castleton
very enjoyable stay made very pleasant by the staff , parking at a premium but that was no problem continental breakfast was okay but a full english would be better included as an option not as an extra will use again

Reviewed by
george b

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel. Frendly staff and good quatity rooms. Would highly recommend. Also good value for money.

Reviewed by
R Young

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Short Break
An excellent short break location, good food, relaxing and clean room with helpful staff

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute decision to stay over after walking in the Peaks. Room was in the main hotel and was very clean and comfortable. Would have liked a hair dryer or a phone so I could phone reception and ask to borrow one. Staff were very pleasant but service was very slow in the restaurant. Breakfast was a bit bland, sausages were not very appealing as they were not browned and didn't taste of much. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Alison M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, quality accommodation

Reviewed by
B Clark

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cobweb city
A very friendly welcome from the female member of staff on reception unfortunately the same couldn't be said for the young man serving out evening meal . The serve was terrible . Our room was comfortable but the ceiling was covered in dust filled cobwebs . Breakfast was of a very low standard

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three criticisms
1. When we arrived we had to wait about 10 or 15 minutes before we managed to register at the reception desk - and that was only after we searched for the person concerned.
2. There was no telephone in the room. This would not usually be a problem, but we were not able to receive any mobile phone signal (Vodafone).
3. Breakfast! I'm not sure where to start! I opted for the "Continental" Breakfast. It certainly wasn't like any "continental" breakfast I'd had before. To me a continental breakfast is a selection of rolls, bread, pastries, cheese slices, cold meats and pates, along with jams and other sweet things. It is generally accompanied by tea or coffee, and a choice of fruit juices and water.
Each item I ate was individually wrapped in plastic (cheese) or placed in miniature tubs (jams and marmalade) At least the butter was not individually wrapped, however it was so hard that it was unspreadable as it basically "destroyed the bread ( I chose not to have toast!)
When we had finished the breakfast both of our plates were full of pieces of plastic wrapping, plastic jam tubs, plastic margarine tubs, plastic marmite tubs etc. and in my case breadcrumbs!

Reviewed by
David P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute and last time!!
We booked our room a week before we were attending to attend a wedding reception nearby. The room was gloomy but clean.. The bathroom is ready for a refurb with a flaky sealing and dirty grout.the worst thing of all was the noise from the room above. All we could hear we're the creaky floorboards as people walked around above us from 5am onwards. We left feeling extremely tired!! We upgraded breakfast from continental to full English. However, we struggled to place an order with anyone and when we managed to find a waitress she was very abrupt as though we were a nuisance!!there wasn't a choice of breakfast.. You got what you were given.. No choice of white or brown toast or how you would like your eggs.. Etc!! Not a great stay over to say the least.

Reviewed by
sadie wild

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next