You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Bridge Hotel

3

39-40 NORTH ROAD, DURHAM, DH1 4SE

Price From 121.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (50)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Papaioannou

  • July 2016

Clean and friendly

The staff were very polite and helpful.

Rooms big and clean. Bed very comfortable. Even though it's above the pub, it's very quiet. Breakfast very good. But you definitely should try their food. It's delicious, congratulations to the chef. Definitely i will go back!!!

  • S willis

  • June 2016

Shower holder

Everything was fantastic and definitely stay again.

Only point is shower head holder broken a little hard to wash without it but staff ace and friendly and food great. Pub nice in right place near everything lived our stay and was surprised that got new towels everyday.

  • P T

  • June 2016

Convenient location

Great place to stay.

Being above the pub was not a problem!!

  • J D

  • June 2016

A lovely freindly place

A good place to stay that is a very easy walk to the Cathedral and Castle.

Friendly, homey atmosphere. The food is good and imaginative and the staff helpful. Why would you want to stay in a big expensive American chain when you could stay here for less than half the price?

  • Stepanka V

  • March 2016

The Bridge Hotel

I have been interrupted by a loud music since I came there till 9:30 PM.

Please take on account that people want to rest or have a good night sleep.

  • Deborah F

  • March 2016

Good Value

The female staff that greeted us were very welcoming and helpful.

The room was comfortable and clean. The only problem was we were in a bedroom over the kitchen and the staff had their music/ radio on very loudly we could hear every word and the music was vibrating through the walls. I went down and asked for it to be turned down the waitress said she knew who it was and she would get it turned down. After an hour it was still going so I went down again and was left for awhile standing in the bar for it to be sorted out. The waitress as with all the female staff were very helpful but the male chef was quite abrupt when he came back from the kitchen and said it was dealt with the music was off. There was no apology I felt like he thought I was being a nuisance. The breakfast was very good the only downside there was only full fat milk. Overall though a good value base for exploring Durham.

  • Conchita L

  • March 2016

Excellent location for train station. Basic bedrooms over the pub with white clean sheets & towels.

It suited our stay for two nights to visit the university, as it was near the station (we travelled by train) and we only needed to sleep there.

Our room was noisy during the day because of the roads and the pub. Quiet at night. The breakfast was of basic quality. Could be improved.

People friendly.

It was the only place left for a reasonable price when we booked price was the best in Durham for that open university day time. Having said that we were okay there this time and the sheets were clean which is essential and the people were very pleasant and the rooms clean. So if necessary we would stay there again.

Ah I forgot to say that we had to pay on arrival. Very strange.

  • C Lamb

  • March 2016

Disappointed

I itched all night and had to change beds.

I asked to speak to the manager in the morning but was told there was no manager, no assistant manager nor anyone I could complain to. I left my name and phone number but there has been no response to my complaint.

  • D Kennedy

  • February 2016

never again!

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 1 night which was a relief because I definitely couldn't stay there extra night.

The standard rate for our room (double) was £70 which I think was far too expensive for the quality of the room. The windows were covered in mould, the carpets needed cleaning, there was very cheap packets of bathroom Smellies which was not enough for both of us. The rooms were above the pub so after 11 we had to use the fire exit door to get back in, you need a torch as the back end of the pub is very very dark. When I booked this room I was promised a double room and when we arrived this was not ready so we had to wait until the room was made up. Never stay here again.

  • robert p

  • February 2016

A proper pub with proper grub

The Bridge is only a few minutes' walk from the station - which Is why we chose it in the first place rather than face the ups and downs of Durham with suitcases - and also close enough to walk into the city.

It's almost underneath a wonderful high-arched railway bridge so you do hear trains but not loudly.

What you see is what you get at the Bridge. A welcoming pub with great food and decent beer. Rooms are comfortable enough for a pub. Shame we weren't there for their quiz nights with £1 entry and including food. Will plan better next time.