No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bridge Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
39-40 NORTH ROAD , DURHAM, DH1 4SE
The Bridge Hotel sits in the heart of Durham City where for over a decade it has offered a wide range of beers, wine, spirits and delicious home cooked food. Situated less than five minutes from both the train and bus stations, the Bridge is ideally located to offer great value accommodation (and our famous home cooked breakfast).

On this site you can find about all the Bridge has to offer, from our food menus to details of the hotel rooms and all the latest news and offers from the pub. You can also contact us directly from the site regarding hotel or table bookings and any other queries you might have. You can keep up with all the latest happenings right here on the site, or by following us on Twitter or Facebook.

We hope to see you soon
Picture of The Bridge Hotel, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff friendly; evening food well cooked and large portions. Windows in room painted shut (except one for which we had to find something to prop open). One of party unwell for one day and the staff left him alone to recover.

Reviewed by
M McLean

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good pub with rooms
The Bridge 'hotel' is really a lively pub with rooms - there was a quiz in full swing in the bar when I arrived. But the place was quiet after 11.30 and my sleep was not disturbed. The continental breakfast was fine, indeed the coffee was excellent. The only snag was the lack of nearby parking as there is no car park.

Reviewed by
W Speck

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked on the day of our arrival and arrived late evening (before the pub shut). They were unaware of our arrival but the girl was very friendly and did sort out rooms for us very quickly and these were ready for occupation.
The stairs to the rooms are narrow and moderately steep and it would help others to know this.
as stated on the website though not on Laterooms the second room was for single occupancy and attracted a lower rate.
The breakfast was simple; no hot food (other than toast) available, but cereal, fruit, pastries and fruit juice plus tea or coffee. Staff again very friendly.

Reviewed by
M McLean

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful friendly staff , room was clean and a fair size . Breakfast was a cold buffet style , would have like a hot breakfast .

Reviewed by
Martyn C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for a quick one night stop over.
Ok for a stop over, and certainly value for money, although the room was a bit grubby/shabby, and situated above a noisy pub.

Reviewed by
A Fletcher

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value but disappointing breakfast
We booked this hotel as it was close to the city centre and looked good value for money. On arrival, they didn't have any record of our booking (blamed on change of management), but they managed to find us a room, and the staff were all very friendly. The room itself was fine, though there was some noise from the trains going by. The breakfast was very disappointing, no cooked breakfast on offer, just a few packets of cereal, stale looking pastries and toast, with a limited range of jams.

Reviewed by
Sara N

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bridge hotel
Very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Allen

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and convenient
We stayed as we were visiting the university and the staff couldn't have been nicer. It is conveniently located for the station and for exploring Durham. If we were to go back to Durham I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Helen C

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel
very good clean accommodation

Reviewed by
paul horton

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed for 3 days. I thought the accommodation and meals served in an eating area away from the bar offered excellent value for money. The Bridge is located within easy walking distance of both the station and city centre.

Reviewed by
David Fowler

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next