Reviews - The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel


Market Place East, Ripon, HG4 1BP

Price From 141.16 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (306)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G Hunter

  • September 2015

Great stay

Second time stayed here,cannot fault it,clean rooms,good manager and staff,will be stopping again,10/10.

  • gordon stewart

  • September 2015

Good accommodation, budget price

Very good, bedroom and bathroom were excellent, very good value.

  • Michael H

  • September 2015

Good value pub accomodation

Room was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Food was exactly as you would expect from a Weatherspoons. Noise throughout the night from the continual banging of a swing door as people went to the loo was the most annoying aspect. Car parking was extremely limited and had to use the nearby Sainsbury's car park - only £2.50 per night.

  • B Renn

  • September 2015

One night at the Unicorn, Ripon

Good position on Town Square.

We booked 9 months in advance, but were taken up a steep, narrow stair, to the 3rd Floor. The climb with my 13kg cabin bag, nearly "killed" me. The room was small, and when I asked if they start their bookings from the top, and work down, I was told, "yes, to get you away from the downstairs noise. I complained and, luckily they had one spare room on the 1st floor, which was twice the size and better furnished. From a fire safety point of view, the place is a fire trap, and I would have felt particularly unsafe if I had been on the 3rd floor. The Wetherspoon chain of hotels does not seem to provide toiletries or tissues. The breakfast food was reasonable, and although very inexpensive, is not included in the tariff. They had no breakfast menus available, apart from a "Bar" menu with about four mains on it. It was only when you asked if they had juices, fruit, cereal, porridge toast and spreads, that they said, "yes, we have. Also, unless you tell them to bring the food in a logical sequence, the whole lot arrives on your table at once. Would I stay at a Wetherspoon hotel again . - If it was The Angel, in Whitby, YES - it w as excellent,

but the Unicorn in Ripon lets the chain down, in more ways th an one.....

  • Charles C

  • September 2015

A very nice Hotel in a very nice city with tradition.

A place with character and charm with comfy rooms and excellent staff.

Meals are ridiculously cheap and value for money.

  • Ann Dixon

  • September 2015


We stayed on a Sunday for £39, amazing value for money.

Our room was fine albeit it up umpteen flights of stairs, floor 3. No lift. Bathroom spotless and everything modern and up to date. Very pleased

  • L Mann

  • September 2015

Good clean hotel

Close to light water valley a reasonably priced stay with friendly staff and a central location.

I would stay here again. It was mid week so can't comment on noise at weekends. Car parking in cathedral car park only £2.50 for 24hrs well worth it in my opinion.

  • r dodds

  • September 2015

Ripon races treat weekend

first time stayed at the unicorn but will not be the last, we had no reason to complain room was very pleasant and facilities did not disappoint, hope to return soon.

  • Penelope White

  • August 2015

Fine for two nights as we were late to book due to attending a funeral.

We did not realise at 83 and 74 we would have so many stairs to climb as our room was on the 3rd floor.Our room faced the square as was above the entrance.

I was kept awake by the noise of young customers outside shouting from 11-30pm until 1-30am before a long 200 mile drive that day.

  • Paul G

  • August 2015

Stayed with our two daughters 5 years old and 9 months old for two nights

Great family stay with 2 young children.

Room was very clean and decor was to a high standard. We heard no noise from the pub downstairs in our room. Travel cot was provided upon request. No lifts in the building so we had to leave babies pushchair in the car, but this was not a problem. We will definitely be trying another wetherspoons hotel as we were pleasantly suprised by the standards.