Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > North Yorkshire > Ripon Hotels > The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place East , Ripon, HG4 1BP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Unicorn is one of Ripons oldest and most historic inns.The hotel reopened in April 2011, following a £2.1million refurbishment and is part of the JD Wetherspoon hotel group.
It is the largest building on the market place and has featured in the many aspects of Ripon's history since the 17th century. The inn retains much of its historic splendor, while providing modern-day comfort. All of the hotels 32 bedrooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. We have 13 twin rooms, 16 double rooms and 3 Family rooms. Free Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. The hotel is a stones throw away from the local attractions and is ideally situated around the corner from the Cathedral.
Picture of The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 379 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Super value hotel, usual Wetherspoons attention to detail at an unbeatable price. Reception staff were particularly helpful.

Reviewed by
D Regan

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convivial and cosy
Fried breakfast a bit tired at 11 o'clock, My wife really enjoyed the poached eggs and smoked salmon on bagel, I should have chosen that too, it looked good. I loved it staying open for a drink till late.

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday night stay
We stayed at the unicorn early November on a Sunday evening, we found the staff very friendly and informative
The room are high quality and we were lucky to have one on the second floor away from the pub below which was still quite active and loud even on a Sunday night.
There is a car park at tele back where you can prepay the night before so we could enjoy a much needed lie in...
The only comment would be the noise on the corridor it felt as if left the door open when neighbouring rooms where being accessed by their occupants, you couldn't not hear voices, door hinges and knocks but thankfully there wasn't too many neighbouring rooms.

Reviewed by
Xavier b

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Still good
Still a good stay, though a set of drawers in the room would help, only gripe is the key card system, every time we returned to the room it failed to work, we would need to tramp all the way back to reception to get it recoded...

Reviewed by
A Foster

From Ballymena, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classic Coaching Inn
Well done Weatherspoons. This is only the second time I have stayed at one of their hotels and on this occassion it was much the same as before. A former coaching inn in a market town where Weatherspoons had started running the pub and had reopened the hotel part of the operation.
An immaculately clean comfortable room in the middle of town for £48.00 what can be better

Reviewed by
Simon B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable bed. Slightly stained carpet, otherwise clean. Just a bit loud in the evening but that's to be expected on a Friday night. Good customer service.

Reviewed by
S Vermaak

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room with a view!!!
Really good base for exploring yorkshire only qualm was the view from the room overlooked all the vents and pipes for the kitchen if revisiting we would ask for a room with an outlook!!! Staff said rooms on the front were sometimes noisy but maybe more preferable

Reviewed by
michael s

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super room
lovely, well decorated room. Good facilities and very helpful staff.
Only problem was the noise early hours of the morning outside the hotel from people a little drunk. Wetherspoons would do well to put internal double glazing this would solve the only negitive of this break.

Reviewed by
j wOOD

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real good value for money, modern room and great food cheap drinks available all day. What more can you want! Brilliant stay and will be back agaim

Reviewed by
T Hodgson

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Really enjoyed it, nice place very close to everything in Ripon. Nice hotel room, clean and tidy and food was as good Wetherspoon quality is usually

Reviewed by
Elliott M

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next