Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > North Yorkshire > Ripon Hotels > The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place East , Ripon, HG4 1BP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Unicorn is one of Ripons oldest and most historic inns.The hotel reopened in April 2011, following a £2.1million refurbishment and is part of the JD Wetherspoon hotel group.
It is the largest building on the market place and has featured in the many aspects of Ripon's history since the 17th century. The inn retains much of its historic splendor, while providing modern-day comfort. All of the hotels 32 bedrooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. We have 13 twin rooms, 16 double rooms and 3 Family rooms. Free Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. The hotel is a stones throw away from the local attractions and is ideally situated around the corner from the Cathedral.
Picture of The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 381 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Unicorn is a prime location for Harrogate Knaresborough The Dales,etc.
I was very impressed with the accommodation and the receptionist in particular. She was very
helpful and made us feel very comfortable. I am a keen Wetherspoons fan as I find them very
good value for money. You can get anything any time of the day quickly and efficiently. I
enjoyed Ripon itself especially the Hornblower who was charming.

Reviewed by
Lesley Smith

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location
The Unicorn is located by the Market Square and is in easy walking distance of the local museums and cathedral. The pub itself is very busy but service was good at all times and very good value .

Reviewed by
Jennifer M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for Money
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable room, recently decorated.

Reviewed by
David L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the worst sunday dinner i have ever had
Tough beef, tasteless vedge.

Reviewed by
j hare

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

simply tops
great service will be back

Reviewed by
brian d

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ripon rooms
Had a lovely room 206 .. Nice view .. Big room .. Was spot on !!! ,, stayed at the hotel before .. Some rooms don't have the same feel and are at the back by air com units !! Feel they sould be Priced Different !!!! Like all Hotels there are Good rooms and iffy rooms due to location ,, feel the prices should alter .. Just a Point ,,, cheers David

Reviewed by
David Bickerdyke

From Wirral , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a good experience. bedroom was quite dark and even with the lights on it was not easy to read.Bathroom was of a high standard and everything was clean and as advertised.
Breakfast was satisfactory and good value fro money. Did not dine there in the evening as the bar area was full of noisy Saturday night 'revellers'. Very little car park space bu overnight parking for £2.50 close by.

Reviewed by
David A

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Stay
Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Would highly recommend this hotel to any one.

Reviewed by
G Dalgliesh

From Shotts, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed our stay, we would definantly stay again. The accommodation was one of the best
Great accommodation, fantastic staff, food brilliant, and the guy on reception I think it said manager on his badge was really pleasant and polite. Fantastic map lol. We will definantly be stopping again in the future.

Reviewed by
Lynda Richards

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Place To Stay
A really nice, clean, friendly place to stay. Would stay there again. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
R Hotson

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next