Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > North Yorkshire > Ripon Hotels > The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place East , Ripon, HG4 1BP
FREE WI-FI
The Unicorn is one of Ripons oldest and most historic inns.The hotel reopened in April 2011, following a £2.1million refurbishment and is part of the JD Wetherspoon hotel group.
It is the largest building on the market place and has featured in the many aspects of Ripon's history since the 17th century.
The inn retains much of its historic splendor, while providing modern-day comfort.
All of the hotels 32 bedrooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV.
We have 13 twin rooms, 16 double rooms and 3 Family rooms.
Free Wi-Fi is available in the bar area.
The hotel is a stones throw away from the local attractions and is ideally situated around the corner from the Cathedral.
Breakfast 7am-12 Noon daily and the full food menu is served until 11pm.
Room service. We do offer a limited room service.
Picture of The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 373 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
great hotel. parking a nightmare. two disabled spots, none disabled in both - no blue badge on screen.

Reviewed by
martin w

From Hessle, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Chris D

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Unicorn Hotel, RIPON
Could not find any instructions in the bedroom for using the controls on the wall mounted heater.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel
Pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
B Joseph

From Stanford le Hope, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Enjoyed the stay, room was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Neil F

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb value hotel
Reception v helpful - nothing too much trouble. Room recently refurbished. Clean room and bathroom. Comfy bed. Bathroom a bit small and lacking in shelves, and only had a shower (though it said shower and bath on the booking reference). Food excellent value (2 evening meals for under £7 and breakfast from as little as £2 each) and very prompt service - serve from 7am up to 11pm. Pub was very busy and noisy, but none of the noise could be heard in the bedroom. Quite steep stairs and no lift so not suitable for anyone infirm. Hotel recently refurbished but retains character. Excellent value. Very highly recommended - would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Sally B

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value For Money
Our room at The Unicorn was spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and, for once, there were enough pillows. The bathroom was, perhaps, just a little chilly but it was exceptionally cold weather during our stay. The heating in the bedroom worked very well and we were generally very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food is what you'd expect from a Wetherspoon's - pub food but good value.

Reviewed by
S Crooks

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money
The hotel is very handy to everything in Ripon. The spacious room was clean, quiet and with tea/coffee/biscuits provided. The bathroom was modern, looked almost new.
My only suggestion would be to put a security light in the parking area. If was very dark at night and with no lighting it was difficult to see to put the key in the lock. For a woman on her own, I didn't personally feel safe and with no lighting the CCTV cameras can't be much use for security of vehicles either.

Reviewed by
Liz P

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Location
We've stayed at the Unicorn a couple of times in the past but, not since it changed to a wetherspoons and hats off to them. The pub/hotel has retained lots of original features and upgrades sympathetic to the age of building. Definitely recommend this hotel, it is centrally located and there are lots of places to eat & drink. Hotel was clean, comfy and nicely refurbished. The room a little cold until we figured the heater which quickly warmed things up.

Reviewed by
A Clark

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Comfy Bed!
The location of this hotel is perfect, facing the town square. Whilst I imagine disabled visitors would struggle to stay at the hotel, as I didn't notice any lift, and the stairs were steep. That though is my only criticism. The rooms were spacious, clean, recently refurbished to a good level. The bed was extremely comfortable. Would I stay there again? Without a doubt!

Reviewed by
N Wood

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next