Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > North Yorkshire > Ripon Hotels > The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place East , Ripon, HG4 1BP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Unicorn is one of Ripons oldest and most historic inns.The hotel reopened in April 2011, following a £2.1million refurbishment and is part of the JD Wetherspoon hotel group.
It is the largest building on the market place and has featured in the many aspects of Ripon's history since the 17th century. The inn retains much of its historic splendor, while providing modern-day comfort. All of the hotels 32 bedrooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. We have 13 twin rooms, 16 double rooms and 3 Family rooms. Free Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. The hotel is a stones throw away from the local attractions and is ideally situated around the corner from the Cathedral.
Picture of The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 374 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Primarily its a pub with accommodation. Hence the focus is in selling alcohol and food not attending to guests. We had to hunt for someone to check us in.
We could not lock our room from the inside and were told that was how the locking system was designed!

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location. Character building in quaint city. Accomodation is excellent.
If you want away from boring but functional hotel chains this is the one for you. Step outside to a lovely English square and buildings. The Unicorn Hotel bedroom and en-suite were spotless and worthy of much pricier (and more pretentious?) hotels. All staff met were cheery, pleasant and helpful. Parking immediately behind the hotel is a little restricted but 100 yards away is a large and cheap car park (£2.50 per day). Nevertheless I parked free for my two night stay (Tuesday and Wednesday). The slight slope on the bedroom floor and the sash cord windows either amuse or slightly annoy depending on your tastes. It is a character building after all! Would I stay there again? Yes! Do not miss the 9.00pm hornblower each evening or the weekly market. They are both just outside your door.

Reviewed by
William O

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

whitherspoons
Overall the stay was great, the staff and the whole experience was great, my family will be back and l will inform all our friends, if they go into or around that area, to stay at your hotel
cheers again from the Hutton family

Reviewed by
Jamie Hutton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unicorn Ripon - good value, very helpful staff
Absolutely "does what it says on the tin" - helpful people, well-equipped comfortable room, generously-sized bathroom, good food and drinks in bar great value, promptly served, with a real Yorkshire welcome.
Improvements: (room 206) - please put a towel hook or rail near the washbasin. Hand out a copy of the map showing the car-park access as it's a bit challenging...

Reviewed by
David M

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our first Wetherspoons stay!
It was our first stay in a J D Wetherspoons establishment and we were quite happy with the experience. The building is a large, rambling old inn on Ripon Market Square. Our room had been tastefully refurbished with some original features left in situ. The room was spacious as was the bathroom and the bed was comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, as were the bar-staff. Sadly the food was typical Wetherspoons fare, which was edible but definitely not cordon-bleu. The beer was fine though! All in all, recommended but you may wish to go and eat elsewhere!

Reviewed by
David S

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place to stay if visiting lightwater valley or ripon racecourse, cheap room rates, cheap food and cheap alcohol, what more do you need!!

Reviewed by
neil h

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money, very good staff, stopped over 15no times in last 9 months that speaks for its self
The unicorn has become our second home, our bolt hole away from the SSDD
Unfortunately I am going away working so will not get chance to go until end of August which strangely bothers me more than I thought it would!!
Look forward to getting back, don't forget us !!
Fraser & Claire ;)

Reviewed by
Fraser Paling

From Mexborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tour de France visit
Good central accomodation, and useful to have a bar/pub downstairs for drinks and food.
Room standard better than expected - quite modern in fact!

Reviewed by
P Viner

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location for tour de france weekend!
Very clean, modern, large room with huge bathroom, excellent location in centre of ripon. May not be suitable for those wanting an early night though due to the high street being busy (friday night). Food was excellent quality and good value. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
R Griffiths

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location in city square, clean room good food
Lovely room, staff helpful, quite despite location above pub and in market square. Kids sofa bed not too bad

Reviewed by
damien c

From Goole, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next