Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > North Yorkshire > Ripon Hotels > The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place East , Ripon, HG4 1BP
FREE WI-FI
The Unicorn is one of Ripons oldest and most historic inns.The hotel reopened in April 2011, following a £2.1million refurbishment and is part of the JD Wetherspoon hotel group.
It is the largest building on the market place and has featured in the many aspects of Ripon's history since the 17th century.
The inn retains much of its historic splendor, while providing modern-day comfort.
All of the hotels 32 bedrooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV.
We have 13 twin rooms, 16 double rooms and 3 Family rooms.
Free Wi-Fi is available in the bar area.
The hotel is a stones throw away from the local attractions and is ideally situated around the corner from the Cathedral.
Breakfast 7am-12 Noon daily and the full food menu is served until 11pm.
Room service. We do offer a limited room service.
Picture of The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 369 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location
Stayed a Sat & Sun night. Would not recommend staying on a Saturday if you want to sleep. Extremely noisy not just when Hotel bar closes but more so at 2.30am when nearby night club turns out. Was then woken again about 5.30 hearing very loud voices and assume the cleaners arrive for the bar areas.

Reviewed by
N PICOT

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Sunday night stay absolute bargain. bedrooms modern and clean.

Reviewed by
m locke

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean tidy good food always a good stay at wetherspoons !!!!!!!
Enjoyed our stay , very warm welcome !!!! Beautiful room ,would stay again !!!!!!!

Reviewed by
J Thompson

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value inn
The Unicorn is a historic inn in Ripon's town centre, on the iconic market square. Wetherspoon's have rescued it, and turned it into a great place to stay, as long as you aren't in search of a quiet retreat, for the bar gets full and noisy some evenings. Prices are generally excellent. The last time I stayed a banging door in the kitchen area kept me and my wife awake in the small hours (they must have been taking deliveries) but on all my other trips the bedrooms have been quiet and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Alex K

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Does what wetherspoons do, good standard and excellent value for money. Would have no proem staying at another wetherspoons hotel in the future after our pleasant first experience!

Reviewed by
B Murphy

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unicorn, Ripon
Smart, small double bedroom and very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, excellent value for money
I've stayed here twice now. Both times i can't believe how cheap it was. When i saw it was a Weatherspoons hotel i didnt know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the bathrooms are a really good size and all nicely decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Both stays we were very happy and couldnt fault a single thing. will be returning again in the future.

Reviewed by
Emma T

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Great room good food and excellent prices in the bar , definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Paul Gibson

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
great hotel. parking a nightmare. two disabled spots, none disabled in both - no blue badge on screen.

Reviewed by
martin w

From Hessle, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night away
The Unicorn was old but the rooms sympathetically modernised and tidy. It was a bit noisy at club kicking out time but it's in the centre of town. Those expecting rural silence would do better picking a hotel further away from civilisation. Food came from the Wetherspoons underneath and was to the usual standard. Nice hotel, good value for money.

Reviewed by
S Mulholland

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next