Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > North Yorkshire > Ripon Hotels > The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place East , Ripon, HG4 1BP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Unicorn is one of Ripons oldest and most historic inns.The hotel reopened in April 2011, following a £2.1million refurbishment and is part of the JD Wetherspoon hotel group.
It is the largest building on the market place and has featured in the many aspects of Ripon's history since the 17th century. The inn retains much of its historic splendor, while providing modern-day comfort. All of the hotels 32 bedrooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. We have 13 twin rooms, 16 double rooms and 3 Family rooms. Free Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. The hotel is a stones throw away from the local attractions and is ideally situated around the corner from the Cathedral.
Picture of The Unicorn, Ripon - a J D Wetherspoon Hotel, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 379 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location in Ripon
We had a great nights stay, a nice quiet room on the top floor (quite a few doors, but that help with the quietness so no complaints). I reccommend this place for anyone wanting a good stay in Ripon, and staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
david p

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
Staff very friendly on arrival. Room immaculately clean and food very good value for money. Only drawback no parking spaces available at the hotel but we were able to park nearby.

Reviewed by
derrick s

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet night in Ripon
Very efficient reception on arrival.
As requested quiet room.
Breakfast much improved since our last visit.
Will certainly return in future.

Reviewed by
Doreen T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food and Drink
I should have preferred both food and drink to be served considerably hotter!

Reviewed by
H Curtis

From Kenley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ripon races
Second stay for us at this hotel. ideal location for Ripon races rooms clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
andrew armitage

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

-
Very convenient
But- Car parking very restricted

Reviewed by
JOHN GIBSON

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in Ripon
Hotel was ideally situated. Parking was limited but staff were extremely helpful and found us a space. They also told us about the Hornblower and local interests which made the stay so much more enjoyable. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable with plenty of space. Towels soft and fluffy, shower easily adjusted to suit and bed gave us plenty of personal space. There is so much more left to do which surprised me so definitely worth repeating.

Reviewed by
Julie Mannion

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice but could have done with ear plugs
I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel room. It was spacious and clean with a very nice decor. There were a couple of problems with the noise level outside from a near by club and the fan in the bathroom not working properly. I'm not sure the cost represents this. So nice but bring ear plugs.

Reviewed by
Claire S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money, comfortable and clean
Would definitely return to this hotel

Reviewed by
Natalia A

From Alcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel for families. Family room had a little area separate from the bedroom that we sat in whilst waiting for our two boys to fall asleep. Staff were friendly and helpful and helped us in from the car park and getting our bags upstairs. My son left a toy behind and after we realised this the day after weleft we were told it had been found and was sitting on the reception desk waiting to be returned. It was waiting for us when we returned from holiday complete with a little letter about his adventure. Would highly recommend this hotel and will stay again if in the area

Reviewed by
Penny M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next