No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Townhouse

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
1 West Avenue, Gosforth, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE3 4ES
You’ll find The Townhouse Hotel nestled in the leafy suburb of Gosforth, one of the most desirable postcodes in Newcastle upon Tyne. Traditionally known for its great atmosphere, warm welcome and being the gateway to Northumberland and Hadrian’s Wall Country, Newcastle is now attracting visitors for its cultural sights and sounds too. As Gosforth’s newest and only boutique hotel, you will experience the finest luxury hotel accommodation at The Townhouse. We are located close enough to reach out into the vibrant city centre in a moment, but far enough out to afford space to unwind and drift away in luxury. Whatever brings you to The Townhouse Hotel, be it business or pleasure, we’re sure you’ll leave with a lasting impression of the comfort, style and luxury on offer. Each of our ten lavish bedrooms has been designed to represent a unique vision of style and decadence with a luxury limestone bathroom or wetroom, high speed internet connection, a fabulous bed, thick piled carpet, a desk to work at and a wall-mounted plasma TV as standard. So, no matter which door number you stay at and whatever you want from your stay, we are confident that you will find it here, with an assurance of quality down to the finest detail.
Picture of The Townhouse, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff
Even they say using laterooms is a con and to call any hotel directly first. You will always get rooms cheaper than using a comparison site.

Reviewed by
quentin francis

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

townhouse
Lovely relaxed boutique hotel with really nice staff and delicious breakfast in my favourite area of Newcastle!

Reviewed by
Angela G

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Really enjoyed our stay, Lovely room, although would ask to avoid room with sloping ceiling next time. We are both quite tall and hit our heads on the beam in the bathroom. Very flexible about breakfast - our two daughters joined us, although they weren't staying.

Reviewed by
I Perrett

From Altrincham, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully furnished room
Very attractive room and quiet despite being only a minute from the High Street.

Reviewed by
Debby M

From Teddington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cannot fault The Townhouse
Excellent room and quality of service, very friendly personnel. I just wish it had been longer than one night. Next time it will be.

Reviewed by
Jann Tracy

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not as good as we thought it would be
Friendly, welcoming staff. Room ok. Didn't like having no privacy in bathroom! Thought breakfast was included but apparently its not if you book through late rooms.

ManagementResponse

The bathroom has a glass side panel which is frosted. The frosting provides privacy. If we didn't have glass with frosting the bathroom would be very dark. I am sorry that this was not private enough for you. If you read the Terms of Late Rooms it does say Room Only Breakfast not included. Upon arrival we always offer breakfast for Late Rooms guests for a supplement. I thank you for your constructive comments and try to avoid any of these issues In future. Best Regards, Sheila - Owner

Reviewed by
Clare C

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay.
Absolutely terrific service, all the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. The room was very clean and comfy.

Reviewed by
R Foggett

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome and nicely presented
One comment, the breakfast lacked a little bit extra. I had the French toast with bacon but that's all it was and was therefore too dry for me, maple syrup would have been a welcome extra and to have the option of fruit/yoghurt and maple syrup as an alternative. My partner had the omelet and that's all that came, again very dry on its own, the option of a few grilled tomatoes or mushrooms or even some rocket would have perked it up a bit.

Reviewed by
T Hills

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were friendly but I think the hotel interior needs an upgrade if they want to continue marketing as four star. There was a large damp patch on the wall of our room, the dressing table stool was broken and there was an obvious stain on the bedding cover. We had room only so can't comment on food. Fine for one night but we may look elsewhere when we're next in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
Elisabeth H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ghost town
Diffiuclt to find I had to ask a restaurant that was actually at No . Then deserted, locked and dark. Someone came when I rang the bell (though they had not answered the phone). They said they wree closed on Sundays - not much use if your reservation starts then. The room was nice but very dark - black wallpaper and blinds, a little bleak - with a very good bathroom; but there were piles of laundry sacks in the corridor, and a badly burnt ironing board leaning randomly against the wall outside a bedroom. It all felt like someone had tried to make a boutique hotel but either got bored or run out of money.......A convenient location so I might stay again, but expensive for what it was.

Reviewed by
Victoria H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next