No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
WATERLOO SQUARE,ST. JAMES BOULEVARD, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 4DN
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station , our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. As our guest you’ll enjoy modern accommodation and prices which include free breakfast buffet with a choice of hot and continental items. Ask the staff at our Newcastle City Centre hotel for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city or use our free Wi-Fi to plan your day. Our Newcastle hotel’s convenient, city-centre location is a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, making us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. Getting to and from the hotel is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services at the station 300 metres away. The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle City Centre is ideal for business with 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms , well-equipped accommodation and free Wi-Fi throughout. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 's contemporary bar, open 24 hours.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good location

Reviewed by
s dobson

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had to switch room twice, they gave us a twin the first time and the drain was blocked on shower the second time. After this little hiccup everything was amazing free drinks to say sorry. And the staff could not have been more helpful and nice. Also bouncers on the night are a welcome sight really friendly and welcoming. Would deffo use again.

Reviewed by
Kane W

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideal for short stay in central Newcastle
Clean, friendly staff and within walking distance of all main attractions. Very good value for money with long stay carpark next door.

Reviewed by
C Diemoz

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel and location, room good, no complaints. clean and tidy.
signs for car park could be made more clearly, parking facilities not actually at hotel but uses car park facilities next to hotel. free overnight parking till 8am, but be aware car parking attendant does check as we found out as received a parking ticket, (9am).

Reviewed by
j wilkinson

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stains on carpet, room very tired looking could do with a coat of paint.

ManagementResponse

Dear I Hill, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We're very sorry that we fell below your expectations on this visit especially with the condition of the room and its maintenance being sub par. We've noted the points you have raised as this is instrumental for us to improve on what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Sincerely, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
I HILL

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Impressed
Was very impressed by Holiday Inn, will be staying there again

Reviewed by
Thomas C

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would return in the future and recommend to friends and family
Great break for myself and my wife staff were helpful and friendly

ManagementResponse

Dear A Harper, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and appreciate your compliments regarding our staff being friendly and helpful. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin IHG Care

Reviewed by
A HARPER

From alloa, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last min stay
Very efficient check in - I was given a twin room but when I went to reception they changed it without question.

ManagementResponse

Dear Chris N, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you found our check-in efficient and apologized for the inconvenience the room assigned to you may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Chris N

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As always the Holiday Inn Express provided the perfect accommodation for our weekend stay in Newcastle. Close to the railway station and other amenities. The staff gave a first class service, and the breakfast was, as usual, excellent.

Reviewed by
J Spencer

From Huddersfield, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient location and great customer service. Room was clean and quiet. All very straightforward. Would certainly recommend, though not the cheapest.

Reviewed by
Jonathan W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next