No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
WATERLOO SQUARE,ST. JAMES BOULEVARD, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 4DN
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station , our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. As our guest you’ll enjoy modern accommodation and prices which include free breakfast buffet with a choice of hot and continental items. Ask the staff at our Newcastle City Centre hotel for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city or use our free Wi-Fi to plan your day. Our Newcastle hotel’s convenient, city-centre location is a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, making us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. Getting to and from the hotel is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services at the station 300 metres away. The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle City Centre is ideal for business with 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms , well-equipped accommodation and free Wi-Fi throughout. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 's contemporary bar, open 24 hours.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night out
great for a night in newcasle, good clean hotel, car park next door, loads of shops and pubs within a five min walk. we have been here before and would book again

Reviewed by
tommy bassett

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nothing special
hotel location very good, clean room adequte. Bar drinks super pricey! try to aviod at all cost.
Breakfast not brill, bit like cattle market, no Bacon!
dont pay silly money to stay here, get the best deal you can. Newcastle is awesome!

ManagementResponse

Dear Julie C, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel and for noticing the cleanliness of our hotel. I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Janice IHGCare

Reviewed by
julie C

From Wakefield, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Excellent service and accomodation highly recomended 10/10

Reviewed by
m metcalfe

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bedding
the undersheet on the bed was far to short and finished up in a ball on the floor by the morning.
dissapointed with the parking arrangements.Up in the morning to feed a meter ?surely an arrangement could be made with the parking company to pay a flat rate when signing in at hotel .this could be optional

Reviewed by
j brown

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room, pleasant staff, good stay
We have used Holiday Inn Express before and yet again were not disappointed with the greeting from staff, cleanliness of the room and overall good experience. We would recommend the hotel to friends.

Reviewed by
anita h

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value no frills hotel.
Clean modern hotel with good service.good location.

ManagementResponse

Dear N THOMPSON, Thank you for writing about your most recent stay with us. Our goal is deliver exceptional service to all of our guest. We are truly delighted you liked your hotel, location and staff service. We appreciate your feedback which will help us continue to excel in our service and accommodations for each guest. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Zelyn IHGCare

Reviewed by
N THOMPSON

From Hillsborough, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity couldn't of stayed longer
I booked this stay to go to my daughter's graduation, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very inviting and clean. The breakfast, well too many to chose, pity we couldn't of stayed longer. really enjoyable stay!

Reviewed by
carol r

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable will return

ManagementResponse

Dear James Mccracken, We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
james mccracken

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Clean air condition room with sofa bed to sleep four. Not large room but comfortable even sofa bed which I slept on. Situated fairly centrally in Newcastle ideal for short city break. Decent buffet breakfast, could do with a bit more on the cooked side, just eggs beans and sausage but nice eating area. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
J Clark

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Newcastle hotel
Having recently stayed in the Jurys Inn, which is next door to this place, I hoped for greater things with the extra £20 for the night. However, I was disappointed. Ok, the location is good (but no better than the Jury's), though at the price I expected more. I'd advise the Jurys as everything was far superior.
I've stayed in Holiday Inns in Leeds and found them to be far superior; maybe it's just this one.

ManagementResponse

Dear Nicholas Gresham, Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not up to your standards and would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to make your stay as best as it can be. Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings. Sincerely, Connie IHGCare

Reviewed by
Nicholas Gresham

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next