No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
WATERLOO SQUARE,ST. JAMES BOULEVARD, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 4DN
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station , our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. As our guest you’ll enjoy modern accommodation and prices which include free breakfast buffet with a choice of hot and continental items. Ask the staff at our Newcastle City Centre hotel for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city or use our free Wi-Fi to plan your day. Our Newcastle hotel’s convenient, city-centre location is a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, making us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. Getting to and from the hotel is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services at the station 300 metres away. The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle City Centre is ideal for business with 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms , well-equipped accommodation and free Wi-Fi throughout. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 's contemporary bar, open 24 hours.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable will return

ManagementResponse

Dear James Mccracken, We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
james mccracken

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Clean air condition room with sofa bed to sleep four. Not large room but comfortable even sofa bed which I slept on. Situated fairly centrally in Newcastle ideal for short city break. Decent buffet breakfast, could do with a bit more on the cooked side, just eggs beans and sausage but nice eating area. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
J Clark

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Newcastle hotel
Having recently stayed in the Jurys Inn, which is next door to this place, I hoped for greater things with the extra £20 for the night. However, I was disappointed. Ok, the location is good (but no better than the Jury's), though at the price I expected more. I'd advise the Jurys as everything was far superior.
I've stayed in Holiday Inns in Leeds and found them to be far superior; maybe it's just this one.

ManagementResponse

Dear Nicholas Gresham, Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not up to your standards and would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to make your stay as best as it can be. Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings. Sincerely, Connie IHGCare

Reviewed by
Nicholas Gresham

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking
The only overall problem with this hotel for staying was there was no parking therefore had to pay for parking in the block next door. With this, one of the group had to be down at the parking lot for 8am in the morning to replace the meter so we werent fined anything. Other than that the hotel was very friendly nice atmosphere and the breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
kerry D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend
Efficient friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and spotlessly clean room. Perfect base for a one night stopover in the centre of Newcastle.

Reviewed by
E Black

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
All as expected and to a very good standard. BUT. No bacon with breakfast!

ManagementResponse

Dear Allan L , Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction with the breakfast choices. Strict guidelines are set out by IHG regarding what can be offered for breakfast to differentiate ourselves from other brands within the group and to ensure we can continue to offer a complimentary breakfast. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements. Sincerely, Dhan IHGCare

Reviewed by
Allan L

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shopping trip with daughter
Had a lovely stay despite the cold weather, staff very helpful particularly John @ reception for whom nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Yvonne H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn Newcastle
Nice clean hotel, friendly staff, hotel sited right in centre of Newcastle so handy for theatres, clubs, shops, etc. I got a great deal on the price and found the place excellent. I'd definitely stay here again. Breakfast was lovely, great choices and tasty food. Will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Julie C

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday celebrations in Newcastle
Hotel staff were very polite and friendly in particular Michael who gave us directions before we arrived at the Hotel and to some restaurants we wanted to go to for a meal. This Hotel is in an ideal place for hitting the town, the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
C Hutchings

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me and a group of friends went and stayed in this holiday inn and I must say it had everything that we needed.
Also when we booked the rooms we did them in groups of two about 2 months apart but still got rooms next to each other and this really helped :)
I would stay there again

Reviewed by
Jodie Stratton

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next