No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Waterloo Square,St James Boulevard, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 4DN
See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel. Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters. Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore. Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room. Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items. Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite goood
The stay was good all round, and I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
G Douglas

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superior accommodation and a very comfortable one night stay
Good size room - surprising lack of drawer-space but not a problem for a one-night stay. Sensible heating, comfortable bed with a choice of pillow quality (neatly labelled firm or soft), easy shower controls and a well designed bathroom. Very friendly hotel staff. The kettle had broken but it was very efficiently replaced by a new one within minutes of my request. Central and convenient for trains or entertainment with a secluded entrance in the plaza. Good varied breakfast with excellent sausages.

Reviewed by
Jill S

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Julie B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was basic but very clean,but the bed wasn't very comfortable.
Outside the hotel it was noisy and the fire alarm sounded twice in the night. Breakfast was very poor.
The receptionist was lovely, very helpful and pleasant.

ManagementResponse

Dear Anne S, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind remarks on our hotel staff. We apologize for the inconvenience you and experienced due to the condition of the bed, noise, and sincerely regret our breakfast fell below your expectations. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Anne S

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night out
great for a night in newcasle, good clean hotel, car park next door, loads of shops and pubs within a five min walk. we have been here before and would book again

Reviewed by
tommy bassett

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nothing special
hotel location very good, clean room adequte. Bar drinks super pricey! try to aviod at all cost.
Breakfast not brill, bit like cattle market, no Bacon!
dont pay silly money to stay here, get the best deal you can. Newcastle is awesome!

ManagementResponse

Dear Julie C, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel and for noticing the cleanliness of our hotel. I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Janice IHGCare

Reviewed by
julie C

From Wakefield, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Excellent service and accomodation highly recomended 10/10

Reviewed by
m metcalfe

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bedding
the undersheet on the bed was far to short and finished up in a ball on the floor by the morning.
dissapointed with the parking arrangements.Up in the morning to feed a meter ?surely an arrangement could be made with the parking company to pay a flat rate when signing in at hotel .this could be optional

Reviewed by
j brown

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room, pleasant staff, good stay
We have used Holiday Inn Express before and yet again were not disappointed with the greeting from staff, cleanliness of the room and overall good experience. We would recommend the hotel to friends.

Reviewed by
anita h

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value no frills hotel.
Clean modern hotel with good service.good location.

ManagementResponse

Dear N THOMPSON, Thank you for writing about your most recent stay with us. Our goal is deliver exceptional service to all of our guest. We are truly delighted you liked your hotel, location and staff service. We appreciate your feedback which will help us continue to excel in our service and accommodations for each guest. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Zelyn IHGCare

Reviewed by
N THOMPSON

From Hillsborough, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next