No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Waterloo Square,St James Boulevard, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 4DN
See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel. Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters. Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore. Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room. Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items. Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice cleAn and very good staff
I only have one complaint the car was a nightmare!!!! Free over night but at 8am next morning had to get up and put money on so for that reason alone we won't stay again shame

Reviewed by
t drakes

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and convenient
Clean, comfortable and just a few minutes walk from Newcastle Central. The staff were polite and friendly too. The only negative being the boilers shut down in the early morning during my stay and my partner had to have a cold shower before an important meeting. Other than that, a good accommodation.

ManagementResponse

Dear Liam H , Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel being clean, comfortable and convenient. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin G. IHGCare

Reviewed by
Liam H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel stay
Went to a gig with a friends, so just needed a place to crash after, the room was very nice and tidy. Staff were very nice and cheerful"

Reviewed by
Elliot A

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All excellent except for English breakfast.
The hotel and staff were excellent. The service was friendly and helpful and the rooms were of a high quality. The only negative experience was the quality of the sausages and egg for breakfast. I found them to be well-below par and couldn't eat them. However, the continental breakfast and the cereal options were a satisfactory alternative.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday trip
Staff were very helpful. We were early but no problems were encountered. the staff were so helpful advising us to where to go to, restaurants and menus, taxis. I will certainly be re-visiting this hotel in the future and would have no reservations about recommending it to friends and family

Reviewed by
c corfield

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and clean. no hot water to shower or wash in the morning due to boiler breakdown was an inconvenience to say the least. breakfast at 9.30 am was warm and needed microwaving to be eatable. (try eating cold scrambled egg). Staff friendly and helpful. (stayed at Edinburgh Picardy place and breakfast experience lots better)

Reviewed by
c porter

From worksop, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay, the Hotel ticked all our boxes
Check in was efficient and informative, our bedroom had everything we needed, the bar area was comfortable and relaxed in the evening and the night staff who served us were friendly. Breakfast was more than adequate. We chose this hotel mainly because of it's close vicinity to the O2 Acadamy, it was great for the train station and the city centre shops, bars and restaurants too. We really appreciated the facility to leave our luggage after we had checked out. All in all a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Sarah V

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great central location for shopping and eating. quiet, even though in the city, very good for parking as car park is so handy being 2 mins walk to hotel.

Reviewed by
Georgina Davidson

From Huntly, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday inn express newcastle
we stayed at this hotel due to its proximity to the metro radio arena where we were attending a music concert. we were very pleasently surprised to say the least at the accommodation on offer as we didnt pay very much for the room.i stayed in a twin room with my sister and although space was rather limited only staying for 2 nights we managed well enough.the room was spotless,bathroom very nice and all staff were very helpfull and polite.breakfast was nice enough with plenty of choice available. overall we fully enjoyed our time at this hotel and will most definately be booking here again on our next stay in newcastle and wouldnt hesitate to try other holiday inns elsewhere which would hopefully be up to the same high standards as newcastle. thank you all

Reviewed by
j roche

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next