No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
WATERLOO SQUARE,ST. JAMES BOULEVARD, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 4DN
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station , our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. As our guest you’ll enjoy modern accommodation and prices which include free breakfast buffet with a choice of hot and continental items. Ask the staff at our Newcastle City Centre hotel for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city or use our free Wi-Fi to plan your day. Our Newcastle hotel’s convenient, city-centre location is a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, making us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. Getting to and from the hotel is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services at the station 300 metres away. The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle City Centre is ideal for business with 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms , well-equipped accommodation and free Wi-Fi throughout. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 's contemporary bar, open 24 hours.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday trip
Staff were very helpful. We were early but no problems were encountered. the staff were so helpful advising us to where to go to, restaurants and menus, taxis. I will certainly be re-visiting this hotel in the future and would have no reservations about recommending it to friends and family

Reviewed by
c corfield

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and clean. no hot water to shower or wash in the morning due to boiler breakdown was an inconvenience to say the least. breakfast at 9.30 am was warm and needed microwaving to be eatable. (try eating cold scrambled egg). Staff friendly and helpful. (stayed at Edinburgh Picardy place and breakfast experience lots better)

Reviewed by
c porter

From worksop, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay, the Hotel ticked all our boxes
Check in was efficient and informative, our bedroom had everything we needed, the bar area was comfortable and relaxed in the evening and the night staff who served us were friendly. Breakfast was more than adequate. We chose this hotel mainly because of it's close vicinity to the O2 Acadamy, it was great for the train station and the city centre shops, bars and restaurants too. We really appreciated the facility to leave our luggage after we had checked out. All in all a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Sarah V

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great central location for shopping and eating. quiet, even though in the city, very good for parking as car park is so handy being 2 mins walk to hotel.

Reviewed by
Georgina Davidson

From Huntly, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday inn express newcastle
we stayed at this hotel due to its proximity to the metro radio arena where we were attending a music concert. we were very pleasently surprised to say the least at the accommodation on offer as we didnt pay very much for the room.i stayed in a twin room with my sister and although space was rather limited only staying for 2 nights we managed well enough.the room was spotless,bathroom very nice and all staff were very helpfull and polite.breakfast was nice enough with plenty of choice available. overall we fully enjoyed our time at this hotel and will most definately be booking here again on our next stay in newcastle and wouldnt hesitate to try other holiday inns elsewhere which would hopefully be up to the same high standards as newcastle. thank you all

Reviewed by
j roche

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite goood
The stay was good all round, and I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
G Douglas

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superior accommodation and a very comfortable one night stay
Good size room - surprising lack of drawer-space but not a problem for a one-night stay. Sensible heating, comfortable bed with a choice of pillow quality (neatly labelled firm or soft), easy shower controls and a well designed bathroom. Very friendly hotel staff. The kettle had broken but it was very efficiently replaced by a new one within minutes of my request. Central and convenient for trains or entertainment with a secluded entrance in the plaza. Good varied breakfast with excellent sausages.

Reviewed by
Jill S

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Julie B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was basic but very clean,but the bed wasn't very comfortable.
Outside the hotel it was noisy and the fire alarm sounded twice in the night. Breakfast was very poor.
The receptionist was lovely, very helpful and pleasant.

ManagementResponse

Dear Anne S, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind remarks on our hotel staff. We apologize for the inconvenience you and experienced due to the condition of the bed, noise, and sincerely regret our breakfast fell below your expectations. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Anne S

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next