You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express NEWCASTLE CITY CENTRE

3

Waterloo Square,St James Boulevard, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 4DN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • s moffatt

  • June 2016

Holiday Inn Express NEWCASTLE CITY CENTRE

Excellent hotel.

Would recommend to anyone. Good location walking distance of all amenities.

  • marie m

  • May 2016

great place to stay

We enjoyed our stay at your hotel, the room was comfortable with hairdryer and iron provided which was not available in the comparable priced hotel last week.

Although it is a city centre location the noise from traffic is minimal. The room was comfortable, all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Eric W

  • April 2016

Holiday Inn Express NEWCASTLE CITY CENTRE

Well pleased.

We selected the hotel as it is within walking distance of the City Centre, the Arena, and the station. It proved to be an excellent choice. The staff were very helpful, friendly and chatty too.

  • David J

  • April 2016

Over Night Stop Off

Room was spaceist and clean some fittings were well worn(electrical Light) could be dangerous if used alot, Breakfast well cooked but not a lot of choice, no full english, would have been ok if price was £12/£15 lower Travelodge price range.

Staff very helpful.

  • A Hume

  • March 2016

Holiday Inn Express NEWCASTLE CITY CENTRE

Great room and excellent price.

Everything on your doorstep.

Response from hotel

Dear A Hume,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted to know that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to our room accommodations. Your kind comments are highly appreciated. Let us assure you that we will continuously strive for improvement to make your future stays as good or even better.

Sincerely,

Faith R

Case Manager

IHGService

  • E Prosser-Snelling

  • January 2016

Holiday Inn Express NEWCASTLE CITY CENTRE

Comfortable, quiet, clean, good water pressure.

  • Stephen Peebles

  • January 2016

Trip to the Toon

Catching up with an old friend in Newcastle.

Hotel right in the heart of the City, ideal location. I am in a wheelchair and the disabled room was fantastic. A great wet room and good wide doors. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Good selection at breakfast. Iwould choose the hotel again on my next trip to the Toon.

  • Andrea D

  • January 2016

Room brilliant, breakfast not quite so great if you have special requirements

Room was brilliant, bed a bit soft but we still slept, pillows too thick or not enough.

Sofa in room was very welcome. The bathroom had a funny door effect, which I guess was a space saver, definately not a negative point. Most positive thing was a blue light in the bathroom. Genius idea - totally loved this - absolutely brilliant for nighttime visits to toilet. light without the glare and blinding affect.

The room did not quite have enough light switches - it was a case of all lights on or off. The two mini bedside lights didnt work at all. And so when I needed afternoon snooze and himself was watching tv, it was a little bright with the flourescent tubes shining over the bed.

Breakfast, so I am recently diagnosed coeliac and a little fussy. The breakfast was sausages, beans and scrambled eggs. With some Fruit (nice granny smith apples), yogurts, bit of cheese. Juices and coffee/teas. Oh yes, and pastries. so on asking about the gluten free option I was 'given' a loaf of genius bread. Sausages were off the menu. which is sad, cos I love sausages. I don't like beans, or scrambled eggs, but I dont like to make a fuss either. I shouldnt use the toaster due to cross contamination, but I did. And I tried to eat the scrambled eggs. Then went on to eat three slices of the genius bread with jam. Now for those who dont have to eat gluten free bread, you're lucky. But three slices with jam is quite heavy going.

I'd have loved porridge. In fact I went and bought porridge in pots to have the rest of my stay. whilst staring longingly at the sausages and wondering if my villi would be Ok. (realising they wouldnt and I wanted to go shopping rather than spend a day in the bathroom with its cool blue light - I passed)

Himself was happy with the arrangement of breakfast, as seemed to be the hoards of people we encountered on our second day. The last day we were running late so I packed the car while himself had his breakfast, and I ate mine later.

The staff in the hotel were lovely and friendly. The place was clean. We would stay there again, but probably not with the breakfast option. If only they had done bacon. I love bacon. Or boiled eggs.

  • Riyaz J

  • December 2015

Family overnight stay after vacation

Free overnight parking in multi storey next door until 800am (from 5pm night before I think?) then 80p per hour pay and display (bring change), watch you don't park in the reserved bays on the first floor as there is an attendant in the morning who will ticket you.

Staff friendly and attentive, for 2A and 2C the second sofa bed was small, although if kids are very young, one child will easily fit onto the large Queen size bed also (mine were 13/12 so tight squeeze). Breakfast was good value for the money paid £49 and free i newspaper also. Easy city centre access and close to A1 road only a short drive from Newcastle airport.

  • Rachel T

  • November 2015

Lovely stay

The hotel was clean and comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful.