No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
WATERLOO SQUARE,ST. JAMES BOULEVARD, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 4DN
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station , our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. As our guest you’ll enjoy modern accommodation and prices which include free breakfast buffet with a choice of hot and continental items. Ask the staff at our Newcastle City Centre hotel for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city or use our free Wi-Fi to plan your day. Our Newcastle hotel’s convenient, city-centre location is a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, making us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. Getting to and from the hotel is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services at the station 300 metres away. The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle City Centre is ideal for business with 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms , well-equipped accommodation and free Wi-Fi throughout. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 's contemporary bar, open 24 hours.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget hotel but ideal short stays
Staff were very helpful as we were able to check in an hour early at no extra cost which was a massive convenience for us. The bed was a little too firm but I have memory foam at home so I
May be used to that, partner said it was fine! Free wifi which was wonderful and useful, breakfast was a bit of a free for all as it is included free so there wasn't much left at 8.30 when we went down. Other guests were all muscling in trying to get to what little
Food was left which was far from ideal. All
In all a great stay and I would use again but maybe go elsewhere for breakfast. I should add that I managed to make a sausage sandwich and it was lovely, not that quality of the food which was the problem.

Reviewed by
D Atkins

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

traffic noise
We were aware that we were near a major road but we still heard traffic noise during the night despite being on the top floor. Perhaps additional noise insulation could be used. otherwise a great location and very attentive staff.

Reviewed by
g pacey

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Receptionist staff gave an outstanding warm welcomw

Reviewed by
J Harris

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldnt have been better
Night staff were fab when we came in late! an evening staff great with ideas on where to go for food an drinks. Very accessible to everywhere at LA taxis were great too. Overall Holiday Inn Expresss made my first trip to Newcastle extremelly easy an enjoyable and i will be using them on my return!

Reviewed by
Fran Remnant

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short trip
Nice room. Clean. Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
M Chaudhry

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely stay again. Highly recommend.
Staff were fantastic. Extremely welcoming and helpful. John is an asset to your team!

Reviewed by
E Robson

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is just minutes from the city centre.

Reviewed by
Margaret A

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
Booked early for cerebrating birthday, excellent value, room clean and tidy, close to city centre. Food did not seem as good as the previous stay. All in all good value and will return.

Reviewed by
David W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleepless night in Newcastle
Having arrived after drive from Scotland, I found the hotel, but no clue as to where the parking was so I stopped on the street to nip in and ask. The multi story next to the hotel has a VERY VERY narrow entrance (as you can tell with all the scrapes/paintwork on the walls. Upon entering the hotel, looks very spacious and pleasant, and the guys at the service desk were friendly and welcoming (love the Geordie accent!). The guy on the desk told us about there being alot of stag/hens in the hotel and gave us a room away from them so we could get a quiet nights sleep. The room was nice and modern, with a good sized TV, and an excellent toilet/shower. Upon going to bed, the traffic noise is very noticeable (even though it sits on the main road) and we just couldn't get to sleep with the noises coming from the "air circulating" unit which sounded like a fridge every 5 mins, only way louder. Couple that with the noise of water running every 2 minutes and the toilet "bubbling" every so often and you can see why this is the worst nights sleep, ever. The pillows were labelled as "firm" and "soft", soft being like sleeping on just the mattress and firm being a rock. Mix and match them and you still cant get a comfortable sleep, and a sore neck in the morning. Not even worth the free breakfast! Premier inn for me next time!

ManagementResponse

Dear Chris P, Thank you for your candid review. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel. Sincerely, Connie, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Chris P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice cleAn and very good staff
I only have one complaint the car was a nightmare!!!! Free over night but at 8am next morning had to get up and put money on so for that reason alone we won't stay again shame

Reviewed by
t drakes

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next