Reviews - Euro Hostel Newcastle

4

17, Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 6UQ

Price From 428 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (74)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • munawar lilani

  • October 2013

The best deal

A secret want to share with you all - Want value for money -- Simply visit www.laterooms.com :-)

  • STEPHEN P

  • October 2013

If you want somewhere to sleep, with a nice bar, at a cheap price, this is the place in Newcastle.

I was a bit shocked at first at the room, it did not even have a chair.

However, when you consider the cost and its central location I had no complaints. Staff were very helpful and the bar/dining area is great. Really cool place.

  • Stephen G

  • September 2013

one night stay

cheap and basic - but clean

  • Sze Nee T

  • September 2013

excellent hostel

  • David Brookes

  • September 2013

Hostel Virgin

My wife booked this accommodation and when I found out it was a hostel was very apprehensive.

No need to be at all, fantastic place, central to Newcastle, discounted parking next door. Staff were fabulous, rooms spotless. Clean bathrooms, bar with food below and the all you can eat continental breakfast sets anyone up for the day. I was doing the Great North Run so would highly recommend it to my running buddies. Would definitely use again, in fact we're going to try out the Edinburgh one next year.

  • Mark F

  • September 2013

perfect for a night out on the toon

cheap, cheerful and clean - perfect for a group of friends to have a bed to stay in while visiting Newcastle and enjoying the nightlife.

  • Daniel Lewis

  • September 2013

Euro Hostel Newcastle

Great hotel in great location.

Very impressed. Friendly staff also!

  • R Stewart

  • September 2013

ToonFest

Great price for a last minute booking, friendly staff and welcome breakfast in the Ware Rooms.

Only downside was the room was like a sauna in the morning but I reckon that was to do with 4 hungover lads. I would stay again

  • Ray M

  • August 2013

For the price and location, very good.

As an establishment, it is hard to fault this place..

they do their best. The place is very clean, well run and well maintained and is in a superb location. The price cannot be questioned as other than good value. Even their weak spot..- other customers- they try very hard to deal with. If you look at the details, potential 'problem groups' such as stag/hen groups need to speak with them before the booking is accepted, and they have a policy of fines(used to compensate other guest victims) for bad behavior. This place is not perfect.. It has to be admitted the rooms are small and basic, and some more soundproofing would help, but even my companion, who is extremely sensitive to noise disturbance was 'OK' for two nights. I would strongly recommend this establishment as a good value, simple place to stay. Just bear in mind it is a HOSTEL, not a high star hotel, and you should be very happy.

  • R Bewick

  • August 2013

Short stay to complete exams

Very basic, but fairly clean, small room with two bunk beds, one of them being a double, and a bathroom reminiscent of the ferry from Newcastle to Amsterdam - I quite liked it, adequate for just me.

Felt quite safe overall being on my own. I asked for a room in a quiet location with a window, and I got the window, and only a small amount of noise through other guests slamming doors between 12-2am on two of the three nights. I was informed where breakfast would be, but was not told about the communal kitchen and laundry room on the level below (I overheard this whilst at reception the next day). Reception staff were happy to call a taxi for me, but when my friend arrived at the hotel to collect me they would not come up to my room to let me know, they simply said "we don't do that", and as there was no phone in the room and my friend had forgotten his, he ended up having to beep his horn in the hope I would look out of my window. You can only enter the lift via a keycard and I'm not sure if there were actually any stairs - I could not find any. I don't like using lifts on my own, so a lack of stairs was a definite down point for me. Good location. FYEO opposite was not a problem - no music or noise heard at all. Breakfast options were toast, cereal, apple and mini muffin. There was also one tea or coffee option and orange juice. Overall good value for money, quite a young clientele overall who made use of the TV room with bean bags. Would not suggest this hotel for a couple who want a romantic weekend away however :-) but for groups of friends I think it's ideal.