The Horse and Farrier Inn

4

Threlkeld, Keswick, Cumbria, CA124SQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Giles W

  • October 2014

MTB stopover

I booked in with my brother for a one night stay whilst we rode our bikes at Whinlatter MTB centre.

The staff were great throughout and the service was friendly and prompt. The owner called us a week ahead to organise our booking for the evening meal, which was great because the place was absolutely packed with diners on the Saturday night. We were in room 1, which was small and cramped, but on checking out the owner did apologise and say that next time she would put us into a larger room or a cottage. The food was excellent, in particular the Roast Belly Pork and comes highly recommended. We would definitely stay again.

  • I Matthews

  • September 2014

A place you go back to time and time again

We stay at the Horse and Farrier 2 - 3 times a year.

Up to now we normally have rooms number 9 or 5 or the cottage, but this time round we had room number 1, which is on the back of the property, above the main kitchen of the pub. At first I thought the room was too small and the noise from the extractor fan for the kitchen below would keep me awake. In fact it's the best nights sleep I've had at the Horse and Farrier to date. The beds are super comfy and the extractor fan went off after the kitchen closed, so the room was nice and quiet.

  • Rachel C

  • September 2014

Very relaxing and enjoyable stay .

Received a warm welcome , room comfortable and breakfast excellent. Staff friendly and helpful - provide excellent service

  • Nicholas D

  • August 2014

last minute escape.

A warm welcome and excellent service from all the staff we spoke with, we arrived late evening and still got a full menu to chose from .

The bed in our room was nice and comfy.

  • A Stammers

  • June 2014

Great Customer Service

All staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Very nice hotel and room.

  • m sweeney

  • June 2014

old world charm

nice inn...nice people...nice room...

  • I Matthews

  • May 2014

lovely pub and restaurant

We had rooms 9 and 5.

I was in room 9. Nice size room and very comfortable bed. Shower cubicle too small. Booth mirrors in bedroom need to be lifted up a bit. Chest of drawers should be directly underneath mirror on wall so can be used as a dressing table and you can get to the plugs a lot better. Sstaying again in september.

  • J Howell

  • March 2014

Not what we expected even for the price

We first came to the horse and farrier about 3 weeks prior to our stay after a lovely walk along the old railway line from Keswick.

We had heard there was a lovely inn at the end of the walk in threlkeld to have a drink and something to eat before we walked back to Keswick, and we were not dissapointed with the results. We had a couple of drinks and shared a cheese sandwich which was fantastic. On our return to Keswick we decided to book a night as all the food looked great that was being served and such an olde worlde feel to the place looked very cosy. We looked on the internet for any good deals available and found one half the normal price for two people b & b. On arriving we were very nicely greater and shown to our room. The room was obviously the room they give to people who book the cheap deals as it overlooked the bins and back yard area, also if I had a cat it would now have a sore head as you could not have swung it, the bed was a kingsize but only just enough room to shuffel past it, the decor was very poor with damp stains on the ceiling and bathroom walls. After we had had a walk to Keswick and back we had a look online again and found several sites still offering rooms for that night so they were not full and could have easily offered us a better room. When we came down to dinner I ordered the Cumberland sausage and my wife ordered the chicken curry, after enquiring what type of cuury it was we were told its curry with chicken, when the meals arrived the curry looked great but lacked taste, it was just OK for a curry, my sausage arrived with what I can only describe as a ice cream size scoop of mash all though very tasty it was very small, the sausage on the other hand was very large but lacking in Cumberland herbs and spices, we also ordered two puddings, the chocolate fudge cake and the banoffee pie but have seen better served from a Sarah Lee packet, the beers and wine were totalling £10.10p for one of each which is about £1.50 dearer than in Keswick itself. Back to the room itself which at this point we realised was over the kitchens and until about 10pm there was loud music coming from the kitchen until service had stopped, after service had stopped that's when they start clearing and emptying bins in and out until about midnight, after all had gone quiet we turned off the TV and I tried to get to sleep unfortunately at 5 am I gave up trying to get to sleep as all night there was what I can only describe as a noise that was a cross between a dish washer filling and running and a toilet flushing every 20mins. At 8 am we went down for breakfast to be asked before we had sat down what we would like.....we hadn't even seen what was on offer. Overall the stay was very dissapointing even at a half price deal. In future when we walk along the railway we will probably only have a light lunch and a drink, that's if we go again.

  • Patricia Quinn

  • March 2014

Horse & Farrier - A credit to Lakeland

Both my partner and I have experienced many variations of holiday breaks from washed out camping ventures to Caribbean cruises on the Queen Mary 2 staying at the Waldorf Astoria New York, and we can say our stay at the H&Farrier was no different when it comes to hospitality, professionalism and comfort.

If you like walking but are limited to the challenging fells, then the old railway line in to Keswick is a lovely level walk. As MR Schwarzzanigger would say " WE WILL BE BACK "

  • JOHN O

  • November 2013

Recharge batteries

A very relaxing stay in pleasant surroundings, will be back again.