No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Horse and Farrier Inn

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Threlkeld, Keswick, Cumbria, CA124SQ
Open all day everyday, the Horse and Farrier is a heavenly retreat, serving some of the best Jennings real ale in the Lake District. Our bar and restaurant is well known and highly regarded for serving imaginative and wholesome food. The idyllic location and breathtaking views of Blencathra and Helvellyn range is simply stunning. Our 20 bedrooms and 2 cottages offer a variety of accommodation including dog friendly and some recently refurbished dog free rooms.
Picture of The Horse and Farrier Inn, Cumbria at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Customer Service
All staff were very helpful and accommodating. Very nice hotel and room.

Reviewed by
A Stammers

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old world charm
nice inn...nice people...nice room...

Reviewed by
m sweeney

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely pub and restaurant
We had rooms 9 and 5. I was in room 9. Nice size room and very comfortable bed. Shower cubicle too small. Booth mirrors in bedroom need to be lifted up a bit. Chest of drawers should be directly underneath mirror on wall so can be used as a dressing table and you can get to the plugs a lot better. Sstaying again in september.

Reviewed by
I Matthews

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we expected even for the price
We first came to the horse and farrier about 3 weeks prior to our stay after a lovely walk along the old railway line from Keswick.
We had heard there was a lovely inn at the end of the walk in threlkeld to have a drink and something to eat before we walked back to Keswick, and we were not dissapointed with the results.
We had a couple of drinks and shared a cheese sandwich which was fantastic.
On our return to Keswick we decided to book a night as all the food looked great that was being served and such an olde worlde feel to the place looked very cosy.
We looked on the internet for any good deals available and found one half the normal price for two people b & b.
On arriving we were very nicely greater and shown to our room.
The room was obviously the room they give to people who book the cheap deals as it overlooked the bins and back yard area, also if I had a cat it would now have a sore head as you could not have swung it, the bed was a kingsize but only just enough room to shuffel past it, the decor was very poor with damp stains on the ceiling and bathroom walls.
After we had had a walk to Keswick and back we had a look online again and found several sites still offering rooms for that night so they were not full and could have easily offered us a better room.
When we came down to dinner I ordered the Cumberland sausage and my wife ordered the chicken curry, after enquiring what type of cuury it was we were told its curry with chicken, when the meals arrived the curry looked great but lacked taste, it was just OK for a curry, my sausage arrived with what I can only describe as a ice cream size scoop of mash all though very tasty it was very small, the sausage on the other hand was very large but lacking in Cumberland herbs and spices, we also ordered two puddings, the chocolate fudge cake and the banoffee pie but have seen better served from a Sarah Lee packet, the beers and wine were totalling £10.10p for one of each which is about £1.50 dearer than in Keswick itself.
Back to the room itself which at this point we realised was over the kitchens and until about 10pm there was loud music coming from the kitchen until service had stopped, after service had stopped that's when they start clearing and emptying bins in and out until about midnight, after all had gone quiet we turned off the TV and I tried to get to sleep unfortunately at 5 am I gave up trying to get to sleep as all night there was what I can only describe as a noise that was a cross between a dish washer filling and running and a toilet flushing every 20mins.
At 8 am we went down for breakfast to be asked before we had sat down what we would like.....we hadn't even seen what was on offer.
Overall the stay was very dissapointing even at a half price deal.
In future when we walk along the railway we will probably only have a light lunch and a drink, that's if we go again.

Reviewed by
J Howell

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horse & Farrier - A credit to Lakeland
Both my partner and I have experienced many variations of holiday breaks from washed out camping ventures to Caribbean cruises on the Queen Mary 2 staying at the Waldorf Astoria New York, and we can say our stay at the H&Farrier was no different when it comes to hospitality, professionalism and comfort. If you like walking but are limited to the challenging fells, then the old railway line in to Keswick is a lovely level walk. As MR Schwarzzanigger would say " WE WILL BE BACK "

Reviewed by
Patricia Quinn

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recharge batteries
A very relaxing stay in pleasant surroundings, will be back again.

Reviewed by
JOHN O

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food and extremely helpful staff nothing was too much trouble. Room was a bit on the small side but clean and a great location for fell walking.

Reviewed by
Eileen M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were disappointed with this place. Small room, pub with no atmosphere, over-priced average food. Issues with bill afterwards where the customer service was appalling.

Reviewed by
Lesley S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location and great food, room a little tired and quite small

Reviewed by
R K

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff , food, location was amazing. will definetly come back

Reviewed by
Danny c

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next