No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Sea Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Sea Road , South Shields, NE33 2LD
The Best Western Sea Hotel is located on the sea front at South Shields in the heart of Catherine Cookson country. The hotel is ideally located within easy reach of Sunderland and Tyneside, in addition to the A1 and A19.

All of the guest rooms are tastefully decorated with a choice of single, twin, double, four-poster and family rooms.

The Fregate Restaurant is noted for its wide variety of choice, offering English, continental and vegetarian cuisine in a stylish but comfortable setting. There are two bars providing contrasting ambience; the modern style Surfers Bar with a popular range of bar meals and the more traditional Tall Ships Cocktail Bar.

Choices of well-equipped functions rooms are available, all at the most competitive rates.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Sea Hotel, South Shields at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Memories
Having known the Sea Hotel for 40 years I decided to try it rather than a room only hotel. It worked out the same on cost but had a proper restaurant which more than compensated for the slightly tired accommodation.

Reviewed by
John K

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome stay
Customer service from the night porter bob was great would happily stay again

Reviewed by
M Russell

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A typical British seaside hotel
This hotel typifies everythign I love and dislike aobut the traditional british seaside hotel. I had a single room on the first floor, which for the money was perfectly adequate. However, the bed had a big dip in the middle, the hot water took ages to come through and was not much more than luke warm when it did, the windows rattled in the wind, but, the staff were excellent, very friendly, very helpful, and the hotel was in a great location

Reviewed by
L Stubbings

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super friendly and helpful staff
Room was v basic but fine for a short stopover

Reviewed by
Ali G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for short weekend break
Hotel nothing to look at from the outside but was ok inside, stag furniture in the room which might not be to everyone's taste. Very quiet and cracking breakfast.

Reviewed by
John B

From Longniddry, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good as ever
We have been staying at the Sea Hotel since 2004. Only once disappointed. Eveything is very good.

Reviewed by
YOLANDA W

From NOTTINGHAM, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely do it again
Had an overnight, spur of the moment stay, the staff were very friendly, accommodation was spot on. Would definitely go back again. I was made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Julie G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for an overnighter. Friendly staff. No complaints.

Reviewed by
helen c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
had quite a wait for breakfast someone lost our order but was worth waiting for
when we went to pay the bill they did not charge us for it as they said it was there fault we would of gladly payed as they were very apologetic thank you

Reviewed by
b bolton

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sea Hotel
Hotel itself is rather tired and in need of investment and freshening up but the staff were pleasant and helpful. What made it for me was the location of the hotel with easy access for a walk on the beach front (really nice) and pleasant walking distance to loads of good places to eat - especially indian food.
A very pleasant stay due to a spell of fantastic sunny weather - I was on business but the beach and weather meant I caught myself thinking about holidays (& I would consider it as a place to go based upon my stay).

Reviewed by
Tim W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next