Reviews - The Cross Keys


20 HIGH STREET Rode, Nr. Frome, Somerset, BA11 6NZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (70)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Valeria V

  • September 2015

Very beautiful and comfortable room

very beautiful and comfortable room, maybe a bit noisy because of on the beer garden.

Luckily the pub doesn't stay open until late.

  • John W

  • September 2015

Very comfy room but ready for an overhaul

Comfy bed.

Telly and kettle in the room. The basics are there. Great breakfast and good service. A very atmospheric little village. Decor, fittings and bathroom tiles ready for a make-over. This didn't spoil my stay as I was working and had enough room for the lap-top and papers.

  • J azulay

  • August 2015

Fabulous hotel in lovely village

Gorgeous hotel in a beautiful village.

Greeted with a warm & friendly welcome and was able to check in ealry. Lovely room which was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Fabulous bathroom with a nice power shower. Ate at the pub and the food was absolutley gorgeous (all three courses were delicious!!)

We were welcomed by the regulars in the pub whom were all very friendly but not in your face. All the staff were friendly and professional and made us feel very welcome. Would highly recommend staying at this lovely hotel.

  • s parry

  • July 2015

Blue room

Fantastic value for money....

A great sized room comfortable kingsized bed.,....tea coffee and some welcome biscuits...Just two small negatives....the window catch was broken and some of our milk was curdled.

  • M Thorn

  • July 2015

Stayed overnight on trip from Scotland

  • Joy M

  • July 2015

Cross Keys was a delightful place to stay

We went to Rode for a long weekend - just to get away from it all as a couple for a few days.

The Cross Keys made a lovely base from which to explore the local towns and villages in the area. Our room was lovely, and had everything you could wish for. The cooked breakfasts were really nice and consistently well-cooked every day.

  • Angela Corke

  • July 2015

Short but Excellent Stay

Very clean and comfortable.

A really pleasant country inn. Nice atmosphere. The glaze-covered well was a real surprise. Not the quietest of places to stay. We had the Blue Room, which is near to some sort of air conditioning or something, but the bed was most comfortable, and we both slept very well. Found the Cross Keys by chance, but will be returning by choice.

  • Yvonne C

  • June 2015

Two nights at the Cross Keys

Friendly, helpful staff.

Lovely old world charm. Comfortable. Well looked after. Would recommend it for a leisurely West Country break.

  • S Reddin

  • June 2015

Excellent accommodation and fantastic customer service

  • Chris B

  • June 2015

Fantastic experience

Always a worry finding somewhere nice to stay but The Cross Keys will never be one of them for anyone that stays.

Place lovely clean and soooo cheap. We had dinner, lunch and breakfast here all good and staff very helpful.