No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cross Keys

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
20 HIGH STREET Rode, Nr. Frome, Somerset, BA11 6NZ
Situated on the old Fussel's Brewery Site in the heart of Rode, this old country Inn, circa 17th century, has many lovely features to enjoy, one of which is the working Queen Victoria Golden Jubilee Clock, but more importantly the Inn has a warm, welcoming and cosy feel to it. The shower en-suite B & B rooms overlook the courtyard that leads out to the car park from which private access can be gained. The restaurant has a traditional menu and dress code informal. The two bars serve a wide range of quality beverages and are frequented by the locals who make all the guests welcome. For business guests they can commute to Bath (12 miles), Frome & Trowbidge (4.5 miles), Bradford Upon Avon (5 miles) and other local sites and for holiday guests, Longleat, Bath, Chedder Gorge and many more attractions are within easy driving distance. Frequent Bus service into Frome, Bath and Trowbridge and easy access to Park and Ride for Bath and Bristol. Please note when booking the standard twin rooms, these can be prepared as kingize doubles, just use the special request box.
Picture of The Cross Keys, Somerset at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good points Bad points
Used SAT nav to get here and duly left me outside on Yellow lines. It was dark and although there were signs saying car park to rear and direction it wasn't apparent till we asked that this was up a side street 30 -40 yds away . Anyway we checked in easily at the bar and shown politely to our double bedroom. It was huge! Not just nice ensuite but also a comfortable settee where we could sit to watch TV. It was a tastefully converted barn with old wooden beams. Rooms bore different coloured doors rather than nos. It was Sun night so we anticipated a quiet night's sleep. What we didn't expect was that walls would be so thin, thin enough to hear the TV & other sounds from the next room until about midnight. It unsettled me and I found it hard to get to sleep. We had arranged breakfast for certain time ( Though breakfast & checkout times were different in leaflet than given by word of mouth !) A bit disconcerted that seating was such that both my wife & myself given window seats both facing out. Not finding this to our liking I quickly found a chair so that I could sit opposite and talk face to face. The cooked breakfasts ordered took about 15 min to arrive so I decided to have some cereals, and when it did arrive we noticed straight away that were no baked beans . When this was pointed out we were told that they'd run out but were given extra sausage/ bacon ( though my maths couldn't identify this) Our cereals plates had been whisked away before my wife could have any or I could have 2nd helping so I had to chase up the proprieter and ask for our bowls back. He didn't however give a fruit spoon but by this time I just couldn't be bothered and finished cereals with teaspoons !


Reviewed by
B Dodd

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Jo T

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
The yellow room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. It was quiet apart from some fan noise from outside, not enough to disturb me. Food was good in traditional pub atmosphere. Excellent value.

Reviewed by
Roger Hart

From Orgedeuil, France
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Country pub with fab accomodation
Arrived late on to be welcomed by James who quickly served us much needed drink. Wonderful country pub with fab accommodation. We stayed in the Green room which was really large with settee in there. Cooked breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend you to visit even if its only for a drink or some food.

Reviewed by
Tracy Atkinson

From Little Sutton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
The bar coolers were running all night, although it was raining it was a warm evening so we started with the room window open, we had to shut it because of the coolers which were very noisy.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wiltshire gem
The room was a little tired and could and should be improved by touching up holes in the wall from removed pictures. The shower cubicle needed a deep clean on the exterior and the wall tiles are in desperate need of regrouting or cleaning.
The bed was very comfortable and the refreshment tray excellent as was the breakfast.

Reviewed by
m maynard

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sleep disturbance from machinery noise plus bedroom cleanliness and fittings unsatisfactory.
We spent 2 nights in theYellow room.Our main complaints are
1 We had a 50 minute wait from ordering breakfast to it being served. By this time we had finished our drinks and no more were offered. No apologies were given for the delay . We ordered the full breakfast and on both days items were missing.
2. Secondly there was constant noise throughout the night from what appeared to be an air conditioning unit in the bar severely disrupting sleep.
3 Thirdly in the bedroom there was a considerable amount of dust on the beams, TV and pictures and damp mould on the carpet by the wardrobe which had no doors on it.

Reviewed by
Susan Fall

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay, very homely and food is excellent

Reviewed by
m richardson

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a real find!
Quirky, comfy and fantastic value for money. Will definitely book there again!

Reviewed by
Michaela B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely place to stay.
Friendly welcome.Twin room clean, comfy and spacious. Food excellent. Lots of history and character.

Reviewed by
Ann Holliday

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next