Reviews - The Royal Hotel


Main Street, ,, Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2AE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Steven B

  • September 2015

Food not as good as previous times we have stayed here. Room OK. They dont supply bath salts anymore

The food on this stay was not good.

We wish we had eaten elsewhere. The breakfast was microwaved scrambled egg and not the usual quality we have had here in the past. It took 20 mins to cook as well!. They dont put bath salts in the rooms anymore. Not sure why. The bar has changed rooms and now is in the large dinning room. Overall not our best stay here. We have stayed here about 15 times over the last few years. We dont always eat here but if we stay again we will eat elsewhere, even breakfast. Its not worth the long wait to get less than average food. The chef was a new chef that was training we were told. I am not a chef, but I am telling you they are training him wrong. The staff need to try a bit harder to make this place as good as the other hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale, if not better. Come back Jason (one of the previous managers).

  • Val M

  • September 2015


Lovely large room, the comfiest hotel bed I've slept in, outstanding cooked breakfast and excellent customer service.

  • G Hutton

  • August 2015

What to avoid

Room 7 has the kitchen fan beneath it and is vibratingly noisy......having said that the staff went out of their way to find us other rooms when possible and reduced the price for the one night we had to spend there

  • Cliff Berry

  • July 2015

Don't stay in room 7

Staying for are anniversary, when we finally got to the room after parking the car approx 1 mile from hotel we were shown to room 7.

we might as well have pitched a tent on the hard shoulder of the m6 near Preston, it would have been a lot quieter. when we complained to the manager he told us it was the fans in the kitchen, they would be turned off at 10-30pm & on again at approx 6-30am. he offered us a discount which we refused, his attitude was so what. please beware anybody who is thinking of staying at the royal avoid room 7 like the plague unless you suffer from insomnia

  • James T

  • June 2015

The Royal Hotel

My partner and myself had a enjoyable stay here, there being a lift was a big advantage for us and was one of the reasons we chose this hotel, I can also recommend the Square bath in room 13 if you are older than 65 as it is easier to get out of than a conventional bath.

The Staff were friendly and elpful, especially Sarah for reminding me to return the room key I was walking away with.

  • Steven B

  • April 2015

Standards are slipping

We started staying here not long after it had opened after a major refurb.

The rooms were imaculate and to be honest most still are. Its just showing its age a little and the quality of the odd repair is not high standard. Plastering around lights is not very good for hotel of this kind. The staff change so much that we never ever get recognised and we stay here about 5 times a year if not more. so although we are regulars we don't feel it. We still love and hope it get back to the standard we love and know.

  • gareth s

  • April 2015

Excellant value for money, great staff

Stayed here on more then one occasion, good staff, great rooms, represents good value for money

  • d heleine

  • March 2015

The royal hotel

The hotel is lovely, the staff too just about done nearly all the double rooms.

Wonderful village and loads of good pubs.

  • John A

  • March 2015

Excellent stay

I arrived late when the restaurant was supposed to be closed.

The chef was happy to serve me with anything from the menu. All the staff were great. A first rate customer experience. Thank you.

  • Paul H

  • February 2015

Beautiful room

We stayed in room 11 and have to say it was the best hotel room we have stayed in!