You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

4

Main Street, ,, Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2AE

Price From 165.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Edwin S

  • July 2016

The Royal Hotel

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Very restful. The staff were very helpful and accommodated our wish to have our evening meals in our room, although they don't generally offer room service. The food was great - great menu, well presented and tasty. My only minor criticism is that my rare steak was not rare - more like medium. The presentation of my wife's pate starter was crude (in a couple of pots) compared to when I ordered the same dish the day before and it was missing its chutney/marmalade.

  • david w

  • March 2016

Parking a problem

once upon a time this hotel had free parking for about 8 or 9 cars , not at the momment it would have been nice if this info was on late rooms when we booked it

  • P Howden

  • March 2016

The Royal Hotel

Royal stay.

  • Steven B

  • January 2016

Better than last time we stayed

Although we thought it was better than last time we stayed here.

We did not eat here in the evening. We had bath house bath bubbles which we did not have for the last 6 stays at least. They used to supply Bath House bath salts a few years ago, then they stopped. Anyway the room was very nice and the manager explained a few things about our no so good stay the last time. I notice you never get a complimentary discount or offer if things are not quite right and its the hotels fault. The breakfast although it was better than the last time we stayed, it was not the best we have had here. I think they need to try harder, and listen to the customers comments. Then make the improvements so the hotel is a better place to stay.

  • J Szpunar

  • October 2015

Night away

Last minute booking so got small room - was very nice and had all facilities needed for 1 night.

Loved the plunge bath. Kirkby is lovely

  • Steven B

  • September 2015

Food not as good as previous times we have stayed here. Room OK. They dont supply bath salts anymore

The food on this stay was not good.

We wish we had eaten elsewhere. The breakfast was microwaved scrambled egg and not the usual quality we have had here in the past. It took 20 mins to cook as well!. They dont put bath salts in the rooms anymore. Not sure why. The bar has changed rooms and now is in the large dinning room. Overall not our best stay here. We have stayed here about 15 times over the last few years. We dont always eat here but if we stay again we will eat elsewhere, even breakfast. Its not worth the long wait to get less than average food. The chef was a new chef that was training we were told. I am not a chef, but I am telling you they are training him wrong. The staff need to try a bit harder to make this place as good as the other hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale, if not better. Come back Jason (one of the previous managers).

  • Val M

  • September 2015

Superb

Lovely large room, the comfiest hotel bed I've slept in, outstanding cooked breakfast and excellent customer service.

  • G Hutton

  • August 2015

What to avoid

Room 7 has the kitchen fan beneath it and is vibratingly noisy......having said that the staff went out of their way to find us other rooms when possible and reduced the price for the one night we had to spend there

  • Cliff Berry

  • July 2015

Don't stay in room 7

Staying for are anniversary, when we finally got to the room after parking the car approx 1 mile from hotel we were shown to room 7.

we might as well have pitched a tent on the hard shoulder of the m6 near Preston, it would have been a lot quieter. when we complained to the manager he told us it was the fans in the kitchen, they would be turned off at 10-30pm & on again at approx 6-30am. he offered us a discount which we refused, his attitude was so what. please beware anybody who is thinking of staying at the royal avoid room 7 like the plague unless you suffer from insomnia

  • James T

  • June 2015

The Royal Hotel

My partner and myself had a enjoyable stay here, there being a lift was a big advantage for us and was one of the reasons we chose this hotel, I can also recommend the Square bath in room 13 if you are older than 65 as it is easier to get out of than a conventional bath.

The Staff were friendly and elpful, especially Sarah for reminding me to return the room key I was walking away with.