No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Main Street, , , Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2AE
Welcome to the Royal Hotel, Kirkby Lonsdale, a lovingly restored Georgian town house hotel providing luxury accommodation and exceptional hospitality amidst the unspoilt English countryside of the Lake District, the Yorkshire Dales and the Forest of Bowland. Not only are we ideally placed for you to explore the fabulous countryside on our doorstep but we are the perfect place to explore the equally fabulous food and drink that these great counties have to offer. The Royal Hotel stands at the very heart of the Lake District town of Kirkby Lonsdale which is really brought to life by the individual shops, boutiques, cafes and pubs housed within. The atmosphere and ambience created is quite unique. The bar is exceptionally well stocked with real ales, thoughtfully selected wines and a career’s worth of whiskies, brandies and other more exotic spirits and liqueurs. Teas and coffees are served all day, there are newspapers and magazines for your perusal and the great big windows overlooking the square make it the perfect spot for a bit of people watching. It is widely accepted that great food requires great ingredients so we consider ourselves very fortunate to have such an abundance of passionate producers and suppliers on our doorstep. There are fourteen individually designed and decorated bedrooms at the Royal Hotel. Being an old building and arranged over three floors the rooms are far from standard shapes and sizes. In fact, no two rooms are exactly alike. We have therefore described and priced them all individually in our tariff too. All the rooms are en-suite with the very latest in bathroom indulgences and all the rooms feature flat screen TVs, telephones, iPod radios and coffee facilities.
Picture of The Royal Hotel, Kirkby Lonsdale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick get away
Our stay at the royal was very relaxing. Accommodation set in a very nice town house situated in Kirkby Lonsdale market square. Easy parking and access to the hotel. We were met with a friendly welcome and checked in with no hassle. On entering the room we found a good size bed room and en suite with every thing you would need for a short stay. Bar area / restaurant were very nice with a good selection local beers. If you don't fancy eating at the royal there is a good selection of local restaurant's / cafe's in the town. Access to the surrounding area is easy by car if you want to explore the area and there are some great walks from the town. Great place to stay for a quiet relaxing break.

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay, lovely room shame no parking

Reviewed by
JULIETTE A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 13 was fab. Lovely cotton sheets to snuggle into. Friendly staff nothing was to much trouble. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Parsley

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room. Very clean.
Good food attentive and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Edwin T

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice and pleasant hotel which needs a better stocked kitchen.
Restaurant had run out of chicken and sirloin steak and had only one fillet steak left. This restricted our choice of food quite a bit and is the reason for the low score on food. Also no muesli available at breakfast. Hotel generally very nice but the bathroom in room 13 a disappointment. The bath was about 3 feet square and very deep and impossible to sit in and extend ones legs fully.In other words as a bath a waste of time but shower very good. I do not think that we will be rushing back but if we do then it will not be room 13 and we will check that the full menu is available

Reviewed by
Geoffrey M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Weekend Away
We arrived quite late in the date and were immediately made to feel welcome. The staff were obliging and genuinely pleasing company. Breakfast was included with the room, and we spent a few evenings in the hotels restaurant. I found the food to be exceptional, a lot is home made (such as the scones) which is a very nice touch. I will gladly return in the future.

Reviewed by
Sam H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very pleasant experience.
A very comfortable hotel where we felt immediately at home thanks to the lovely staff & the general cosy ambience of the whole establishment. We were in room 13 which is one of the smallest but it certainly wasn't poky. Very comfortable bed, large tv & a bathroom with underfloor heating, the largest shower head ever & a plunge bath I could've stayed in all day! Spoilt for choices in the town on where to eat & drink, all within spitting distance of each other but finally decided on the hotel itself which didn't disappoint. Enjoyed the whole experience so much that I bought my parents vouchers for their birthdays to sample the "stay & dine" special offer. Highly recommended will definitely stay again.ps..park for free on devils bridge & walk in!

Reviewed by
lisa h

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. Food and drink available until 9:30 p.m. and although I didn't eat there on this stay I have done before and it is great, good value like the accommodation. Highly recommended if you need to stay in that part of the world.

Reviewed by
L Sutherland

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scrambled Eggs left a lot to be desired. However the staff are great- pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
David K

From Dalbeattie, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolute delight!
My wife and I stayed for just one night at this fantastic hotel and would struggle to find fault. The service was excellent, the room very comfortable and the evening meal and breakfast of a very high standard. Probably the best bit for me was the morning spent sitting in a leather arm chair by the log fire drinking coffee and reading the paper whilst my wife went shopping.

Reviewed by
T Smith

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next