No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Maritime Club

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
75-80 QUEEN STREET, PORTSMOUTH, PO1 3HS
Just a few hundred metres from Gunwharf Quays and Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, the hotel offers free Wi-Fi, comfortable en suite rooms.

The Royal Maritime Club has a superb location, just a short walk from Portsmouth Harbour Railway Station, the Spinnaker Tower and the shops, bars and restaurants of the Gunwharf Quays waterfront development. You can also explore Portsmouth’s rich naval history, with the Mary Rose, HMS Victory and HMS Warrior just a few minutes’ walk away.

All of the well-appointed en suite rooms have TVs and tea/coffee making facilities. Double and twin rooms have baths and showers.

All guests can use the hotel’s leisure facilities (some facilities are chargeable and time restrictions apply).

The hotel also offers a lunchtime cafe and a newly refurbished bar and restaurant.

Some limited free parking is available, alternative parking is available by either the car park opposite or by purchasing a temporary permit from Reception to enable parking in the surrounding residential areas.

Information: Guests are advised that from time to time functions take place in the club. On these occasions it is possible music can be heard until midnight
Picture of The Royal Maritime Club, PORTSMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very effioient 'Town Hotel' which catered for our short break needs
Very happy break, thank you. Unfortunately, we probably would not return as a visit to the Naval Dockyards is a 'one off' experience. Thanks anyway.

Reviewed by
Hugh Alsop

From Wedmore, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

life member regular visitor
by booking on line i was charged extra. not at all happy about that.

Reviewed by
donald a

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for shops
Well maintained ex Naval club. Air of grandeur in downstairs area. Rooms clean and comfortable. Within 5 minutes walk of Gunner Quay shopping and it's many eateries and good pubs. Historic shipyard with HMS Victory and the Spinnaker tourist tower all close. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
nigel s

From Newport, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine

Reviewed by
L Morton

From Crookhall Consett, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 Day Getaway
Very good hotel, friendly staff, large clean rooms, location is very good for all the attractions, would return to the hotel if in the area

Reviewed by
Martin G

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outdated
The reception area, dining rooms and ballroom all look pretty nice and it's quite obvious it's had a refurb in the last few years. However my room looked like it hadn't been touched since the 70s. Very dingy and depressing and wasn't particularly clean. Hairs and general grime spotted with a very old looking bathroom. Reminded me of the opening scene of the film Saw!
The maritime redeemed itself a bit with an excellent buffet breakfast. Lovely fried eggs as an option to usually just scrambled and nice meaty Cumberland sausages too.
Ideal location as well.
Staff throughout we're friendly and helpful, just a shame about the hotel above the ground floor!

Reviewed by
G Pennell

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Porridge very good , fried breakfast too greasy. Very interesting place to stay, was good to have a brochure in room telling it's history. Easy access to historical places and transport.

Reviewed by
Joan W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location!
The hotel is a little tired around the edges and could use a facelift, but this did not stop it being a great place to stay. The public rooms are beautiful. The guest room was large with a large bathroom, spotlessly clean with fresh white linens, though the corridors to get there are showing their age. The staff could not be more helpful. The breakfast was sumptuous with lots of choices, and the one evening meal we had was very good indeed. The location cannot be beat! A stones throw from the dockyard gates, trains, buses, ferries, shops, great pubs, and the sea front.

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Winchester, USA
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away without the kids
The only problem with the room was hot water from both taps on the bathroom sink

Reviewed by
K Kett

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had booked 3 rooms for 2 nights here. our double room was very nice and had clearly been refurbished. However, the other 2 rooms were not very nice, it has to be said. My mothers bathroom was awful, very dark and the bath was all chipped. I personally wouldn't have stayed in this room but my mum didn't want to bother packing and unpacking all her stuff. the other room was just as worn and run down. the staff were all very friendly though and the food was absolutely delicious. although the breakfast was a buffet style, the food was very freshly cooked and the standard was excellent. we also ate in the restaurant one evening and all 4 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

Reviewed by
b holland

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next