No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Maritime Club

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
75-80 QUEEN STREET, PORTSMOUTH, PO1 3HS
Just a few hundred metres from Gunwharf Quays and Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, the hotel offers free Wi-Fi, comfortable en suite rooms.

The Royal Maritime Club has a superb location, just a short walk from Portsmouth Harbour Railway Station, the Spinnaker Tower and the shops, bars and restaurants of the Gunwharf Quays waterfront development. You can also explore Portsmouth’s rich naval history, with the Mary Rose, HMS Victory and HMS Warrior just a few minutes’ walk away.

All of the well-appointed en suite rooms have TVs and tea/coffee making facilities. Double and twin rooms have baths and showers.

All guests can use the hotel’s leisure facilities (some facilities are chargeable and time restrictions apply).

The hotel also offers a lunchtime cafe and a newly refurbished bar and restaurant.

Some limited free parking is available, alternative parking is available by either the car park opposite or by purchasing a temporary permit from Reception to enable parking in the surrounding residential areas.

Information: Guests are advised that from time to time functions take place in the club. On these occasions it is possible music can be heard until midnight
Picture of The Royal Maritime Club, PORTSMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 100 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly good
Travelling alone for work, I was really surprised at how nice this accommodation was. Super clean room, superb bathroom and really lovely staff. Restaurant was good basic food - nothing fancy but nice nontheless. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
We stayed one night at the Royal Maritime Club. The staff were,without exception, friendly and helpful offering service with a smile from the moment we checked in until we left the following morning. The breakfast was superb - I rarely eat cooked breakfasts in hotels but this was too tempting with the food being brought to the servery in smaller portions allowing it to be fresh for most patrons. The bed was extremely comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. Our only issue was with the temperature in the room - there was no heating on but it was very hot, despite leaving the window open from the time we arrived. For this reason we would hesitate to use the Club again - except in the Winter months! It is in a great location if you are visiting the Historic Dockyards but within walking distance of restaurants if you wish to dine out. Special thanks to Chris on reception who was so helpful in ensuring we had a comfortable stay (in a room with a bath).

Reviewed by
Pamela B

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dining in - only once!
I had occasion to eat in the restaurant which I had used many times previously and found it reasonable. This time however the food was not up to standard and I left very disappointed. Poorly cooked and very bland. Will not eat in house again.

Reviewed by
Harry S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite the best deal to be had
Fabulous stay. Great staff who are always happy to help. Room decor was getting a little tired but that was the only fault I can think of.

Reviewed by
Francis Fitzgibbon

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I arrived at 2 after midnight. At chick out time i was extreamly tired so i ask the reception to leave me for a while as i felt serious headache. I thought they will offer me a late chick out. Instead they keep knoking my door for about 5 times asking me to leave the room. I beleive if they allow me some peace i wouldnt take that long, as i was jumping from bed each time they knok to tell them i am tired give me some time before i leave!!!!!

Reviewed by
Wafa B

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was ok
The hotel was ok clean but in need of some updating. Tv in the bedroom could've been bigger. Didn't like the smell in the room when you first went in. Smell like aniseed might of been an air freshener but was a bit overpowering. Hotel was in good reach of railway station and the shops. nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
N Rogers

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a good experience
Staff were friendly and helpful room was a little dated but clean and spacious

Reviewed by
Cheryl H

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of my favourite hotels.
We had a lovely stay at the Maritime hotel. The staff were really nice. I slept better than I have ever done in a hotel. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice. We liked it so much we have booked another stay in October!

Reviewed by
Ann S

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City stay
All ok parts of hotel need updating

Reviewed by
Pauline Hunt

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay. the accommodation was good and the staff were good

Reviewed by
T Power

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next