No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Maritime Club

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
75-80 QUEEN STREET, PORTSMOUTH, PO1 3HS
Just a few hundred metres from Gunwharf Quays and Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, the hotel offers free Wi-Fi, comfortable en suite rooms.

The Royal Maritime Club has a superb location, just a short walk from Portsmouth Harbour Railway Station, the Spinnaker Tower and the shops, bars and restaurants of the Gunwharf Quays waterfront development. You can also explore Portsmouth’s rich naval history, with the Mary Rose, HMS Victory and HMS Warrior just a few minutes’ walk away.

All of the well-appointed en suite rooms have TVs and tea/coffee making facilities. Double and twin rooms have baths and showers.

All guests can use the hotel’s leisure facilities (some facilities are chargeable and time restrictions apply).

The hotel also offers a lunchtime cafe and a newly refurbished bar and restaurant.

Some limited free parking is available, alternative parking is available by either the car park opposite or by purchasing a temporary permit from Reception to enable parking in the surrounding residential areas.

Information: Guests are advised that from time to time functions take place in the club. On these occasions it is possible music can be heard until midnight
Picture of The Royal Maritime Club, PORTSMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 105 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but stuck in a time warp!!
Great location but was very embarrassed showing 5 of my friends what I had spent their money on. The rooms were so old fashioned and the bathroom to one of the 3 rooms was shocking!! Will definitely pay the extra and find a different hotel next time.

Reviewed by
helen b

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We had a very enjoyable stay here. The accommodation was excellent, breakfast substantial. Very close to the Dockyard and Gunwharf Quay. Very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Jennifer Cooper

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit of a mistake
i used late roomsand should have looked more closely perhaps as I was looking for spa style accomadation and got it wrong.

Reviewed by
Terri G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location for shopping and nightlife
This hotel is situated in a perfect location. Our room seemed as it had been recently refurbished.
Staff could have been a little friendlier on reception, and in the restaurant at breakfast.
I would stay here again and recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Tricia L

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very warm welcome and excellent customer service. the room was spacious and clean with all facilities

Reviewed by
meir t

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3F Messmates reunion
Brilliant location for a reunion. Very noisy in the bar if another big reunion taking place. The room seemed tired and in a bit of a rabbit warren to get to. The whole place seemed outdated and tired but the staff were friendly and helpful. I felt it was overpriced in comparison to other hotels in the area. It's location was ideal for the Royal Naval dockyard.

Reviewed by
Leonard D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just as good on 2nd visit
This was my second time at the hotel, great location and value for money, very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Claire J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Details
Shower is pathetic despite the room being new.
No heating on the whole floor.
Three mentions re the heating to reception but whole night without heating.

Reviewed by
Alex P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly good
Travelling alone for work, I was really surprised at how nice this accommodation was. Super clean room, superb bathroom and really lovely staff. Restaurant was good basic food - nothing fancy but nice nontheless. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
We stayed one night at the Royal Maritime Club. The staff were,without exception, friendly and helpful offering service with a smile from the moment we checked in until we left the following morning. The breakfast was superb - I rarely eat cooked breakfasts in hotels but this was too tempting with the food being brought to the servery in smaller portions allowing it to be fresh for most patrons. The bed was extremely comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. Our only issue was with the temperature in the room - there was no heating on but it was very hot, despite leaving the window open from the time we arrived. For this reason we would hesitate to use the Club again - except in the Winter months! It is in a great location if you are visiting the Historic Dockyards but within walking distance of restaurants if you wish to dine out. Special thanks to Chris on reception who was so helpful in ensuring we had a comfortable stay (in a room with a bath).

Reviewed by
Pamela B

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next