No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Green, Long Whatton, , Loughborough, LE12 5DB
The Royal Oak is situated in the picturesque village of Long Whatton, Leicestershire with close proximity to East Midlands Airport, Donington Race Circuit and the university town of Loughborough. The gastro pub offers diners good quality home produced food with a strong emphasis on using fresh locally sourced produce. The pub serves great real ales including St. Austell Tribute, Bass, Timothy Taylor Landlord and regular guest beers. A carefully selected wine list and a range of other draft beers make it a great venue for meeting friends for a drink. Recent awards include AA 4 star gold for the bedrooms, a rosette for culinary excellence, an egg cup award for outstanding breakfast and CAMRA most improved pub. The guest bedrooms benefit from being in a separate building and have been recently furnished to a very high standard. Each of the spacious en-suite bedrooms is comfortable and stylish with all the facilities a discerning traveller would expect for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The perfect place for business travellers or leisure seekers, The Royal Oak is the ideal place to eat, drink and sleep. PRICE INCLUDES AWARD WINNING BREAKFAST
Picture of The Royal Oak, Loughborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in room 5 (Superior Double with bath) and was very pleased with the size of the room and the facilities, the bath was a lovely surprise too as it was a spa bath! Only downside to the room that there was no blind fitted on the bathroom window, although frosted we still felt a little exposed as it faced the car park.
The bar/restaurant was very welcoming and the staff were really helpful. Would stay there again if we were to find ourselves in that area.

Reviewed by
C Foulkes

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay. Friendly and helpful staff, well appointed room.

Reviewed by
Ray Burgess

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value. Worth a visit because you will not be disappointed
Just an overnight stay. Excellent accomodation.
Minor points I know, but the bed was far too soft for us and we could have done with a summer quilt.
Excellent breakfast.
The evening meals looked superb but unfortunately we forgot to book, so would recoomend to book if you intend to eat dinner there

Reviewed by
Tony P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fantastic place to stay!
This is a great place to stay and eat. Stayed one night as my son was graduating from Loughborough Uni and had an early start. We had eaten here before some months prior and found the amazing restaurant - brilliant food and service. I booked two rooms, one for parents, one for son and both rooms were superb; beautifully clean, smart, great ensuites (one wet room style, the other spacious shower ensuite). We had booked in a party of 17 for lunch and everyone was very impressed with the efficiency and standard of care and friendly service and fantastic food and wine. It made for an added fantastic celebratory event for my son and his graduating housemates and all the families. I cannot recommend the Royal Oak more highly; Excellent pre-communication, and it is well serviced by great, efficient and friendly helpful staff, everything is ideal for a great stay in a beautiful little gem of a place. Breakfast was amazing; lots to choose from and beautifully cooked. Will definitely be booking again.

Reviewed by
Brenda J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
A really lovely one-night getaway. The standard of the room was excellent and the food outstanding. Three well-cellared real ales were also on offer.

Reviewed by
Steven F

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little oasis in the countryside :)
We booked a room at The Royal Oak in the middle of a long 6 hour drive home and WOW we fell in love with it instantly, its set in a quaint little village in the countryside but with easy access to the motorway. The pub is gorgeous and very welcoming, fab food - my husband is a chef and was really impressed, staff really friendly and accommodating, the rooms are lovely with the biggest bed I've ever seen! Walk in shower and toiletries, plus a fridge with complimentary water and free wifi. Amazing value for money and we've already planned to stay again, book it now I guarantee you won't be
disappointed :)

Reviewed by
Louise W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Download weekend
Excellent place to stay, staff really polite and helpful, great breakfast , can't fault the place.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer focus from the team
I was late to arrive and found the kitchen very accommodating. In the morning they were equally helpful when local transport was required. Highly recommended because the accommodation was just what I expected!

Reviewed by
Jason Cobine

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Welcome Inn
Stayed at this hotel as we were visiting WSB meeting at Donington. superb location for easy access to the circuit. Hotel and accommodation were first class. Food was very good, we had both evening meal and breakfast the next day, would highly recommend. The only downside was that we could hear the television in the next room, do not think there was any sound proofing between rooms. Also the exterior doors did not have a soft close, hence people were just letting them slam shut. Not good at 11.30pm!

Reviewed by
Susan R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
I've stayed before I'll stay again-food is lovely. But book a table it gets busy

Reviewed by
Simon H

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next