No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mill Forge Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Kirkpatrick Fleming Lockerbie, Gretna Green, DG11 3BQ
This delightful family-run hotel is nestled amidst the rolling South Scotland countryside, minutes from the M74 and near to Carlisle it offers great food, free parking and a thoroughly warm welcome.

Located on the outskirts of romantic Gretna Green, the Mill Forge is a quaint complex of historic Grade-B listed buildings dating back to the 1700’s. A popular wedding venue, it is renowned for its tranquil surroundings and friendly service.

Within the beautiful landscaped grounds and sited around three attractive courtyards are 33 comfortable en-suite guestrooms.

Specialising in a tantalising range of traditional British cuisine, the Restaurant has something to suit all tastes whilst the well-stocked Conservatory Bar is the ideal place to unwind and enjoy a drink.

Situated just north of the Scotland England border it is the perfect base from which to explore the area’s many attractions including the Lake District, Hadrian’s Wall, Solway Coast, Carlisle Castle and Tullie House.
Picture of Mill Forge Hotel , Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy Neighbourgs
The room was spotless and clean, very well provisioned and comfortable. The only downside was the noisy guests coming in late at night. The walls are very thin so any noise travelles. As they returned after midnight they woke the rooms on both sides.

Reviewed by
E Munday

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing, staff amazing very helpful and friendly the owners should be very proud of the staff and their facilities. have already recommended to many friends and work colleagues

Reviewed by
L richardson

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great wedding venue
The room was of a good size and standard well laid out ,bar staff are very hepful as was the reception staff .I would say that the breakfast staff should greet you with a good morning and have less of a staff gathering in the corner

Reviewed by
GILBERT GRAY

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

anniversary stay
Had a lovely time,staff where very pleasant. The only negative I would have that the room was lovely but couldn't sleep due to the bed frame being old and should have been replaced as I know there has been another complaint.

Reviewed by
c coutts

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding guests with toddler.
Large family friendly rooms with friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Excellent access to motorway, just a shame about the traffic noise (can't be heard when indoors with winsows closed). A little isolated for my taste.

Reviewed by
Lee C

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good wedding venue
The hotel is very functional and had everything we needed, however we were surprised to find ourselves having a drink in the bar amongst a wedding party. We felt out of place, as if we didn't belong, and very under dressed. Breakfast being served only between 8 and 9 gives you a very short window, and subsequently the breakfast room was packed. We stood waiting to be shown to a table but was ignored for several minutes, eventually seating ourselves. I would strongly recommend extending the breakfast time by an hour, in line with most other hotels we've stayed at.

Reviewed by
D Joyce

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfull stay
What a fantastic hotel... The food, rooms, hotel, atmosphere and staff great. loved it. we will be going again..

Reviewed by
Adele B

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff in breakfast but they had to cope with a lot of people

Reviewed by
emyr Roberts

From llysfaen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but clean and functional
Stayed here for 1 night and the room was basic but clean and functional. The staff were friendly and service was good.

Reviewed by
Rob G

From Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole an excellent weekend stay for a family wedding. The room was good but the thing that let it down for us was the uncomfortable bed (very hard mattress) which I know is a personal thing. Staff very welcoming and helpful in all parts of the hotel and would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Sharon G

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next