No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mill Forge Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Kirkpatrick Fleming Lockerbie, Gretna Green, DG11 3BQ
This delightful family-run hotel is nestled amidst the rolling South Scotland countryside, minutes from the M74 and near to Carlisle it offers great food, free parking and a thoroughly warm welcome.

Located on the outskirts of romantic Gretna Green, the Mill Forge is a quaint complex of historic Grade-B listed buildings dating back to the 1700’s. A popular wedding venue, it is renowned for its tranquil surroundings and friendly service.

Within the beautiful landscaped grounds and sited around three attractive courtyards are 33 comfortable en-suite guestrooms.

Specialising in a tantalising range of traditional British cuisine, the Restaurant has something to suit all tastes whilst the well-stocked Conservatory Bar is the ideal place to unwind and enjoy a drink.

Situated just north of the Scotland England border it is the perfect base from which to explore the area’s many attractions including the Lake District, Hadrian’s Wall, Solway Coast, Carlisle Castle and Tullie House.
Picture of Mill Forge Hotel , Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

anniversary stay
Had a lovely time,staff where very pleasant. The only negative I would have that the room was lovely but couldn't sleep due to the bed frame being old and should have been replaced as I know there has been another complaint.

Reviewed by
c coutts

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good wedding venue
The hotel is very functional and had everything we needed, however we were surprised to find ourselves having a drink in the bar amongst a wedding party. We felt out of place, as if we didn't belong, and very under dressed. Breakfast being served only between 8 and 9 gives you a very short window, and subsequently the breakfast room was packed. We stood waiting to be shown to a table but was ignored for several minutes, eventually seating ourselves. I would strongly recommend extending the breakfast time by an hour, in line with most other hotels we've stayed at.

Reviewed by
D Joyce

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfull stay
What a fantastic hotel... The food, rooms, hotel, atmosphere and staff great. loved it. we will be going again..

Reviewed by
Adele B

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff in breakfast but they had to cope with a lot of people

Reviewed by
emyr Roberts

From llysfaen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole an excellent weekend stay for a family wedding. The room was good but the thing that let it down for us was the uncomfortable bed (very hard mattress) which I know is a personal thing. Staff very welcoming and helpful in all parts of the hotel and would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Sharon G

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one couple & there dog.
a perfect location, perfect staff, perfect room, perfect price, perfect breakfast with proper personal service not like the self - service horrible pre-cooked rubbish that is served up in the big hotel chains these days, peaceful, dog friendly & safe. Could not fault this wnderful place, must be ideal for couples getting married here, but if not, everyone should have this hotel on their 'must do' list to try the experience at least once in their lives.

Reviewed by
christopher toynton

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing atmosphere
Enjoyed our stay and very handy being just of the motorway, boys enjoyed the breakfast

Reviewed by
M Graham

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Lovely staff, good food and excellent value for money from the specials menu. Only downside was it was very noisy with the wedding parties so we ate and went back to our room rather than stay in the bar. Lovely setting and easy access from the motorway.

Reviewed by
K Slater

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent inexpensive accommodation, handy for stop off motorway and Gretna Mall. Hotel setting good and access good. Excellent breakfast and meals. Would recommend - even if just for shopping trip.

Reviewed by
Alex W

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room lovely and clean shower cubicle huge!!! Meals good value and delicious. Breakfast fab would definitely stay here again . Also must give the staff a mention so friendly especially Tracy

Reviewed by
paul parker

From troon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next