No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mill Forge Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Kirkpatrick Fleming Lockerbie, Gretna Green, DG11 3BQ
This delightful family-run hotel is nestled amidst the rolling South Scotland countryside, minutes from the M74 and near to Carlisle it offers great food, free parking and a thoroughly warm welcome.

Located on the outskirts of romantic Gretna Green, the Mill Forge is a quaint complex of historic Grade-B listed buildings dating back to the 1700’s. A popular wedding venue, it is renowned for its tranquil surroundings and friendly service.

Within the beautiful landscaped grounds and sited around three attractive courtyards are 33 comfortable en-suite guestrooms.

Specialising in a tantalising range of traditional British cuisine, the Restaurant has something to suit all tastes whilst the well-stocked Conservatory Bar is the ideal place to unwind and enjoy a drink.

Situated just north of the Scotland England border it is the perfect base from which to explore the area’s many attractions including the Lake District, Hadrian’s Wall, Solway Coast, Carlisle Castle and Tullie House.
Picture of Mill Forge Hotel , Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Lovely staff, good food and excellent value for money from the specials menu. Only downside was it was very noisy with the wedding parties so we ate and went back to our room rather than stay in the bar. Lovely setting and easy access from the motorway.

Reviewed by
K Slater

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shopping for a wedding
the clenliness and service at this hotel was excellent would defenitely recommend to family and friends

Reviewed by
Carole S

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent inexpensive accommodation, handy for stop off motorway and Gretna Mall. Hotel setting good and access good. Excellent breakfast and meals. Would recommend - even if just for shopping trip.

Reviewed by
Alex W

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room lovely and clean shower cubicle huge!!! Meals good value and delicious. Breakfast fab would definitely stay here again . Also must give the staff a mention so friendly especially Tracy

Reviewed by
paul parker

From troon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
We stayed here on Friday 4 July 2014 and would recommend this hotel to anyone asking for somewhere to stay. The receptionist was extremely cheerful creating a great impression on arrival. The rooms were spotless. We went into the bar/restaurant and again the staff were very friendly and the food was great. The following morning breakfast was again served by cheerful staff and was excellent.

Reviewed by
Jan F

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel with a difference
Exactly what we wanted for our overnight stay and so impressive that we'd go again and stay longer. Rooms were really good and really quiet because of the hotel layout. No corridor noise; no footfall from above.

Reviewed by
neil d

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the job
Great welcome at reception, good sized room, bar meals are good and excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
I Taylor

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great in Gretna
Lovely courtyard rooms, great food and first class customer service at a very reasonable price. Can't fault it

Reviewed by
S Williams

From Doune, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room in a lovely setting - very 'country' with sheep in the paddock outside of the window.
Only complaint was that the room was very hot & stuffy. I know there is not too much need for cooling in the UK but it was a very warm June night. Unable to open window as bugs flew in. Maybe some ceiling fans could be installed.

Reviewed by
tracey w

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy access from M6/M74
Ideal 'motel' style accommodation just off the M6/M74 main road. Obviously handles a lot of weddings too. Good hotel for what I needed, just an overnight stay on a journey from Scotland.

Reviewed by
chris P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next