No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kingslodge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
WADDINGTON STREET , DURHAM, DH14BG
Welcome to Kingslodge, Durham's hidden Gem, situated on the edge of Flass Vale, itself a unique and protected area of woodland at the heart of the City.

The Hotel is within walking distance of the main line Railway Station, the World Heritage Site of the Castle and the Cathedral and the principal shopping areas.

Ample free parking is available to our guests who can therefore have the freedom to explore the delights of Durham on foot.

We can provide everything from a quiet drink in the Bar with its genuine Pub atmosphere, pre-dinner sophistication in the Champagne and Oyster Bar, elegant Dining in Finbarr's Restaurant and Accommodation of the highest quality.

Underpinning all of these facilities is our deserved and cherished reputation for Friendliness and Efficiency.
Picture of The Kingslodge Hotel, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The entire stay was agreeable, but the sound carries between the rooms and we were woken several times during the night by the amourous couple in the next room. We were not the only people disturb by these people!

Reviewed by
nikki c

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable, conveniently located, free parking.
Two minor issues: noisy air conditioning, & breakfast OK but too expensive at £9.50

Reviewed by
Eileen K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service as ever

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some of the common areas & our bedroom could have done with new carpets & a lick of paint. The staff were friendly, polite & helpful. Breakfasts were first-class - the food was freshly cooked & the service was attentive. Within walking distance of cathedral & university, but be prepared foe a climb - Durham is hilly.

Reviewed by
P King

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good location, once found - convenient for the city and for a 'country' walk.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
We enjoyed our stay at Kingslodge, we found the staff very friendly and the rooms where clean and cosy. The lounge was very comfortable with tea, coffee and biscuits available. The bar staff were very friendly and it was very comfortable to sit and unwind in the evening.
We stayed room only because we thought the breakfasts were a bit pricey but only a few minutes walk away there were cafes and a Weather spoons pub.
It is ideally situated in a quiet road, (although there was a building sight next to the hotel at the time we stayed in April 2014), with only a 10 minute walk into the center.

Reviewed by
L Briggs

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy if a little a dated
just stayed one night, didnt use the bar or restaurant but the place had a nice old country hotel feel to it. nothing too flash but that was fine.

Reviewed by
james b

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kingslodge
Very pleasant stay. Very clean, quiet and VERY comfortable bed. Single room, not poky at all. Mirror in bathroom in room 5 a little too high for me to see myself in! I am 5ft 2in. Great breakfast, very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Will stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sheila Henderson

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decor
Although a little tired, a very comfortable hotel, excellent staff and good breakfast!

Reviewed by
Margaret R

From Corbridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quality hotel ideal for the city
An hotel within easy walking distance from the rail station.
Also good for exploring the city.
Rooms well appointed, quality restaurant and staff.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next