No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kingslodge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
WADDINGTON STREET , DURHAM, DH14BG
Welcome to Kingslodge, Durham's hidden Gem, situated on the edge of Flass Vale, itself a unique and protected area of woodland at the heart of the City.

The Hotel is within walking distance of the main line Railway Station, the World Heritage Site of the Castle and the Cathedral and the principal shopping areas.

Ample free parking is available to our guests who can therefore have the freedom to explore the delights of Durham on foot.

We can provide everything from a quiet drink in the Bar with its genuine Pub atmosphere, pre-dinner sophistication in the Champagne and Oyster Bar, elegant Dining in Finbarr's Restaurant and Accommodation of the highest quality.

Underpinning all of these facilities is our deserved and cherished reputation for Friendliness and Efficiency.
Picture of The Kingslodge Hotel, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel ideally situated - 10 minutes walk into centre of Durham. Our room was small which did not allow a centre coffee table - however it was clean, bright and perfectly adequate. Had dinner our first night in the restaurant of the Hotel - Finbars which was excellent. The breakfasts had a limited choice of either Full English or Continental. Would have been nice to see Kippers or Haddock as an alternative

Reviewed by
Keith W

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Building site next door, noise from 8am to 5pm, no soundproofing.
Despite no warning on their website this hotel is currently located next to a building site. When we advised reception we were advised that we should have filled in a feedback form in the room and that we should have also checked reviews on trip advisor? Think a little warning to set expectations and a bit of customer service would have gone a long way. Nice clean hotel with small but reasonable rooms. I know they can't do anything about the development but they can manage their customers and website.

Reviewed by
Simon H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in a convenient position. Very pleasant garden for a city hotel - had the feel of being in the country. The staff were very helpful when we mentioned our shower was smelling and sorted it out for us. The room was comfortable and had a portable air conditioner which was appreciated due to the hot weather. We would use this hotel again. Good tapas in the pub just down the road. The hotel restaurant looked very nice for a more formal meal.

Reviewed by
DAVID S

From Hebden Bridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Late rooms very professional,reminder details sent & map. Hotel very clean & comfortable. Finbars fabulous .

Reviewed by
A Lloyd

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kingslodge stay
The hotel is relatively close to the train station and city centre.Hotel is comfortable in a fairly quiet setting with a nice garden to the front..I can highky recommend the restaurant which is called Finbars.

Reviewed by
stewart craig

From NORTHWICH, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

train noise
you could hear the trains as you are close to the viaduct but you get used to it, lots of noise from the building site next door but this should finish soon

Reviewed by
Duncan Pentland

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel, food, and staff brill
room No 13 very noisy will go again. beautiful hotel and place. 10/10

Reviewed by
P Binks

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The entire stay was agreeable, but the sound carries between the rooms and we were woken several times during the night by the amourous couple in the next room. We were not the only people disturb by these people!

Reviewed by
nikki c

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable, conveniently located, free parking.
Two minor issues: noisy air conditioning, & breakfast OK but too expensive at £9.50

Reviewed by
Eileen K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service as ever

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next