No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Blackwell Grange , Darlington, DL3 8QH
Blackwell Grange Hotel is a beautiful 17th century mansion set in 15 acres of its own wooded parklands of the County Durham countryside. just on the outskirts of Darlington. The historic city of Durham and Middlesbrough are both on the doorstep and Newcastle is just a short drive away. The A1(M) is less than ten minutes from the hotel, with Darlington rail station just a mile away and Teeside International Airport is nearby.

Free car parking and complimentary wi-fi is offered to all guests. The hotel's leisure facilities include a heated indoor pool, spa, solarium and saunas - and Blackwell Grange and Stressholme Golf courses are right on the doorstep. Dine at Havelock Restaurant or in Captain Cooks Bar, which offers stunning views over the grounds and golf course - this really is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure.

There is plenty to do in the area with the breath taking Yorkshire Moors, Beamish Open Air Museum, Shildon Railway Museum, Durham Cathedral and the Hartlepool Historic Quay all within easy reach.

The hotel has a choice of 5 meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates.

Picture of Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting relatives
Having organised to visit relatives, and of staying at other hotels in area previously we thought that we would give this a go. We booked the room only package so cannot comment on the food.
On arrival at about 6.30 the reception was very busy with a bus tour checking in. Registering was very well organised though, we found our room down a long corridor and all seemed fine. We found that the small television mounted on the wall was difficult to use, it would have been good to have some instructions in the welcome pack. During the evening and night however it was very warm, I think that the heating must be on all the time. Having opened the window fully we still found the room stuffy and hot. Not a good nights sleep at all. I think that we will not be returing in the near future.

Reviewed by
Neal H

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel

Reviewed by
L Thornhill

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just what we were looking for
The only slight problem was the heating being on all night, other than that couldn't fault it.

Reviewed by
Jane D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
Lovely weekend in September. Reception/ check in helpful staff and straight forward. Large pleasant room, bed could have done with being softer. Evening meal very good, but slow service

Reviewed by
g minns

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
The room was fairly basic and a bit dated, certainly nothing like the grand rooms in the pictures, but for £65, it wasn't bad. Food was nice, if a little slow in arriving.

Reviewed by
B Watson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Stay but some issues
We arrived at the hotel around 10pm after travelling from Scotland. We were given our key and asked if we wanted breakfast in the morning. We were not told any more information, such as the complimentary wifi password, where the free leisure features were or even what time we checked out after our weekend away. The next day I asked for the wifi password, which was given to me for only 24 hours, even though I was staying for 3 nights. Also only one password was valid per device. Which meant the next day we had to ask again. This time however we asked how many wifi passwords were required, and 120 hours was added.
The room was pleasant, although there were some stains on the carpet and upholstery, as well as dusty surfaces.I was also disappointed that there was no air conditioning, although a table fan was supplied. The bathroom had a dripping tap which got quite annoying when the room was silent. The hotel was beautiful from the outside, but I think the rooms could be doing with a re-vamp.
I would stay here again, but I expected more for what I paid, I've seen better rooms at the premier inn for cheaper prices.

Reviewed by
Emma M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab restaurant...poor accommodation!
The communal areas here are beautiful with fantastic eye catching fireplaces and grand staircase! The bars and restaurant were great. Food was Devine. However, in the seating areas there lacked the finishing touches which would have given it an opulent feel! Something as simple as a couple of plump cushions would have made all the difference. The bedroom was a total let down with nothing luxurious about it.. Considering it was a romantic break we were on, left feeling deflated!

Reviewed by
G Martin

From Stockton on tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Stay Corporate Account
The room was very dusty and dated. The shower and sink seemed blocked water drainage very slow.
Very hot inside room and uncomfortable as no aircon. The maids did not vacuum room everyday during my stay. They did not replenish with new bathroom toiletries everyday. Carpets very dusty and stain marks everywhere.

Reviewed by
SHEIKH ALIM

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Stay Corporate Account
The room was very dusty and dated. The shower and sink seemed blocked water drainage very slow.
Very hot inside room and uncomfortable as no aircon. The maids did not vacuum room everyday during my stay. They did not replenish with new bathroom toiletries everyday. Carpets very dusty and stain marks everywhere.

Reviewed by
SHEIKH ALIM

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff to busy chatting to each other
pity the staff could not smile or be more helpful
they were to busy chatting to each other ,
had to ask 3 time for some one to come to the bar !
we wont be back .

Reviewed by
imelda n

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next