Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North East England > Tyne and Wear > South Tyneside > Washington Hotels > Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Stone Cellar Road, High Usworth Newcastle Upon Tyne, Washington, NE37 1PH
This hotel has its own 18-hole championship golf course, a gym and an indoor swimming pool. Easy access to nearby cities of Newcastle, Sunderland,and Durham.Also nearby the famous Metro Centre shopping Mall, and Beamish Open Air Museum.The hotel has recently received a £9million investment with the majority of the 103 bedrooms completely refurbished, a newly renovated restaurant, bar and brasserie area, new golf clubhouse and beauty salon.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa, Washington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service!
I arrived late, so just wanted some room service rather than going down to the restaurant. My food was delivered very promptly, piping hot and of a fantastic quality, could not be faulted.
All of the staff I met were really friendly and as this is a golf course, it's a peaceful place to stay.

Reviewed by
Leon W

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stop in NE England
The GW is THE place to stay in the northeast

Reviewed by
K D

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
This is a good hotel with a really good golf course.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 1
Room 1 is noisy all night at it is above the bar/dining room and gets all the extractor fan noise droning all night. Horrendous night sleep. Came back to our room later on Saturday night and no hot or cold water in shower,sink or flush on toilet. Hotel full so no other room available - had to use 'general' toilet facilities in night! Next morning no apology or real explanation given by hotel staff and these rooms are not cheap!

Reviewed by
John N

From Pershore, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed results
Initially we were given a double bed room in the same general vicinity as wedding party guests (only 6/10 for this, but we appreciate that this was because the room was less of a walk), and the room above was creating a lot of noise as they had invited other guests in. We requested an alternative and were given a different room immediately (10/10 for prompt action). Unfortunately the alternative room had twin beds (3/10 for not thinking this through) and we informed the front desk. Hotel manager appeared promptly and put us in the next room which had a double bed, so 10/10 for swift action. We understand the hotel is designed for travelling sales/ golfing/wedding guests, and was not really suitable for our stay, costs of a stay are too high for the level of accommodation, which is basic, but we would recommend it to people who are overnighting on a company credit card. please note that the bar seating area is too small. Some serious consideration must be given to doubling its seating capacity. We went for a pre-dinner drink, but had to leave as there was no seating and we drove into Concorde . Some hotel fixtures and fittings need to be repaired (metal signage on doors was broken or hanging).

Reviewed by
malcolm m

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent 3 star hotel

Reviewed by
Mike O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

10/10
We booked the night before. Excellent customer service on arrival and throughout our stay. Great facilities. Clean and loads of space in room. Bar and restaurant were ideal. Great location and only a short taxi drive to town. Really enjoyed our stay will be booking again.

Reviewed by
A Walker

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George Washington liesure & Spa
Great place to stay, thank you.

Reviewed by
SIMON CLIFFORD

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, looking to stay again in June
Good, generally clean and tidy. Odd gym set up with no AC so a little bit heavy on the nose, sauna bench could do with a bit of a refurb.. Evening meal good, breakfast has full range available cooked breakfast dried out under hot plate.

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Easy to get to from the A1 , quiet location , helpful , friendly staff , refurbished room good with lovely bed and bedding , good free wi-fi so easy to work there, room service efficient and fair price ..the downsides ........I like to book a hotel with a pool and this one was tiny and you had to walk through the gym to get to it . It does have a jacuzzi , steam room and sauna . My room (244) was a long , long way away with many sets of 6 stairs en route . With an overnight case , handbag and heavy laptop case it was hard work and no offer to help me get my stuff there .

Reviewed by
A Richards

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next