Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North East England > Tyne and Wear > South Tyneside > Washington Hotels > Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Stone Cellar Road, High Usworth Newcastle Upon Tyne, Washington, NE37 1PH
This hotel has its own 18-hole championship golf course, a gym and an indoor swimming pool. Easy access to nearby cities of Newcastle, Sunderland,and Durham.Also nearby the famous Metro Centre shopping Mall, and Beamish Open Air Museum.The hotel has recently received a £9million investment with the majority of the 103 bedrooms completely refurbished, a newly renovated restaurant, bar and brasserie area, new golf clubhouse and beauty salon.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa, Washington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff need a bit of customer service training
Overall a good stay, but the experience spoiled by two issues with the staff. Went down to the bar at about 8 to grab a bite to eat and a beer in the bar - was told very bluntly that food wasn't served after 6.30 unless it was in a rather formal dining rool, costing much more that I wanted to spend to eat on my own. Also checking out took 20 miutes as the receptionist "can't find your booking", odd really as they did the previous night and even took a credit card swipe. Finally had to re-check in again and they obviously didn't know what to charge me and then tried to add on someones else's £30+ for a bar tab, when I told her it wasn't mine I was told "I didn't think it was"! Real shame that these two staff issues occurred. Hotel was clean and comfortable with a well equipped gym so no other complaints.

Reviewed by
Simon K

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not VFM money better spent elsewhere
Hotel was tired and requires refurbishment. Drinks expensive and bar closed at 10.45 on a Fri night. Breakfast expensive at £10pp. Food was dry and was cleared 5mins after we entered. Spa and Fitness facilities good but access to pool through gym? Spa treatments made stay worthwhile as you would be better booking a travel lodge for the cost. Dirty breakfast plates from room service in the hallways at 1pm. Dinner price good at £30 for 3 courses but quality poor. Overall disappointing for the amount of money we paid. Would not recommend & will not be going back.

Reviewed by
P Farthing

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rooms
The rooms were fantastic, beds were large & comfortable. Only 1 problem during the saturday night when a reveller from a hen party was creating a noise in the corridor. apart from that excellent.

Reviewed by
Lilian H

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noise
I was in room 1 so was next to stair well and 2 don't which was very noisy I think the room would benefit from some sound proofing

Reviewed by
S DEAN

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean hotel, but food and drinks very expensive
Good clean hotel, but food and drinks very expensive

Reviewed by
A Harwood

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of stags, hen's and rugby players
I booked a twin room as I was staying with my mum, we got a king. When we asked to changethey said it was their fault but if they moved us it could only be to a double.
We were in a room with an adjoining door to a very noisy couple. I got little sleep having to share a bedwith my mum and then could hear the full conversation of the couple next door as they woke at 7.30am.
We tried to talk to someone at reception on our way to breakfast but found no one was around. We alsoskipped breakfast as we just wanted to leave but then had to wait as the money was returned to us as the hotel had charged us fir breakfast anyway.

Reviewed by
L Crawford

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 day stay
We always enjoy our stops- albeit just using it as a base.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff, rooms very clean, warm and comfortable as well as spacious.

Reviewed by
V Mawer

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for 2 nights
Clean and modern. Staff friendly, check in/out efficient. Rather impersonal, but ok for two nights. Convenient for visiting grandchildren living nearby. Very, very noisy humming from central heating system (?) throughout the night. Breakfast not included. Evening meal in the restaurant was satisfactory, though rather expensive.

Reviewed by
S Harris

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel. I can't fault the hotel, the Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, comfortable and had all the required amenities (a big plus on the iron and ironing board - can't understand why this isn't standard in other hotels!). I would certainly be looking to stay here again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Ian G

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next