Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North East England > Tyne and Wear > South Tyneside > Washington Hotels > Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Stone Cellar Road, High Usworth Newcastle Upon Tyne, Washington, NE37 1PH
This hotel has its own 18-hole championship golf course, a gym and an indoor swimming pool. Easy access to nearby cities of Newcastle, Sunderland,and Durham.Also nearby the famous Metro Centre shopping Mall, and Beamish Open Air Museum.The hotel has recently received a £9million investment with the majority of the 103 bedrooms completely refurbished, a newly renovated restaurant, bar and brasserie area, new golf clubhouse and beauty salon.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa, Washington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rooms
The rooms were fantastic, beds were large & comfortable. Only 1 problem during the saturday night when a reveller from a hen party was creating a noise in the corridor. apart from that excellent.

Reviewed by
Lilian H

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noise
I was in room 1 so was next to stair well and 2 don't which was very noisy I think the room would benefit from some sound proofing

Reviewed by
S DEAN

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean hotel, but food and drinks very expensive
Good clean hotel, but food and drinks very expensive

Reviewed by
A Harwood

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of stags, hen's and rugby players
I booked a twin room as I was staying with my mum, we got a king. When we asked to changethey said it was their fault but if they moved us it could only be to a double.
We were in a room with an adjoining door to a very noisy couple. I got little sleep having to share a bedwith my mum and then could hear the full conversation of the couple next door as they woke at 7.30am.
We tried to talk to someone at reception on our way to breakfast but found no one was around. We alsoskipped breakfast as we just wanted to leave but then had to wait as the money was returned to us as the hotel had charged us fir breakfast anyway.

Reviewed by
L Crawford

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 day stay
We always enjoy our stops- albeit just using it as a base.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff, rooms very clean, warm and comfortable as well as spacious.

Reviewed by
V Mawer

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for 2 nights
Clean and modern. Staff friendly, check in/out efficient. Rather impersonal, but ok for two nights. Convenient for visiting grandchildren living nearby. Very, very noisy humming from central heating system (?) throughout the night. Breakfast not included. Evening meal in the restaurant was satisfactory, though rather expensive.

Reviewed by
S Harris

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel. I can't fault the hotel, the Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, comfortable and had all the required amenities (a big plus on the iron and ironing board - can't understand why this isn't standard in other hotels!). I would certainly be looking to stay here again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Ian G

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bar was pricey and I could hear next door snoring and talking on there phone.

Reviewed by
david d

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet retreat
If your looking for a somewhere quiet that isn't too far from the city, this is ideal.

Reviewed by
A Sadler

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next