No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairlawn House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
42 High Street, , , Amesbury, SP4 7DL
Set in the heart of Wiltshire’s beautiful countryside, Fairlawn House is a 3 star Georgian Townhouse and is the highest rated hotel on Trip Advisor for the area, a position it has held since October 2006. A family run house with an emphasis on personal service, you can be assured of a warm welcome from Keith and Tracey. Ideally situated, Fairlawn is a 3 minute walk from the bus station, less than 2 miles from Stonehenge and less than 8 miles from Salisbury and several other medieval towns. If travelling a little further, you will find Avebury within 20 miles and Longleat and Stourhead, which features some of the most beautiful gardens in the country. Although Amesbury is only a small market town, it boasts a good selection of restaurants and traditional English pubs within a few minutes walk. In addition, we are approximately 70 miles from the outskirts of London, 30 miles from the International Airport and Docks at Southampton and the picturesque New Forest. The hotel is an ideal stopover for touring visitors, a great base for local exploration and well-used by business travellers. Relax on the sofas in our lounge and enjoy a drink from the bar, and enjoy breakfast served in our original Georgian wine cellar with its exposed beams – fresh fruits and yoghurts are accompanied by free range eggs from the local farm. We use locally sourced breakfast ingredients where possible
Picture of Fairlawn House, Amesbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Probably the best accommodation in town
This is a very nice B&B with pleasant service, nice rooms and very good food. Lovely lounge and bar area.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Wiltshire
Stayed at Fairlawn House for 3 nights. It is relatively speaking a little bit of "Home from Home". The accommodation is very comfortable and made all the more enjoyable by the welcome that you get from the owners Keith & Tracey. The breakfast is unbelievably good; both in choice and content.

Reviewed by
Paul K

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great would stay here again

Reviewed by
D Ogden

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable
Single room adequate but a nice new bathroom

Reviewed by
David S

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Staff were really friendly and helpful from moment I arrived. Room was great only downside was the alley way outside my room had drunk people in it shouting at dead hours of the morning.

Reviewed by
m davies

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Once we arrived, after having to call for directions, it was very welcoming. They were very helpful - and the place had a homely feel. The room was nice, clean and airy.
The only thing that was a little disappointing was there was no hot water to the sink in the bathroom, although the shower was nice and hot!
The breakfast was good, with plenty of coffee. :-)

Reviewed by
Cheryl B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amesbury stay over
Room a bit cold only have electric wall heaters.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that you were cold but thank you for bringing it to our attention. The heaters are usually very effective - and saw us through last winter's cold snowy weather with no problems! However, in response to your feedback, we have checked the one in the room you were in and it does seem to less powerful than in the past so we will be replacing it as soon as possible.

Reviewed by
BERNARD A

From Robertsbridge, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Fairlawn House, Amesbury.
Central location so very convenient. Very friendly owners, professional and personable. Beautifully decorated throughout. Spotlessly clean. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Kim Coles

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception
No one at the reception desk in the morning .. No bell to ring for attention ?? Despite that, the accommodation and breakfast were very good .

Reviewed by
L Wood

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money friendly staff
Over all the fair lawn hotel is good value for money and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast was very nice but served early so if you fancy a lay in you will miss breakfast! Our room was clean but could do with a bit of modernisation, and the bed creaked when you turned over in the night! We were woken up in the night by noisy neighbours in the two rooms either side of us then again at the crack of dawn so the sound proofing isn't great! The staff are very friendly though and willing to help. I would use the hotel again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Sarah G

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next