You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Church View Hotel

71-73 CLAPGUN STREET, DERBY, DE74 2LF

Price From 152.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David M

  • May 2016

Church View Hotel

Nice quiet comfortable friendly hotel recommend for a relaxing stay

  • D Scott

  • May 2016

Church View Hotel

Great hotel in middle of Donington, ideal for the race circuit with large car park.

Excellent host and superb food.

  • A Banks

  • May 2016

Pleasant stay

Conveniently placed for Donington Park.

Room was comfortable. A welcome pack to advise meal times and availability would be welcome.

  • James W

  • April 2016

Old fashioned quality

Not a good start when the hotel does not have your (Late Rooms) booking.

But they had a spare room so no problem. Pleasant welcome and flexible arrangements for breakfast. Nice room with good heating and an opening window. Cramped en-suite just on the right side of being too small. Needs shelves and soap holder in the shower. I see an earlier review said "Beware of the dog". Need to correct this as the only danger from the lovely dog is from an enthusiastic welcome. Nice friendly Staffie.

  • William H

  • April 2016

Excellent value for money

Stayed one night in new refurbished room and had well cooked English breakfast.

  • R P

  • April 2016

Church View Hotel

Clean rooms.

Beware of Dog.

  • f child

  • April 2016

Very clean

Hotel very clean and tidy.

Looked like it had just been decorated, however when I asked the owner he said it was 5 years ago. Bedroom small but bed comfy. Very modern bathroom but we could not work out how to get hot water from the shower, so I had a bath. Breakfast, good choice of food including cooked breakfast, no vegetarian alternatives to bacon or sausage but we had not said before so our fault. Would recommend and would return.

  • Chrissie Pegg

  • November 2015

A great find

Very clean and pleasantly furnished accommodation

Fabulous home cooked food

  • Robert L

  • August 2015

Great accommodation, nice area

One of the best single rooms I have stayed in.

It contained everything I could wish for including toiletries and the added bonus of a ceiling fan which was very welcome given the two hot days I stayed. The breakfast was varied and sufficient for my needs. The proprietor, Keith was very pleasant checked me in personally and showed me to my room with no delays whatsoever. There was a great car park off road too and the facility to eat an evening meal outside too. I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to anyone staying in the area. It's close to Donington Park and East Midlands Airport.

  • Janice W

  • May 2015

Disappointed

I was disappointed as the picture and description of the 'historic building' with its 'vestry bar' infers that the hotel was a converted church - it's not.

It's converted houses opposite a church. When we arrived in the afternoon the reception was not manned, simply an envelope on the desk with our name on and directions to the room. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. We went out and returned in the evening around 10.30pm (we had a key to the front door), again there was no-one to be seen, and no contact number / phone in the room to ask anyone a question. We had requested a late checkout through the laterooms site, but had no message about this and no means to ask anyone. We would have also liked a room service breakfast, the information in the room stated room service was not available. Any questions should be directed to reception, but no one was there.

In the morning, we went down for breakfast and met a gentleman who directed us to the restaurant. The food was very nice, the restaurant very pleasant, but feeling a little deflated we ate and checked out - there were no conversation openers to feed back any of this at the time, but it is important .