No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Church View Hotel

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
71-73 CLAPGUN STREET , DERBY, DE74 2LF
Welcome to The Church View Hotel a privately family run hotel situated in the historic village of Castle Donington. We provide a very high standard of accommodation and service in a tasteful, relaxing and stylish environment.

The rooms tastefully respect the historic building while having a modern function and style reflected in the quality of bath and bedroom furniture. Fed up of staying in large chain hotels with a distinct lack of individuality? The Church View Hotel brings you all the comforts of a large modern hotel with a unique, individual service that puts you the customer first.

Our restaurant is at your service to provide a fine dining experience using local organic, free-range produce where possible. All meals are cooked freshly to order so booking a table is essential. The daily menus are created depending upon the freshest local produce to ensure your dining experience is of the highest quality. Why not choose from our impressive selection of fine wines to accompany your meal and make the occasion one to remember. The restaurant is open to residents and non-residents serving meals and snacks throughout the day.

The Church View Hotel and restaurant is available for hire for small conferences, business lunches, weddings, private parties/functions and funerals. Our facilities and attentive staff can cater for small groups with a need for private hospitality with the focus being on making your event just that little bit special.
Picture of Church View Hotel, DERBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Gem
The outside of the hotel needs tidying up as it's obviously a first immpression.
That said everything else is excellent. The bathroom is fantastically designed with a feature corner bath sporting a wonderful shower (a rarity I have to say).
The breakfast was as good as it gets with a gourmet pork & blackpudding sausage and superb bacon. Eggs poached to perfection.

Reviewed by
Michael J K Sanders

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant hotel .very comfortable room. Can't comment on breakfast as wasn't there. Ideal for airport.

Reviewed by
l davis

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night away on a leisure break
The hotel was easy to find, postcode accurate, parking in the grounds which was an advantage as the surrounding streets have limited parking.
Small, family run hotel in a building with character.
The proprietors were supportive and welcoming.
Recommended.

Reviewed by
M Ibrahim

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautifully equipped and extremely clean room, the breakfast was wonderful and all at a very reasonable price.

Reviewed by
L Newby

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Church view hotel
First class accommodation. Excellent facilities.

Reviewed by
Brian Grey

From Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just amazing!
We stayed in Church view hotel before my husbands super car driving in Donnington. It was a very pleasant stay, the owners were lovely and friendly. We checked in quite late due to bad traffic but they waited for us and were very sweet about it all. The room we stayed in (no 11) was nicely decorated. The bathroom was a little small but nothing that wouldn't make us come back. Te breakfast was effortless as well, lovely full English. The whole place had such a nice and homy vibe! Would definitely come back!

Reviewed by
Jitka Davies

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel. The room is of large size and very stylish. The bed is very comfy and the room very clean. I only marked it down one of cleanliness as there was a small coffee stain on the carpet. The toilet again was super modern and clean. The price tbh is a bargain. Around 43 pounds a night with an excellent breakfast. Taking about breakfast , that's another area they excel in. The hotel offer a continental breakfast aswell as a cooked breakfast for no extra charge. There was plenty of selection from cereals , youghurts , roles , jam, to a full English breakfast and a number of fruit juices.

Reviewed by
S Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Laid back & Relaxing
Nice and friendly with that personal touch you don't get with the large chains.

Reviewed by
John C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good, will stay again.
Room was small but it had everything I needed, nice shower, comfy bed, new tv, plenty of tea/coffee,
Breakfast was nice and well presented.
Very helpful and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
John Morrison

From Tain, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
Don't be fooled from the exterior, which looks unremarkable. The room I had, no 11 was lovely, comfortable bed, very well furnished and decorated with a gat shower room. The complimentary tea and coffee had everything from green and herbal teas to filter coffees.
I ate in the restaurant and the food was beautiful, a good variety, even rabbit on the menu which I chose and was delicious and was a real change, you would only expect to see rabbit at a high end restaurant. Simply outstanding value for money stay. Can't wait to go back.

Reviewed by
M Barraclough

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next