No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambton Arms Hotel

Not Classified  Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
FRONT STREET , CHESTER LE STREET, DH33BJ
The Lambton Arms is a large pub in the centre of Chester Le Street, with 11 letting rooms available, both double and twin rooms
We have a large car park which is free of charge with an overnight stay.
We are ideally located for Durham and Newcastle, with the train station a two minute walk away, and regular bus services running day and night.

*Please note that the rooms can be noisy on a weekend evening.
Picture of The Lambton Arms Hotel, CHESTER LE STREET at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 132 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was adequate for what we required but found it to be very noisy.

Reviewed by
John D

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rubbish
On arriving at the hotel on Sunday they only cooked roast dinners at lunchtime, nothing in the evening. Room was on second floor, no lift. The room was very, very hot. One window opened about 6 inches. Monday morning we asked if they had a fan, no we don't but we know it is hot up there. We went out and bought one. The room hadn't been cleaned properly for some time, the windows hadn't been cleaned for at least a couple of years. No light over mirror in bedroom or electric sockets there to use hot brush or hair dryer. You had to be very small to get to the basin in the bathroom as it was wedged between end of bath and wall. All in all it was not a very good stay. I would not recommend this hotel to any body. I think you should investigate this and also other hotels that you book people into. I look forward to hearing your comments.

Reviewed by
M Newbold

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, centre of town, near station and bus stop (newcastle or durham), good value
Starting with the bad points. Housekeeping needs to do a better job. No towels in the bathroom on first night (and too late to resolve when I noticed). But no big issue, I just used the hairdryer. Bathroom floor had not been cleaned, a previous guest had clearly trimmed their hair (and I am not talking head hair). Someone's pubes stuck to your wet feet is not so pleasant. Need to up their game in this department. No amenities apart from handwash. Credit card machine not working on my check in.
And now the good points. Well connected (train and bus close by) for travel to Durham and Newcastle, and a good deal cheaper than those cities. Big breakfast (cereal, coffee, full english, toast) at reasonable price. Amply sized room, comfortable bed. Staff on the whole friendly and helpful.
In summary, good value but need to improve their attention to detail in order to get a a glowing review.

Reviewed by
Julian L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall good
Generally all good. Nice large room, with big TV on a flexible armcan watch from anywhere in the room, nice sofa. Very helpful staff. Excellent.
Small areas of room for improvement: - let down just slightly by a) tiny tiny shelf for the tea and coffee, making it tricky to actually make a cup of tea, with so much space in the room it would have been nice to have a more generous shelf, b) very dimlighting - both the room and the bathroom were very dimly lit c) tea and coffee didn't get replaced on second day, d) poor standard of finishing on bathroom units (bath sink etc) all nice but very poor finishing - eg the grouting or sealant around the bath looked like it had been done by someone inexperienced. But all minor issues - very happy with our stay.

Reviewed by
Christopher S

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was good, The only let down was:
When I checked in I asked what times they did meals and was told" They had run out of food!" so wouldn't be doing meals until the next day.
I went up the road to a whetherspoons pub and had a great meal!

Reviewed by
Brian W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent For The Price
You get what you pay for, Very nice customer service, very good food, but the rooms feel a bit old dated, but still very good for the price.

Reviewed by
A Madeira

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean Comfortable Stay at The Lambton Arms Hotel
Basically you walk into the pub where the bar is the reception. Pleasant welcome from the young staff who quickly booked me in and offered to carry my bag to the room.
The room was spacious and clean although extremely tired. eg. Wall paper coming off in the corner, poor lighting and carpet. It was clean and well aired however.
Had a great Classic Burger in the bar with TVs everywhere. Normally I would steer clear of this sort of bar but the footie was on! Oh and a Salsa Class in the next door room!
This was an ideal place to stay for what I wanted overnight.

Reviewed by
B H

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Quality and Value For Money
This hotel is set on the main street of Chester-Le-Street and has a pub at ground level. It is only a short walk from the train station and there is a bus stop close by as well, so it is convenient for anyone wishing to spend some time in Durham as well as those who wish to visit Chester-Le-Street itself.
The room I was in was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were unfussy and helpful on arrival and throughout the stay. Breakfasts are available in the morning which may be ordered in advance or on the day. I had a cooked breakfast on a couple of occasions (the other two mornings, I didn't want anything as I'd eaten quite late the night before) and they, too, were good value and hearty.
Although I have stayed in this area of the North-East several times, this is the first time that I have stayed in this hotel. Next time that I wish to stay in the are, this hotel will be my first port of call.

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central, friendly and great value for money
Was up in Chester-le-Street for a friend's wedding and wanted to be in close proximity to the rail station and easy to get a taxi from to get to the event and the Lambton Arms was perfect - great welcome and helpful, friendly staff all through the weekend. Nice big room, proper bathroom and poweful shower - maybe not the most modern, but a comfortable, friendly and value for money base for a trip to the cricket, or a wedding up at Lumley Castle. Had the breakfast both days - plenty of it and good morning coffee! Thanks!

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good sized room though bed could have been bigger as the room contained 2 small singles (30 inches across). Spotlessly clean, good sized bathroom. A little noisy not from the pub but from the side road. Good value for money, decent food in the bar.

Reviewed by
Andrew Newton

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next