No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambton Arms Hotel

Not Classified  Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
FRONT STREET , CHESTER LE STREET, DH33BJ
The Lambton Arms is a large pub in the centre of Chester Le Street, with 11 letting rooms available, both double and twin rooms
We have a large car park which is free of charge with an overnight stay.
We are ideally located for Durham and Newcastle, with the train station a two minute walk away, and regular bus services running day and night.

*Please note that the rooms can be noisy on a weekend evening.
Picture of The Lambton Arms Hotel, CHESTER LE STREET at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 133 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel at an Unbelievable price.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Lambton Arms, the room was excellent, furnished well and presented in a clean and neat state. The staff were very friendly and were able to provide any information that I required. The decor throughout was good though a little faded in places and the facilities offered by the pub itself were more than up to par. Overall, I would highly recommend The Lambton Arms to anyone looking for an affordable hotel in the durham area.

Reviewed by
S Richards

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Liked, but had to pay upon arrival
The hotel wasn't bad at all. The only downside being that had to pay on arrival as they wouldn't take payment from the company through Laterooms or over the phone with a credit/debit card. Obviously this leaves me out of pocket.

Reviewed by
P Millard

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
The accommodation was clean although some more lighting in the room would be helpful. The service was good and the staff friendly. The room needs updating. There is noise from the pub and street but there is reference to this when booking. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
L Lewis

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain
Checking in was efficient and got shown to our room. Beds were fine,enough amenities were there.Bathroom was massive and breakfast excellent. Can't fault The Lambton for the price. Location was perfect for us,near to pubs and parking on site.

Reviewed by
james langley

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lively pub atmosphere, a bit noisy but good value.
Comfortable and clean room, though a combination of dark furniture and only bedside lamps and a standard lamp made it seem a little gloomy. Noisy from the bar below, but that's only to be expected staying in a city pub on a Saturday night and didn't give my daughter or I a problem. Food in the pub's restaurant was good value and the bar staff very friendly. We will use this accommodation again.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Rawlins

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money and friendly service
My parents (Dutch/English) stayed at Lumley Castle for 2 nights as part of a deal offered by DFDS ferries (Holland-Newcastle) As I used to go to Durham University I decided to take the trip from London and show them the sights but that was after they had already booked. I basically needed a place to sleep as I would be away in the daytime. The Lambton Arms turned out to offer the best deal and was also only a few minutes away by car from where my parents were staying. My room was quite spacious and so was the bathroom.
The second night we used the restaurant. We enjoyed the gammon steak and the cod & chips. They were reasonably priced and the staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
G Weegenaar

From Amstelveen, Netherlands
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lambton Arms Chester le Street
Staff great. Clean, comfy bed, breakfast lovely. Price fantastic. Happy to use again.

Reviewed by
Keith M

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel for the cost

Reviewed by
Daniel H

From Bradwell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay for family wedding
The pub is huge and a lovely old building. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Brilliant live band played on the Friday night. Room very spacious, comfortable beds (twin room), quiet, only downside was bathroom sink had toothpaste in it from previous guests!! Breakfast was very tasty and filling. Wedding reception was in the function room and the buffet was delicious, can highly recommend the corned beef pie! Excellent value for money and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Rosy B

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lambton
breakfast not very good and the room could do with a good dusting and maintenance, but staff were very friendly

Reviewed by
s conway

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next