Reviews - The Lambton Arms Hotel


Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (103)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • r pearson

  • April 2015


Ideal for a short stay in the center of town

  • L Whitfield

  • March 2015

Engagement Party Stay

We stayed at the hotel as we were having our engagement party in the upstairs function room (which was excellent from allowing us in and out to set the room up, to the lovely buffet & friendly staff & DJ).

We had an excellent night. The room was lovely for £40, although we had booked a £50 room on the lad behind the bar said you charge the same prices for all rooms. Apparently on that night laterooms had mixed things up and we werent booked in. Luckily there was space and we were only charged £40, but i wouldn't have been happy if id paid 50 online then told its tenner cheaper to book direct with hotel so you might need to work on that for consistency. However lovely clean room comfy bed.would recommend and we will be in for food/drinks in the future.

  • Craige C

  • March 2015

Great Value

Excellent service.

Enormous rooms and very warm. Could do with a bit of an update, but incredible value for money. Would definitely stay again

  • michael donnelly

  • March 2015

very pleasant stay.

room was excellent as were the staff.

  • Michael Wood

  • February 2015

Does what it says on the tin

I have stopped here on numerous occasions due to its location.

i was a bit miffed to see the price on a saturday has gone from £40 to £55 per double. when i asked why we were told as it has been refurbished, however on inspection all thats been done is new carpet a bit of redecorating, a new tv & lampshades ...the bathroom in my room No.6 is the same. However i still would recomend it as its value for money,clean,good breakfast & friendly staff

  • B Frankland

  • February 2015

lovely stay

Old fashioned traditional hotel, lovely large rooms, comfy bed and great bathroom.

Only slight downside was street noise around 2-3am but this wouldnt have been a problem if I hadnt insisted on sleeping with the window open. Lovely hotel with a warm welcome and great breakfast

  • Debbie Y

  • January 2015

Dissapointing breakfast

On arrival we were greeted by a pleasant mannered woman.

Our room was newly refurbished - clean & simple. Newly carpeted which was good. Shower quite weak.

We had coffee & lunch there with family - the waitress who served us was not customer friendly at all - quite abrupt. We felt we couldn't ask her for anything. Full English breakfast wasn't good. It was warm (not hot), plates aren't warmed so food went cold very quickly. One sausage, one bacon, an egg, a hash brown, tablespoon of beans, couple of mushrooms & a tomato that had literally touched the griddle & was cold. Mushrooms were dry & chewy - possibly pre cooked & microwaved or from the day before. Toast was put on the side of the plate rather than on a side plate or rack. It was barely toasted & was just basic thin white bread.

I took it off the plate so I could have it with jam that was provided but it was not toasted enough & tasted of cooking fat.

It was such an unpleasant breakfast that we decided to cancel the next day's and go elsewhere. As an alternative to full English we could've had a continental breakfast. I asked what this included and was told toast & jam. The hotel/pub is well located in the centre of Chester-Le-Street. The pub is ok.

  • A Stewart

  • January 2015

Overnight Stay

Refreshing friendly hotel with staff who knew exactly what I had booked.

Room clean with a firm bed which is what I am used to at home. All questions answered and a full explanation on times of closing and how to access after hours. Full tasty breakfast

  • S Arnold

  • January 2015

Great value short stay

Staff very helpful - room recently refurbished - great value for £40 a night

  • T Curtis

  • December 2014

Clean, good for money paid, good location.