No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond, DL10 7AE
Frenchgate is a Georgian townhouse hotel based in the beautiful historical Yorkshire town of Richmond. Offering four-star comfort with a friendly family feel, Frenchgate has a range of nine rooms to choose from. Each is individually styled - some have open fireplaces, some have stunning views, some have both. All have power showers, but if you prefer to soak in bubbles, pick one with a roll top bath included. Frenchgate restaurant provides the best dining in Richmond - and probably the whole of Swaledale. Awarded two AA star rosettes, the food is English based cuisine but with Mediterranean influences, all beautifully cooked using locally sourced food as far as possible. The breakfast menu is so good, you probably won't need to eat again all day - especially if you go for the traditional full English made with Yorkshire's finest ingredients.
Picture of The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel, Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We stayed ay the Frenchgate as a weekend break for myself and my wife - the first away from the 2 kids (1+3 years) since they were born!
It is a lovely place and David the owner is a pefect host.
Unfortunately our weekend didn;t go as planned as my wife unfortunately took ill the mement we arrived (a bug the kids had and nothing to do with the hotel) so we missed out on dining in the restaurant which was a greta shame but from listening to other diners the food was excellent.
Breakfast was lovely and we will certainly go back as it is a lovely place, with a warm host and in a beautiful little town.

Reviewed by
Stephen Y

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Service
This hotel was excellent, the service, food and accommodation was perfect. I would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
Michael R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class Hotel
Could not fault this hotel or it's staff. Very welcoming and excellent accommodation. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Sylvia Gardner

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boutique hotel
Fabulous place we stayed in the cottage next door but one to the main hotel. Lots of character and although near to the main square very quiet. Definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
d murray

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great experience
excellent hotel, ambience brilliant, food good whole experience to be repeated

Reviewed by
charles ledward

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good quality hotel
A very good hotel , clean with a lovely atmosphere

Reviewed by
T jessop

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover in Richmond

Reviewed by
Fiona West

From Bedford, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There isn't much good quality accommodation around in the area but this is certainly an exception. Frenchgate puts a lot of effort into delivering a pleasureable stay, we had a good modern room, the hotel is tasteful throughout, helpful staff and a good breakfast. Parking is easy.

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Kettering, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My first adventure on my own
I booked my stay at the Frenchgate with a little trepidation as this was the first time I had travelled for leisure alone following a change to my personal circumstances. I often travel alone for work, but this was the first weekend away on my own.
I need not have worried. I was looked after wonderfully from my initial booking with Claire, and the rest of the staff could not have been more attentive during the course of the weekend. The room was perfect for one person, and the food was excellent and the waiter/sommelier - Callie??? - was an absolute gentleman. I would stay ay the Frenchgate again with no hesitation and would advise fellow travellers to do the same.

Reviewed by
Dawn M

From Blaydon on Tyne, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

extremely helpful & obliging receptionist.. only had breakfast so cannot really judge food. menu looked excellent. wifi available. owner charming

Reviewed by
Karen Taylor

From Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next