No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Victoria Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 FRONT STREET , BAMBURGH, NE69 7BP
The Victoria Hotel, is a welcoming, AA 3 Star hotel that overlooks the village green in the heart of historic Bamburgh. The village is overlooked by magnificent Bamburgh Castle which has featured in many historical films. Both Holy Island and The Farne Islands are visible from its ramparts. The hotel itself is only a short walk to Bamburgh Beach.

At the Victoria Hotel, we have a number of room types to suit all budgets. Our great value standard Double & Twin rooms are a great option for those looking to explore Bamburgh & Northumberland. Our popular Superior rooms are ideal for a relaxing weekend break with plenty of space to unwind, whilst our Castle View rooms offer breath-taking views of Bamburgh Castle and the surrounding areas.

In 2012, we were awared an AA Rosette for our new restaurant, Bailey's, overseen by the company's executive head chef Harry Bailie. Inspired dishes have been created using the freshest of local produce with options to suit all budgets.

Part of the family run STR/Keeping Inn group, who also own the Manor House Hotel County Durham, the Centurion Bar in Newcastle Central Station, and the Honest Lawyer Hotel in Durham
Picture of The Victoria Hotel, BAMBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable
Booked for one night as a stop over on route to Edinburgh, we will be back to this hotel for a longer break in the future.
Room, Evening Meal, Breakfast and Staff all great.

Reviewed by
Steve D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent customer service
excellent stay. reception was deserted when we arrived and we were spotted by one of the owners who apologised and went in search of the receptionist . he returned and explained she was showing another guest to their room and immediately took us through to the bar for a complimentary drink while we waited. the customer service continued to be excellent throughout our stay and we will definitely be back

Reviewed by
s bloor

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
I've stayed a number of times and will go back. Great location near Bamburgh Castle and beach, and close to Seahouses for the Farne Islands.
Nice breakfast but croissant tasted a few days old. Friendly staff and quick service.

Reviewed by
Mark P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good accommodation . Staff were very helpful . Food was good and well presented.

Reviewed by
n de almeida

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay and a beautiful part of the country
The hotel was old but clean and the food was very good especially the breakfast

Reviewed by
s henshaw

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay
Our room was cramped and fairly dark. It was also noisy as we could hear the air conditioning from the restaurant all the time. Along with another guest we tried to change the room but were told the hotel was full. All the décor in the hotel needed revamping

Reviewed by
Richard G

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very brief stay in this lovely town and in most cases my wife and I thought that the Victoria Hotel was very good. Customer service was very good as was the cheerfulness of the staff. Our breakfasts were excellent and staff in the dining room, efficient and helpful. We had both dinners in the restaurant which were very good but there seemed to be a lack of vegetables on the plate apart from a few leaves of spinach on both nights. Our room (a super twin) was spacious as was the bathroom but the paintwork in the bathroom looked a bit drab and was peeling a bit. Also the shower leaked quite badly so we had a bath instead!

Reviewed by
William F

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Northumberland Retreat
This comfortable hotel in the village of Bamburgh provided a very good way of being able to access the beautiful areas in North Northumberland .Traveling alone , with my dog for company , I found staff helpful and welcoming in a safe environment .

Reviewed by
Patricia Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st class service by all staff, superior room was amazing, and yes I could see the sea, only comment is the furniture could do with some glass tops to keep them looking as new, I always use coasters, so used a folded up tissue to prevent mug/glass rings

Reviewed by
richard woods

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room not clean, broken tiles in bathroom cut my foot, complained to reception, told 'sorry'
Booked this hotel on Grand National Day as we were told they had a sports bar showing sky sports. On arrival we were told the sports bar was never open and would have to travel to another town to view the races as they would not turn on their t.v.!!! In addition,the room was not clean, broken tiles in bathroom cut my foot, complained to reception, told 'sorry'. Not a happy guest. will not return.

Reviewed by
l brown

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next