No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lantern Pike Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
45 GLOSSOP ROAD LITTLE HAYFIELD, HIGH PEAK, SK22 2NG
Lying within the bounds of the Peak District National Park, this delightful Inn has all the modern amenities but still retains its old world charm providing a great base for your short/long stay whilst you discover the Peak District.

The Lantern Pike Inn is situated in Little Hayfield, on the A624 between Glossop and Chapel-en-le-Frith, and has been an Inn since 1851. The pub itself dates from the building of the turnpike from Old Glossop to Buxton in 1792. Today, the resident owners Stella and Tom Cunliffe extend a warm and friendly welcome to all who frequent their country hostelry, with a roaring fire, good food complemented with a well balanced Wine Menu, well kept real ales and comfortable bedrooms

We are also very proud to be Little Hayfield's/Hayfield's ONLY main entry in the Good Pub Guide for the years 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Of mid 18th Century architectural design, no two rooms are the same and vary in size and character... Nevertheless, all visitors staying at the Lantern Pike Inn will be delighted at the standard of accommodation. We have 5 cosy Double/Twin rooms available. All the bedrooms are en suite and have colour TV and tea-making facilities. Our bar has a warm and intimate atmosphere and serves tasty homemade Pub Food. Real ale is always available. Check us out in either the 2009/10/11/12/13 Good Beer Guides, we are one of only two pubs in the area privileged enough to have an entry. More substantial meals are served in the delightful restaurant with its magnificent views over the Lantern Pike itself.Why not have a drink or enjoy a meal in our lovely beer garden and patio area. From here you can sit back and enjoy stunning views of Lantern Pike and the surrounding countryside. The Lantern Pike is an ideal centre for Peak Park activities, such as country walks, (Kinder Scout recently declared a National Nature Reserve, click HERE to read press release), mountain biking etc. We are in easy reach of Chatsworth House, The Chestnut Centre, Lyme Park, the village of Eyam (plague village), Alton Towers (approx. 90 minutes) and many more interesting places.
General Hotel Facilities
We have parking at the front of the Inn for 5 vehicles and a further 6 vehicles to the rear of the Inn.
Children Welcome; high chair available; Licensed Bar; Real ale and a good selection of lagers, ciders, served; a well stocked selection of wines;
Central heating; Colour TV, Tea and coffee making facilities; Full restaurant service;
Garden/Patio area with scenic views; Sorry, No Pets!; All rooms are non-smoking. We also have free access to WiFi so you can keep in touch with the office or simply retrieve your personal emails.
If we have not answered your questions please visit our FAQs page where we have answered the questions we get asked most of the time
Picture of The Lantern Pike Inn, HIGH PEAK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception, accommodation catering, bar and access to countryside were excellent

Reviewed by
d harrison

From Potters Bar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked again at the Lantern Pike
So impressed by our stay in December we booked again. Stayed on the 'Bleaklow' room this time and room was fine. Tea and coffee making facilities and a nice view. The meal in the pub was excellent just like last time and breakfast was fabulous as well. We are going to be making use of the Lantern Pike agin.

Reviewed by
Anthony Shaw

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

needs some investment
The cost of the room was £70 which is expensive in the quality of the room I was in.
The shower was electric and very old and you had to run about in the shower to get wet ! But it was either too hot or freezing. In between the very hot and freezing water I did manage to lather up it took ages of jumping in and out of the water to rinse it off !!
On leaving in the morning did not bother to shower as it was a painful experience.
The room had twin beds which when you moved in your sleep not only rocked backwards and forward but in a circular motion !!. Had a poor nights sleep with this as well as hitting my Knee next to the bed on a artex finished wall (very painful !!!!0

Reviewed by
a campbell

From Olney, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas at Lantern Pike
First time we have stayed here, room was excellent, tea making facilities, hairdryer and clean bed linen and towels. Had a meal in the pub, food excellent and had a thoroughly enjoyable night. Will definitely book again.

Reviewed by
Anthony Shaw

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely cosy pub good food room small but clean good enough for a overmight stay we are going to go back to do some walking has it is set In beautiful peak district

Reviewed by
Tina M

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lantern Pike Hotel
Nice pub, very nice people, very clean, good food and wine. Let down by very basic room, poor beds, nowhere to sit.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning views and a warm welcome
We made a late booking on the day of travelling so were unsure what we would find.
The owners Stella and Tom went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We booked a room at the back of the Inn which had stunning views. The four poster bed was very comfortable and the food (and Ale) downstairs were very enjoyable. The breakfast made a great change from the budget fare you get at similar priced chain hotels. The ingredients tasted as though they were sourced locally; delicious. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
S Bamford

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay
We were made very welcome by the host and hostess. Nothing was too much trouble and we would definitely stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Bruce W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
We used 2 rooms, there had been a water leak prior to our arrival. The room we booked was on the small side. faced the busy road and was troubled by traffic noise.
We spent the first night in a substitute room while repairs were carried out. This was large, at the quiet rear of the property and very good indeed.

Reviewed by
David C

From Chulmleigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stop-over!
It proved a very pleasant stop-over to get a day's experience of the Derwent valley area.
The accomodation was comfortable and food good. Other than location there is perhaps not enough
at the Inn for us foe a much longer stay. The host, however, was most welcoming and friendly.

Reviewed by
Graham D

From Langport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next