No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Minster Garth Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
2 KELDGATE , BEVERLEY, HU17 8HY
Beautiful Georgian Grade 2 listed building adjacent to Beverley Minster overlooking a lovely green pasture with rooms of generous and elegant proportions 2 minutes walk from the Town Centre and Train Station.

WI FI in all rooms price includes Full English Breakfast in our Breakfast Room, plus a free Residents Parking Permit.

Due to various problems and poor reviews earlier in the year, Management and Control of Minster Garth has recently been taken over by Andrea an experienced Manageress, who has employed new staff and has instigated a new regime of cleanliness and efficiency which includes a programme of replacement of all linen and towels as well as general refurbishment, maintenance and redecoration.

We are now confident that past problems are behind us and that we can offer guests the standards of service and efficiency they expect.
Picture of Minster Garth Guest House, BEVERLEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
49% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall enjoyed the stay
Enjoyed Beverly, and most our stay at the minster , however found the minster chiming every 15 minutes disturbing and tiring as we found it difficult to sleep. The house keeper was very helpful and friendly.The room we stayed in was ok for our needs. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss, the 1st morning breakfast was fine with a full selection however on the 2nd morning there was limited choice as they had run out of bacon, orange juice etc.

Reviewed by
mike f

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good low budget B&B
Took a little while to be seen to but room was functional and clean. My room had shared ablutions which were spotless. Close to centre of town and although no dedicated parking I had no trouble finding a slot nearby. They provide you with a free parking voucher too. This isn't The Ritz but it was exactly what I wanted. I would use them again.

ManagementResponse

We really appreciate this excellent review and all the other positive reviews we have been getting of late. Alison our new live in Housekeeper, the Management and all our staff, strive continuously to make sure all our guests are well catered for and looked after. At Minster Garth, we are lucky in the fact that we have a full range of room types, having eight en-suite rooms including two Deluxe En-Suite’s, Room 3 (the Audrey Hepburn Room with Sunken Bath) and Room 5 a large Deluxe En-Suite with Brass Bed and wonderful views of the Minster Pasture, to Budget Standard Rooms with shared facilities on the 2nd Floor, which cater for those looking for a more economical option. The included full English Breakfast served in our new larger breakfast room with large Chandelier and Grand Piano add a nice touch to the stay at Minster Garth a beautiful and historic large town house built in the original grounds of the imposing Minster and our general ongoing programme of improvements include new linen and towels provided regularly all add up to an all round package of which we are very proud.

Reviewed by
simon g

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff. Good sized comfortable room although a little dated. Good size en-suite bathroom. Breakfast poor, full English had been cooked earlier and kept warm.

Reviewed by
M Banks

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's okay...
but there was mold in the shower and there was a big fly on the window sill in the dining room as long as we stay (2 days).

Reviewed by
Andrea F

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very nice, large and spacious, quite a few steps to get to the room so may not be suitable for everyone. The bathroom was large but the electric shower wasn't very efficient, it was either too hot or too cold, we couldn't get it to the right temperature. There was tea and coffee facilities in the room but no tea spoons, neither was there any in the breakfast room.
It was situated next to the Minster, hence the name and you could hear the chimes late in the evening and early in the morning.

Reviewed by
C Thomas

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice experience
Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The staff were polite and friendly and always ready to help. The environment clean and tidy. Food was very delicious. Enjoyed my stay. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
abiola A

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
J Wright

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good rooms bad food

the accommodation was spot on room clean and spacious bathroom very large but the thing that let it down was the breakfast , the bacon,sausage and mushrooms were left under the warmer to long and everything was dry and burnt on the under side ,also the bread for the toast was out of date and mouldy. when checked other jars were also out of date. sorry to say accommodation was nice but the breakfast let it down allot and dont think we will be stopping there again.

Reviewed by
Alan Libby

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bags of Character
Impressive-looking building, conveniently close to town centre with quirky interior and layout. Not for travellers who struggle with stairs but ideal for anyone looking for something different to the anodyne hotel chains. Comfortable bed and clean ensuite made for a pleasurable stay but some of the furniture was a little tired. Breakfast was superb and the staff were keen and friendly.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Used the Guest House for a stayover while meeting up with friends who used to go to local college. Found the place very clean and tidy, facilities were good. Only gripe was the service was a little slow at breakfast however the lass serving was on her own and the place was full.

Reviewed by
Steven Gibson

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next