You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Minster Garth Guest House

3

2 KELDGATE, BEVERLEY, HU17 8HY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (55)

45% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Rebecca H

  • August 2016

If only it was looked after

This guest house could be made into something yet seems to me the owner doesn't want to invest in it.

Lovely quirky place in a beautiful spot but so dated and gruffty. Be prepared. There is an iron but no board. No coffee for the morning. And the biggest issue I had which made me out of action for a full week. Was the Mattress. Granted I have a bad back but it was like sleeping on springs. It left me with a severe case of sciatica

If this rooms cost was about £25/£30 a night. It would still be a steap price.

The owner was polite enough though and had a very cute puppy...when he eventually arrived to show us to our room (which was supposed to have a four poster bed but didn't)

  • Charles F

  • August 2016

Its scruffy and very laid back.

I wouldnt stay here if you have high standard of cleanliness but would stay here if you dont mind a bit of grubby rustic charm. Do not buy the breakfast, get out and about and enjoy the local treats.

  • J Makin

  • August 2016

Booked a triple room for myself and 2 friends on a hen night. wish we had'nt .

Arrived to find no-one on reception.

Rung the bell to no answer or sign of anyone. On the dust covered so called reception desk was a A4 sheet of paper saying rooms names etc but no keys insight. Went up to the room to find keys in the door. Room was spacous but cleanish deco. Very worn in need of bringing up to date and very dark brown. bathroom clean but shower was dirty. Went out as was on a hen nite. Our experience trying to get back in was a joke. The front door was locked could not get in at all. If it had'nt been for one of the other guests to come down and let us in we would still of been outside. He said the same had happened to him the night before. No info in the room only 2 cups for tea coffee and when booked knew they was 3 of us. Did not see any staff at all even as we were leaving still no one on the reception. Need to meet guests and let them know how to get in after been out. Also need to review how they run this place because if this carries on will definatly get noone staying there. I would definitely not recommend to any of my friends. Not a hotel more like a hostel.

  • Helen T

  • July 2016

If you like quirky then this place is for you!

I'm very glad that I chose to book this place despite some of the reviews giving it a bad rep.

On arriving, there was a note on the wall stating that all rooms were ready and keys were in room doors, underneath there was a list of room numbers with names next to them. We were in room 14 which, according to all the signs on the walls, didn't exist, but, after exploring all the floors, corridors and unlocked doors, we found room 14. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. Admittedly, there were a few cobwebs in the corners of the extremely high ceilings but otherwise, the room, bedding and towels were clean. The room opened out through a stable door into a beautiful, quaint courtyard with outside tables and chairs.

My partner and I love anything that is unconventional and quirky and this place certainly fell into these categories. The building itself is beautiful and the bells from the Minster were nice to hear. As far as price is concerned, we paid £30+ less to stay here than it would cost to stay somewhere like the Premier Inn. If you are looking for modern, conventional accommodation where you are not required to think at all then this place is not for you. If you like all things different, unique and quirky, then I highly recommend this place.

  • Freda M

  • June 2016

Nice room!

We where are collecting our son from uni, which was a five hour drive.

Therefore we were looking for something close, easy and inexpensive. It was quite easy to find, but parking is limited. They did have parking permits for the street, but it wasn't well advertised. They upgraded our room and the room was lovely. It had a huge bathroom with the sunken tub with a television. The garden absolutely beautiful from what we saw in the dark. The only downside was there was no one at check-in but that was quickly resolved by phoning the number clearly shown. They simply gave us our room number and we were sorted!

  • Steve P

  • May 2016

Very basic

Arrived, I had to check myself in as no one on reception.

Very basic accommodation and everything needed to be refitted.

  • mark c

  • April 2016

minster garth guest house review

Although not expecting a great deal I was disappointed to find on arrival we had to find our room.

the room itself was large, however the décor was drab. the curtains were torn and there was no cups to make a hot drink. would not go there again.

  • susan c

  • December 2015

such a poor hotel

Booked a superior double room which on the pictures looked nice but what I got bore no relation to the photos.

The room so full of beds, you couldn't walk round them, get access to the window or anything else; there were huge cobwebs everywhere and dirty coffee cup marks on the table. The fridge was switched off, the heating was not working so it was cold and the bathroom had a 'sunken' bath (an ordinary bath put into the floor so it was hard to step down into) with a TV on the wall at the bottom of the bath which was not protected from steam and damp - so dangerous to have live electric appliances in the bathroom. definitely would not recommend. We left and got a room at the other hoter down the road which was cheaper, cleaner and much nicer.

  • Louise W

  • December 2015

Minster stay

Glad I didn't take some of the negative comments too seriously.

It was great, would stay there again.

  • D Phillips

  • December 2015

Bit of a laugh

This hotel is just awful.

Whoever said it had been refurbished is a liar. The room was old and shabby. There was one poor guy trying to run the place completely by himself. Needless to say because of this the breakfast left an awful lot to be desired. I would not recommend this place at all. My partner and I did have a good laugh about it on the way home because it was so bad it seemed almost not to be real. LateRooms should not have this place on their site. In fact it should probably be shut down.