Reviews - Holly Bush Inn


Greenhaugh, Near Kielder, Greenhaugh, NE48 1PW

Price From 166.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Dewhurst

  • September 2015

Fabulous B&B - highly recommended

We were upgraded as the B&B was quiet - lovely comfortable room - I enjoyed a full 12 hours' uninterrupted sleep - food is excellent (we ate in the pub in the evening and had breakfast in the morning), locals were really friendly and the staff welcoming and helpful.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • alan w

  • August 2015

hollybush inn

very disappointed.

breakfast lovely but evening meals leave a lot too be desired. the noise level on Saturday evening was awful, guitar strumming and terrible singing. cream room booked will remember for all wrong reasons. chicken in tinned tomatoes, with basami rice yukkkkk

  • Gary p

  • April 2015

perfect get away

excellent hotel , clean comfortable rooms ,friendly stafff, gorgeous food and the locals couldnt of made us feel more at home.will definately reccomend to anybody visiting the area and will be frequenting again soon.

  • Craig S

  • January 2015

Cracking accommodation

Great little pub, wholesome food, real ales, comfy bed, quiet and a good shower.

  • ian brearley

  • August 2014

No room at the Inn

Unfortunately I cannot rate the accommodation.

After driving the 3 and a half hours from Doncaster to Greenaugh we arrived at the Hollybush Inn to find no room had been booked for us. To make matters worse there was no accommodation available for miles around. We were informed by the lady at the Hollybush that every hotel and B & B was booked up in the valley and that it was Late Rooms error and that she'd had other problems with bookings through Late rooms. She did however make a phone call and arranged accommodation with a lady called 'Doreen' who lived in the village of Bellingham. We we told to look for a Green door opposite the Black Bull Pub. We were advised that this lady had just started up a B & B and would take us in as a' favour'. Feeling very disappointed we got back in the car and drove a further 8 miles to look for this accommodation. It was late afternoon and being in the most remote part of the UK we were starting to get nervous of the fact that if this accommodation was not suitable we may have to sleep the night in the car with our 13 year old son, surrounded by the local sheep. Anyway we did eventually find the 'Green Door' but as we entered the property it became apparant that we would have been in the way if we had stayed as there were builders renovating the property and it was not an ideal situation. We felt uncomfortable as there was no door to the bedroom and to get a shower we would have to go down two flights of stairs, past the builders. The lady at the B&B kindly offered us the room but at £105 for the night we decided that we would rather travel the 3 and a half hours back to Doncaster. The whole trip seemed very bazaar and we arrived home feeling very let down and absolutley shattered. On the plus side, we shall always remember this trip and having to drive for miles to look for accommodation we did view the beautiful scenery this part of the UK has to offer!

  • Stephen D

  • August 2014

Excellent accommodation near Kielder

Great place to stay, warm welcome, very nice room, quiet location (though it is a few miles from the reservoir) and good food and beer.

  • k wharton

  • June 2014


A very friendly country pub .Real ale ,locals very sociable

  • Carole S

  • February 2014

We had booked to go to Kielder Observatory and there was a mix up with times which meant we might have to miss tea.

The ladies were lovely and rushed something through so we could eat before we went. Another guest had the same problem and they offered to make sandwiches for her return. You can't fault service like that.

  • Neil B

  • January 2014

Birthday treat

On arrival we were welcomed by the very friendly staff.

The evening meal was good pub food but enjoyable. After eating we joined the locals in the small bar where we were made very welcome.

  • J Fallowfield

  • January 2014

Fabulous weekend at Holly Bush Inn.

Very friendly and perfect location for visiting the observatory. Will definitely be goin back :-)