No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holly Bush Inn

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Greenhaugh, Near Kielder, Greenhaugh, NE48 1PW
The Holly Bush is an Old drovers Inn dating back more than 300 years. A proper little pub which can be found in the book of Top Northumberland Inns. A welcoming log fire and good company in the bar you will feel at home with us very quickly. There are no TV's or slot machines, no signal for mobile phones just great atmosphere and good conversation. We have a restaurant serving mainly home cooked food sourced as locally as possible, a well stocked bar and real ales. There are six 'Four Star' ensuite bedrooms - three of which can be used a twin or family rooms. One room is on the ground floor and we also welcome pets. Proud to have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence by Trip Advisor, we take customer care very seriously and really want you to enjoy your stay with us.Secure off road parking for cycles and motor bikes and drying facilities for rainy days. We are located in the beautiful National Park (home to red squirrels) surrounded by fantastic countryside with no light pollution and very dark skies.
Picture of Holly Bush Inn, Greenhaugh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No room at the Inn
Unfortunately I cannot rate the accommodation. After driving the 3 and a half hours from Doncaster to Greenaugh we arrived at the Hollybush Inn to find no room had been booked for us. To make matters worse there was no accommodation available for miles around. We were informed by the lady at the Hollybush that every hotel and B & B was booked up in the valley and that it was Late Rooms error and that she'd had other problems with bookings through Late rooms. She did however make a phone call and arranged accommodation with a lady called 'Doreen' who lived in the village of Bellingham. We we told to look for a Green door opposite the Black Bull Pub. We were advised that this lady had just started up a B & B and would take us in as a' favour'. Feeling very disappointed we got back in the car and drove a further 8 miles to look for this accommodation. It was late afternoon and being in the most remote part of the UK we were starting to get nervous of the fact that if this accommodation was not suitable we may have to sleep the night in the car with our 13 year old son, surrounded by the local sheep! Anyway we did eventually find the 'Green Door' but as we entered the property it became apparant that we would have been in the way if we had stayed as there were builders renovating the property and it was not an ideal situation. We felt uncomfortable as there was no door to the bedroom and to get a shower we would have to go down two flights of stairs, past the builders. The lady at the B&B kindly offered us the room but at £105 for the night we decided that we would rather travel the 3 and a half hours back to Doncaster. The whole trip seemed very bazaar and we arrived home feeling very let down and absolutley shattered. On the plus side, we shall always remember this trip and having to drive for miles to look for accommodation we did view the beautiful scenery this part of the UK has to offer!

Reviewed by
ian brearley

From doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation near Kielder
Great place to stay, warm welcome, very nice room, quiet location (though it is a few miles from the reservoir) and good food and beer.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

724wanderer
A very friendly country pub .Real ale ,locals very sociable

Reviewed by
k wharton

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had booked to go to Kielder Observatory and there was a mix up with times which meant we might have to miss tea. The ladies were lovely and rushed something through so we could eat before we went. Another guest had the same problem and they offered to make sandwiches for her return. You can't fault service like that.

Reviewed by
Carole S

From Jarrow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
On arrival we were welcomed by the very friendly staff. The evening meal was good pub food but enjoyable. After eating we joined the locals in the small bar where we were made very welcome.

Reviewed by
Neil B

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous weekend at Holly Bush Inn. Very friendly and perfect location for visiting the observatory. Will definitely be goin back :-)

Reviewed by
J Fallowfield

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very handy for Kielder and a great B&B stay
Came as a couple to the Holly Bush for a stay exploring Kielder for a couple of days. It's a very good, unpretentious pub B&B. Excellent customer service, and both evening meal (extra) and breakfast (included) were very good. Room was clean and tidy with a nice en suite bathroom. Just ideal for a one night stay for us. Minor complaint was that we stayed on a Saturday night and the pub downstairs (we were both tired after a days walking) was a little noisy, including a loudly conducted argument between a couple at about 11:00 right outside our window. Not that that could be helped of course. Otherwise highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Garry B

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay.
Made very welcome. Great litle gem far from the madding crowd, although was busy. Food simple but great quality. Breakfast next day fab. Room great. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Darren M

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and great food
On arrival there had been a double booking but the owner mary did not hesitate to offer her private let apartment. We could not have asked for a friendlier service. We really appreciated this kind offer for the price of a deluxe room, and would have been easy for mary to allow us to leave. However she offered this apartment out of her own kindness and it was lovely. The food was amazing , with evening meals and a hearty breakfast. We would stay here again in the future and highly re commend this b&b to all travellers. Many thanks for your kind hospitality.

Reviewed by
C Ruthven

From Kelso, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad we found the Holly bush inn
Great place to stay, nothing too much trouble, staff couldn't be more helpful, room was clean and very modern but still has old farmhouse charm. The bar is cosy with a blazing fire from the range. Locals are so friendly we felt we had known them for years . Food was really good. All in all a great break in a great place. We definitely will be going back.

Reviewed by
Suzanne Morton

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next