No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield House Hotel

3AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
119, Highfield Lane , Southampton, SO17 1AQ
The recently completed £1.5 million refurbishment guarantees that Highfield House Hotel offers you not only fantastic hospitality but also a great environment with a local flavour. The hotel is just over 2 miles from Southampton city centre, within easy access of the M27 & M3 motorways and within walking distance of the university and 326 acres of common.

All of the 71 bedrooms have been refurbished, offering a fresh and contemporary feel with all the modern essentials we cannot do without these days, including en suite, tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TV's, lap top safe, ironing station an ideal setting to focus or relax. We have a reputation for our high level of cleanliness, highly rated by the AA.

With seating for 60, the breakfast room offers you a brighter start to the day, the buffet breakfast provides you with both full English and continental choices and always features our refreshing homemade fruit salad, cold meats, cheese, yoghurt selection and cereal bar, prime pork sausages, free range eggs and everything that you would expect to find to set you up for the day ahead! A 42" TV enables you to keep up to date with all the news stories of the day during breakfast - home from home!

You can be confident that Highfield House Hotel will provide modern business services tailored to your exact needs to ensure that your meetings and events are the success that you need them to be. The three rooms are available for individual use or combined with a maximum capacity of up to 100 theatre style. All rooms offer both natural daylight and air conditioning.
Picture of Highfield House Hotel, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 156 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant friendly hotel
Attending my daughter's graduation ceremony so we chose this hotel owing to its proximity to Southampton University campus. Short walk - excellent choice! Adjacent Ceno's bar was a pleasant bonus on the hottest day/evening of 2014.
Excellent breakfast in the light and airy dining room.
Friendly and helpful staff in particular Paul who could not have done more to make our stay comfortable - thank you Paul.

Reviewed by
P Barrow

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, clean and cheap
Ideal accommodation for a one night stay in Southampton, close to the University. Good breakfast!

Reviewed by
John D

From Hungerford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

top quality.

Reviewed by
Mark Bailie

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

University Of Southampton opendays
This hotel is very handy for the open days at the university of Southampton . Rooms adequate but ours smelt very musty on entering but soon cleared after the window was opened. Small bathroom and even smaller towels! Beds reasonably comfy with spare pillows provided if needed. Hotel staff very polite and informative. Breakfast was very good value buffet style, well presented and delicious! All in all a very reasonably priced hotel which Is good value for money.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, lovely room, fab food

Reviewed by
S Homer

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff couldnt have been anymore helpful room clean and tidy and breskfast was great more than happy would stay again

Reviewed by
helen gallop

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
We were welcomed by the Reception staff and within minutes had not only given us our room key but arranged for a taxi to take us to the theatre and showed us where we could eat. Room was fine, very clean, lovely big bathroom. Breakfast next morning was good. Overall very good value.

Reviewed by
Barbara M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff and clean rooms
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel, room and bathroom were clean, whilst the breakfast was also very good, with a great selection of foods. Unfortunately, the rooms didn't appear to have air conditioning, however I may have missed if it did, my reasoning for this was my stay was during a particularly hot period, so air conditioning would have been useful, yet in reality, we don't tend to usually have such hot weather in England.

Reviewed by
S Cameron

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
Good customer service. We needed extra key cards for our rooms and they were more than happy to do so at no cost. Very nice breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
oliver Wyld

From Cowes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and quiet location on ground floor of Hotel.
Relocated to twin ground floor room at no extra cost.
Very good receptionists - very impressed.with my visit

Reviewed by
C DAVIES

From ABINGDON, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next