You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Highfield House Hotel


119, Highfield Lane, Southampton, SO17 1AQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Liz Adamson

  • September 2016


Although my single room was quite small and a little shabby, it was very clean, very comfortable and very quiet considering what a lively, student centre Portswood is.

All of the staff were lovely, welcoming, helpful and keen to know that I was happy and enjoying my stay. The breakfasts I enjoyed were delicious, hot and beautifully cooked. Overall, a really enjoyable stay.

  • Brenda S

  • September 2016

Sadly not for us

Very nice staff and excellent breakfast but a hotel should be mainly for sleep quality and we both had a dreadful night's sleep as the beds were so uncomfortable and made such a noise each time we turned over.

The bathroom had a cracked washbasin and as a nurse I cringe at the germs growing in there!

  • D Craig

  • August 2016

Pleasant stay

Friendly staff, clean room, all round nice visit

  • A Wicks

  • July 2016

Great hotel

My son and I stayed overnight here for his graduation ceremony.

Staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The room was perfect and absolutely spotless. Very comfy beds too. Breakfast was delicious with a large variety of food to choose from. Would definitely stay at Highfield House if ever in Southampton again.

  • D Craig

  • July 2016

Pleasant stay

Very friendly staff, nice hotel, close to town, for the price - the room was good.

  • P Lewis

  • May 2016

Highfield House Hotel

My friend and I stayed one night before going on a cruise holiday.

The hotel staff were very helpful, pleasant and made us very welcome. Excellent breakfast, and thankyou for the box of chocolates.

  • B Morgan

  • May 2016


Not really a hotel, more of a B&B, providing you don't want breakfast before 7.

The alternative is an uninspired doggy bag. The room itself was more hostel-like. Very creaky floors, lots of traffic noise, inebriated students disturbing the peace at all hours. I went off looking for food nearby and found a couple of nice, sensible options but, the place next to the hotel was pretending to be trendy (£12 for a burger), and was generally empty albeit it was recommended to me by hotel staff it is best avoided. I wouldn't describe it as being in a particularly nice area either. Most definitely won't go back.

  • Steven M

  • May 2016

Good value and pleasant staff

I stayed in a single room.

It was comfortable and clean, if a little dated. The bed was comfortable and I slept well with very little noise. The hotel is good value and unlike many local hotels, it has ample free parking.

  • christine m

  • May 2016

a little gem

Good hotel, good location, reasonably priced, stayed here just one night before a cruise from Southampton.

  • Brian L

  • April 2016

OK for 1 night

Room was OK, but the shower flow was a trickle , made it effectively in usable, so I wouldn't want to stay more than 1 night