No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield House Hotel

3AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
119, Highfield Lane , Southampton, SO17 1AQ
The recently completed £1.5 million refurbishment guarantees that Highfield House Hotel offers you not only fantastic hospitality but also a great environment with a local flavour. The hotel is just over 2 miles from Southampton city centre, within easy access of the M27 & M3 motorways and within walking distance of the university and 326 acres of common.

All of the 71 bedrooms have been refurbished, offering a fresh and contemporary feel with all the modern essentials we cannot do without these days, including en suite, tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TV's, lap top safe, ironing station an ideal setting to focus or relax. We have a reputation for our high level of cleanliness, highly rated by the AA.

With seating for 60, the breakfast room offers you a brighter start to the day, the buffet breakfast provides you with both full English and continental choices and always features our refreshing homemade fruit salad, cold meats, cheese, yoghurt selection and cereal bar, prime pork sausages, free range eggs and everything that you would expect to find to set you up for the day ahead! A 42" TV enables you to keep up to date with all the news stories of the day during breakfast - home from home!

You can be confident that Highfield House Hotel will provide modern business services tailored to your exact needs to ensure that your meetings and events are the success that you need them to be. The three rooms are available for individual use or combined with a maximum capacity of up to 100 theatre style. All rooms offer both natural daylight and air conditioning.
Picture of Highfield House Hotel, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 146 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night stay
Convenient when taking a cruise from Southampton. Polite helpful staff , good accommodation within pleasant environs. We use the hotel whenever we take a cruise.

Reviewed by
Tyrone R

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Excellent breakfast. Attentive staff. Everything you need to start your day well.

Reviewed by
Stephanie K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location for use and comfortable
enjoyed our short stay comfortable room though it was a bit warm in the room. nice breakfast and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
G Giebner

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly adequate for one night bed and breakfast
Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable accommodation for a budget hotel and we were lucky enough to be put in a family room so had more space than in a standard double room. We were surprised that there was no food available at any time other than breakfast, but breakfast itself was plentiful and very good with scrambled eggs cooked fresh on request. All in all this was a good place for a one night stay while we visited Southampton on a theatre trip.

Reviewed by
KIM W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value and a lovely experience
This hotel is a real gem - very well kept public spaces and rooms, with everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing overnight stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only slight negative was banging doors - would be useful to have something which meant fellow travellers had to close doors carefully! But having said that, it wasn't a big deal.

Reviewed by
Ann T

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Great place to stay we stayed at the highfield house hotel for 2 nights, the room was very comfortable and very clean. The dining room where breakfast was served was also very nice and the breakfast( as much as you required),was excellent and the waitresses were very helpful and curtious. I would certanly rec

Reviewed by
VALERIE B

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highfield house hotel first stay
Photographs of hotel gave impression of a country location. I should have checked with Google Earth. Room 26 was noisy. Shower did not work properly in room 26.
Room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was first class.

Reviewed by
Brian Johnson

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly
It was very clean nice white sheets and towels chamber maids very efficient.The breakfast was
great everything you would want fruit cousants cereal and a full English what more could you want

Reviewed by
Christine H

From Great wakering, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and convenient
Well placed hotel and easy to get to.
Friendly and helpful staff.
My room was big enough, clean and comfortable. Free wi-fi even in the room was really useful.
You cannot get an evening meal in the hotel, but there are plenty of places within a very short walk.
Breakfast very good.
I will use again, but not at over £80 that I paid this time!

Reviewed by
J WRIGHT

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All OK no problems

Reviewed by
kathy worrall

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next