No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Capple Bank Farm

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
West Witton, Capple Bank Farm, West Witton, Leyburn, DL8 4ND
Capple Bank Farm which has been 5 Star rated for 5 years, nestles in the heart of Wensleydale, within the National Park, 4 miles from Leyburn. It is an ideal place to relax or to walk from the house on many long or short walks. Being on the side of Penhill it is ideal to base yourself here to explore Wensleydale, Coverdale and Swaledale. The village boasts The Wensleydale Heifer restaurant, and our local pub, The Fox and Hounds. Eating out is not a problem in our area!! There are many good pubs in the nearby villages. The house is completely re-modernised and redecorated and has 3 double rooms en suite, 2 of which are super king-size, all with stunning views. 2 rooms may be twins. We welcome you with tea and sort out any requirements you may need. Rooms have TV, hair-dryers, WiFi internet, and tea and coffee making facilities. High quality bed linen is used, ensuring guests have all the comforts of their own home, with shampoo and bath goodies in their bathroom. It is all very comfortable. Breakfast is taken in the large open plan dining room, with locally sourced food. Fish-cakes are a speciality and kedgeree if ordered in good time!! A stay with the Smithers is a memorable one and we love to see the many people returning to us yearly to take another well earned rest at Capple Bank!
Picture of Capple Bank Farm, Leyburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Short Break
A charming and enjoyable 2-night stay at Capple Bank Farm. Warmly welcomed on arrival with a cup of tea and cake, Mafra and Julian were both excellent hosts making us feel at home and always willing to provide valuable information on the local area; the 4 dogs were also extremely friendly and added to the enjoyment of the stay The standard of accommodation was very good, not including the unfortunate swarm of flies in the en-suite that were quickly dealt with. Breakfast on both days was hearty and most enjoyable, setting us up well for a day's walking in the attractive contryside surrounding the property.

Reviewed by
Christopher F

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mick and Sandra's leisure break
Excellent hosts and accommodation leading to a perfect
4 nights stay @ Capple farm. Highly recommended.
A big thank you to Marfa and Julian for putting up with us!!

Reviewed by
Michael Oliver

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet farmhouse with lovely views across the fields
Excellent accommodation. Spotlessly clean. Rooms were lovely and the owners couldn't have been more helpful. Very quiet and it was so nice to look across the fields and see the horses and chickens in the field from our bedroom. Breakfast was also first class and cooked to perfection. There are also some nice country pubs for evening meals within a short distance.

Reviewed by
P Holder

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
The room was clean, with all the added necessary comforts, comfy, country style and had amazing views...got up early to watch a beautiful sunrise over the valley, saw wonderful wildlife and plenty of piece and quiet..heavenly. Mr and Mrs Smithers were very welcoming and offered good information about local and surrounding areas to visit. Tea and cake on arrival and a delicious, ample breakfast was happily provided daily. All of which made our short stay memorable .

Reviewed by
s robinson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous weekend break
The hosts Julian and Mafra were very welcoming on arrival. We were directed to the beautiful lounge where we were served tea and cake which was very unexpected but such a lovely treat. We were given fresh milk for the room tea tray which was great.
The setting for the farmhouse is second to none the views are spectacular.
Mafra was very helpful in securing us a table at the Heifer on the Friday night and both Julian and Mafra shared their knowledge of the local area and suggested routes for walks.

Reviewed by
p bevan

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Weekend Break

Reviewed by
andrew bradley

From leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful relaxing weekend.
We had a wonderful relaxing weekend. .
Fantastic location, helpful and friendly hosts, superb breakfasts, would not hesitate to recommend this B & B.

Reviewed by
Adam K

From Otley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unique and fantastic place to stay
A very warm and personal welcome which continued throughout our 3 day stay, room very well appointed and comfortable, breakfasts were excellent ' full English' . The views from the bedroom windows and from around the farm were spectacular. Certainly will stay here again and we have been telling all our friends about this place.

Reviewed by
J Kent

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely first rate!
I can't recommend this highly enough. Incredibly friendly service, a lovely location and excellent food. We would definitely like to return!

Reviewed by
Benedict C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation in idyllic position overlooking Wensleydale.
We were greeted on our arrival by our host, Mafra Smithers, with tea and home made fruitcake. Our room was on the first floor of the newly converted barn. The bed was a very comfortable super kingsize and the room was large enough to contain a settee and an armchair. I awoke in the morning and looked to my left with views over Wensleydale. The breakfast was delicious with good quality food properly cooked.

Reviewed by
John Dewhurst

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next