No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Jesmond Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
34 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AJ
Welcome to Jesmond Hotel, a small hotel near Newcastle Upon with a personal touch.

Whether for business or pleasure, our central location with its welcoming and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for visitors to Newcastle & Gateshead as well as the wider region. We pride ourselves on excellent customer care, giving individual attention to all of our guests and ensuring a very high standard of service throughout the hotel.

Limited Free Parking is available on first come first serve basis (Permits given on arrival). The hotel accepts no responsibility for parking fines. It is the guest responsibility to display the permit or alternatively to park elsewhere when permits are not available.

Picture of Jesmond Hotel, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Friendly welcome, pleasant compact room, relaxed basic breakfast. It met all my needs and at a good price.

Reviewed by
Tim L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed in a single room, which was small but adequate for its purpose.
Room was clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
Gary Flynn

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room to small, too expensive for room quality and location.
Check out time of 11 am is too early.

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place.
Used this place for a weekend on the drink. Great rooms, comfy beds (didn't use it much, but still) and a particularly good shower! Staff were all friendly and happy to help. They even let my mate have another room key after he came in absolutely leathered at 4/5am.

Reviewed by
J Howey

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a pretty awful experience at this hotel.
Firstly, the positives... The best thing about this hotel was the Persian restaurant. Food was outstanding and very good value (wine £12-15 and dishes £2-5, of which you would order several) and the service was good. The young lady on reception was friendly and engaging. She hadn't worked there long so struggled to find the times breakfast was available, but was keen to please and greeted us with a smile.
The room was small and a difficult shape. It was down-at-heel, though clean. It appeared to have been a larger room sub-divided and this was confirmed by our experience later. Our neighbours were a hen party and the walls were paper-thin. Not only could we clearly hear their music and conversation, but when one of them made a phone call late at night we could not only hear our neighbour talking but the responses from the person she called. It was so bad it was a threat to privacy.
Go to the restaurant. Try the food. Don't stay at the hotel if an alternative is available.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent City Break
Good hotel, great city

Reviewed by
Dave P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel
This is our 3rd stay at this hotel - it has changed owners since our last stay and has gone from strength to strength. The rooms are nicely decorated and for the price and location can't be beat. Had the cooked breakfast and was ok. Although didn't eat in the restaurant down stairs also looked nice and no noise/smell etc came up into the rooms even though it was a busy Friday night.

Reviewed by
Jade W

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel accommodation was simple but clean.There were 1 or 2 small niggles, such as a sticking shower door and no lift.Our lights had fused when we returned to our hotel late but the young man on the desk promptly and efficiently dealt with that. The main issue was other guests on the same floor disturbing us by loud knocking on doors etc in the early hours of the morning and we had no way to ask reception to intervene. other than that the hotel was well placed.

Reviewed by
J Brook

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
We booked this hotel for one night to break up our journey to Edinburgh. For value it was very good, the rooms were very nice. However there were a few things that were not expected. First off when they said free they basically meant first come first served on parking permits so we had to park elsewhere. Secondly, the bald man I was greeted by at the desk was not very informative at all: there was no mention of facilities like the bar, didn't ask whether we had stayed with them before and when describing where to park it was unsettling to find that it was what looked like a parking permit space, so we were worried we would get a ticket. Other than those minor details, that I hope this hotel will improve on, it was a pleasant stay and the location in Newcastle was wonderful.

Reviewed by
Ben Holness

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Miserable night's sleep
Poor parking facilities (I was given misleading information on this when I rang to enquire). Unfriendly receptionist upon arrival. The room had grubby walls, which made me question the hygeine of the rest of the room. The WIFi does not work at all. The windows might as well not have any glass, since the noise from the main road at the front was intolerable. The walls are pretty thin - I could hear every detail of the couple in the next room's late night antics. DIdn't stick around for the £7 breakfast. Would never stay here again!

Reviewed by
G Riseborough

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next