Reviews - Jesmond Hotel



Price From 81.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (48)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Steve B

  • February 2015

I had a pretty awful experience at this hotel.

Firstly, the positives... The best thing about this hotel was the Persian restaurant. Food was outstanding and very good value (wine £12-15 and dishes £2-5, of which you would order several) and the service was good. The young lady on reception was friendly and engaging. She hadn't worked there long so struggled to find the times breakfast was available, but was keen to please and greeted us with a smile.

The room was small and a difficult shape. It was down-at-heel, though clean. It appeared to have been a larger room sub-divided and this was confirmed by our experience later. Our neighbours were a hen party and the walls were paper-thin. Not only could we clearly hear their music and conversation, but when one of them made a phone call late at night we could not only hear our neighbour talking but the responses from the person she called. It was so bad it was a threat to privacy. Go to the restaurant. Try the food. Don't stay at the hotel if an alternative is available.

  • Jade W

  • December 2014

Great little hotel

This is our 3rd stay at this hotel - it has changed owners since our last stay and has gone from strength to strength.

The rooms are nicely decorated and for the price and location can't be beat. Had the cooked breakfast and was ok. Although didn't eat in the restaurant down stairs also looked nice and no noise/smell etc came up into the rooms even though it was a busy Friday night.

  • J Brook

  • November 2014

The hotel accommodation was simple but clean.There were 1 or 2 small niggles, such as a sticking shower door and no lift.Our lights had fused when we returned to our hotel late but the young man on the desk promptly and efficiently dealt with that.

The main issue was other guests on the same floor disturbing us by loud knocking on doors etc in the early hours of the morning and we had no way to ask reception to intervene. other than that the hotel was well placed.

  • Ben Holness

  • November 2014

Good Hotel

We booked this hotel for one night to break up our journey to Edinburgh.

For value it was very good, the rooms were very nice. However there were a few things that were not expected. First off when they said free they basically meant first come first served on parking permits so we had to park elsewhere. Secondly, the bald man I was greeted by at the desk was not very informative at all: there was no mention of facilities like the bar, didn't ask whether we had stayed with them before and when describing where to park it was unsettling to find that it was what looked like a parking permit space, so we were worried we would get a ticket. Other than those minor details, that I hope this hotel will improve on, it was a pleasant stay and the location in Newcastle was wonderful.

  • G Riseborough

  • November 2014

Miserable night's sleep

Poor parking facilities (I was given misleading information on this when I rang to enquire).

Unfriendly receptionist upon arrival. The room had grubby walls, which made me question the hygeine of the rest of the room. The WIFi does not work at all. The windows might as well not have any glass, since the noise from the main road at the front was intolerable. The walls are pretty thin - I could hear every detail of the couple in the next room's late night antics. DIdn't stick around for the £7 breakfast. Would never stay here again!

  • Sue S

  • October 2014

Overall thoughts

Pleased there was free on road parking via a parking permit from the hotel.

The room was clean and tidy with a good size on- suite bathroom. Walls on the thin side though - noise from other rooms was a problem. Would have liked to sample the Persian food in the restaurant but it appeared very full soon after our arrival at 7.30pm so suggest reserving a table when booking the room- may need to telephone. Full breakfast was not disappointing and set us up for the day.

  • Bob May

  • September 2014

Good location, room (& bed) small

Close to the centre of Jesmond and only a £3.40 taxi ride from Newcastle City Centre.

Comfortable but not spacious.

  • A Moore

  • September 2014

A nice clean friendly hotel in a pleasant suburb of Newcastle.

I came to visit my son in Newcastle and found this a very clean, friendly hotel.

The staff were very helpful. I did not have breakfast there so cannot comment on the food. There is a Persian restaurant there which seemed very popular. I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • e bunter

  • September 2014

Jesmond Hotel

When me and my friend arrived at the Jesmond hotel the people were lovely and polite.

We was offered a cooked breakfast and we didn't have breakfast but wish I had as the food smelt and look lovely. the room wasn't what I was expecting its was lovely decorated and was really clean. Overall I was really impressed and pleased with our stay and we will defiantly be staying at the Jesmond again.

  • K Smith

  • September 2014


Great location for Jesmond and Newcastle, parking was easy and direct travel can be arranged for travel into Newcastle.