No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Jesmond Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
34 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AJ
Welcome to Jesmond Hotel, a small hotel near Newcastle Upon with a personal touch. Whether for business or pleasure, our central location with its welcoming and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for visitors to Newcastle & Gateshead as well as the wider region. We pride ourselves on excellent customer care, giving individual attention to all of our guests and ensuring a very high standard of service throughout the hotel. Limited parking is available on a first come first serve basis. Free WiFi is available in our hotel.

Picture of Jesmond Hotel, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel
My fiance and I enjoyed two very comfortable nights (Sat & Sun) at the Jesmond Hotel. We arrived early and before the normal check-in time of 2pm, but the staff arranged it so the room was cleaned and we were able to go in early. Our spacious double room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the side of the building (Fern Avenue) and it was lovely and quiet - no traffic noise at all. I very gratefully used the large bathtub both nights, perfect for soaking in after a long day walking around the city. The only mishap was when the TV wasn't working and we were getting ready to watch Downton Abbey! The staff quickly replaced the batteries on the remote control and retuned the TV so everything was back in order. Great service, a nice place and we highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
H Teague

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed an extra night
My visit was initially for 1 night and I checked out accordingly. Circumstances dictated I needed to stay an extra night so I checked back in to the hotel. I had no hesitation in returning. Great value and a great breakfast! They even searched the building for a suitable phone charger!!

Reviewed by
A Bonner

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Polite helpful staff, room quite small,,bed v soft and lots of street noise til v late

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only complaint was a soft bed and noisy doors in the corridor which u can hear from your room
all in all though good value for money and a great location

Reviewed by
Mark M

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location!!!
Came up for bank holiday Sunday-Monday .. Great location for night out minutes away from the toon and the bars up the street was rammed!!!! Our room was really Clean and the staff where really friendly breakfast was good too!! All in all a good weekend will be returning!!

Reviewed by
k ahlfors

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent guest house
Fantastic decor, great location and very clean. We stayed for one night in a twin room and were incredibly impressed with the room we stayed in. The staff are friendly and helpful, you are a minutes walk away from the bars and restaurants in jesmond but the guest house itself is quiet. Would definitely recommend .

Reviewed by
E Dollman

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location but that was the only plus!
Receptionist said only 2 words to us, no explanation about where to find the room, hotel facilities or breakfast options. Also requested money on arrival despite having booked with a credit card. Very rude I thought. Bathroom mouldy, tv not working properly, uncomfortable beds and horrible view over rubbish in back yard. Would not stay again.

Reviewed by
laura h

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only a 1 night stay
Receptionest very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Sandy A

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
We were visiting our son who lives in Jesmond so it was very convenient. The room was small but had all the facilities we needed and it was clean. There was free parking on the road outside the hotel (using a hotel parking permit). The breakfast was good but I would recommend the full English at £7 rather than the continental at £5 - just fruit, cereal and toast. The only down side was that the room was very warm so we needed to have the windows open meaning that the traffic noise was quite loud.

Reviewed by
Kath N

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean accommodation
Friendly helpful staff. Pleasant reception area. Room which was a single was very clean and tastefully furnished. Some hotels have single rooms which aren't very good but here at the Jesmond it was as good as any double. Only fault was kettle wouldn't stay on unless you pressed down on it! Overall very pleased with stay. Took an evening meal quite late around 9.15 and found it to be very acceptable.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments and appreciation and for bringing to our attention the problem with the kettle. We will fix/replace it as soon as possible. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Newcastle. The management, Jesmond Hotel

Reviewed by
L Russell

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next