No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
1 Commercial Street, , , Durham, DH7 9BN
Just a 20-minute drive from historic Durham, The Royal Oak is a family-run hotel offering a traditional restaurant, a bar, and free WiFi throughout. The hotel has wonderful views of the County Durham countryside. Each of the rooms at The Royal Oak has an iPod docking station, a TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathrooms feature a hairdryer, and all rooms have scenic views. Guests can enjoy classic home-cooked meals in the pub restaurant. The bar offers a range of light snacks, real local ales and fine wines, and there is also a games area with darts and a pool table. With free private parking, The Royal Oak Hotel is within a 35-minute drive of lively Newcastle and Gateshead. The Yorkshire Dales and Northumberland National Park are both within an hour’s drive.
Picture of The Royal Oak, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly local pub
Ian was a great host, very relaxed. The pub and its locals were very welcoming. Both the evening meal and breakfast were tasty and great value for money; my only slight gripe is that we were unaware on booking there were some rooms that were outside in an annexe - we were in one of them and there was more noise that I would have expected if we had been given one of the rooms above the pub. That said, it was still a great value and enjoyable stay and I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Christine W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Oak
This was a very friendly place and we were made most welcome

Reviewed by
M Sansum

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
So glad I found this place. Very friendly owners. Breakfast served to perfection. Comfortable night's sleep. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Paul L

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Room was nothing outstanding but clean and tidy, so still good value for money.
Excelent friendly, helpfull staff and outstanding food (quality and quantity!) realy made the say.
Location is a little remote which will be ideal for some but won't suit everyone...

Reviewed by
Paul D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
Suited my needs for an over night stay. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Pub had a friendly atmosphere and you were made to feel welcome at all times. Worth a trip out for the Sunday lunch alone. Excellent meal and great value. Would stay at The Royal Oak again if in the area. Rooms were clean and functional

Reviewed by
C Weston

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming place to stay for us and our dog.
Just had a three night midweek break at the Royal Oak. Sonia and Ian made us feel at home straight away. Lovely friendly pub in the heart of a village. Excellent location for visiting the north east and Yorkshire dales. Very good food, excellent value for money. Our dog was made very welcome. We would recommend this pub if you are looking for a down to earth and comfortable place to stay. Thanks to Sonia and Ian for looking after us.

Reviewed by
L Orritt

From rochdale, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome & great food
Value for money, room was adequate, food was excellent, bit out of the way, but would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
R Ward

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durham visit
Good basic accommodation at a bargain price, only 10 - 15 minutes from Durham.
The hosts made me feel very welcome and couldn't have been more helpful. Excellent breakfast and evening meal.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Anthony R

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay on Bonfire night
Fantastic people if you like mixing. Rang me early morning to warn me that food was limited due to bonfire night. I love the people of the North East just like Yorkshire folk, what you see is what you get.
Love it
PS
Change those sausages at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Keith K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sonia, the landlady, was very friendly & helpful during our stay.
If we visit the area again we will definitely stay at the Royal Oak.
We stayed with our 2 young grandchildren & were made very welcome

Reviewed by
Georgina L

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next