Reviews - The Royal Oak

3

1 Commercial Street, ,, Durham, DH7 9BN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paul L

  • March 2015

Absolutely brilliant on all possible accounts

This is a little gem.

For only £35 a night, you'd expect a bit of a dive, but this B&B is absolutely fabulous. The owners who run the pub are very friendly and welcoming. All drinks go on the tab for the next morning and I was even able to order what I wanted for breakfast the night before and choose what time I got up as I was the only one having breakfast that day. WiFi works a treat unlike in most hotels and as this is in a rural area it took me by surprise that it wasn't slow. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and my plate was packed. Room was very comfortable indeed with TV with all the channels and very clean bathroom. I've been here twice now and will go again when working there next year. They even told me that if I'd have caught the train to Durham that they'd have picked me up :-)

  • rachel willetts

  • December 2014

The best b and b we have ever stayed in

Staff and owners friendly and welcoming, excellent breakfast cooked exactly to your liking evening meal prices very reasonable and of ample portion.

rooms great clean and contemporary. No excess noise level even from a party that was held during our stay. The pub area is a traditional style country pub that was cosy, ales etc. reasonably priced. Great location with nice views, their is absolutely nothing not to like or negative to say considering the nightly price you pay to stay here will definitely be going back every time we are in Durham. Thanks Sonia.

  • martin c

  • October 2014

Royal oak

Nice friendly pub, good atmosphere.

Room was nice, clean with a nice big bed, plenty of clean towels. Had a poker night on when we stayed, thought we would be disturbed, but didn't hear a thing. Landlady was lovely, Full English breakfast was top notch. For what we paid, very good value.

  • J Grabowski

  • October 2014

A friendly pub

I had a very nice stay.

The room was clean and spacious. The staff friendly and helpful. The beer good and the food excellent. Both evening meals and breakfasts were well cooked and generous portions. I'll certainly stay again if I'm in the area

  • LISA G

  • September 2014

Review

Not suitable for families

  • Jonathan C

  • September 2014

Pub with rooms

The room was okay if in need of a refurb, the breakfast was fine and the friendliness of the landlady could not be faulted.

But the first night I was there they had live music in the bar until late and there was no escape. For that reason I can't really recommend it.

  • p clift

  • August 2014

country life

friendly welcome by the landlady , a clean decent sized room,(could do with a lick of paint) en suite clean with a good shower.bar liveley but not noisey good menu not pricey.

A good nights sleep in a comfortable bed with a great view across lovely country. my breakfast was well cooked and served in the bar dining area. This is good value for money B&B in a small village & I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Christine W

  • July 2014

Friendly local pub

Ian was a great host, very relaxed.

The pub and its locals were very welcoming. Both the evening meal and breakfast were tasty and great value for money; my only slight gripe is that we were unaware on booking there were some rooms that were outside in an annexe - we were in one of them and there was more noise that I would have expected if we had been given one of the rooms above the pub. That said, it was still a great value and enjoyable stay and I would stay there again.

  • M Sansum

  • June 2014

The Royal Oak

This was a very friendly place and we were made most welcome

  • Paul L

  • March 2014

Great find

So glad I found this place.

Very friendly owners. Breakfast served to perfection. Comfortable night's sleep. Thank you.