No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
1 Commercial Street, , , Durham, DH7 9BN
Just a 20-minute drive from historic Durham, The Royal Oak is a family-run hotel offering a traditional restaurant, a bar, and free WiFi throughout. The hotel has wonderful views of the County Durham countryside. Each of the rooms at The Royal Oak has an iPod docking station, a TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathrooms feature a hairdryer, and all rooms have scenic views. Guests can enjoy classic home-cooked meals in the pub restaurant. The bar offers a range of light snacks, real local ales and fine wines, and there is also a games area with darts and a pool table. With free private parking, The Royal Oak Hotel is within a 35-minute drive of lively Newcastle and Gateshead. The Yorkshire Dales and Northumberland National Park are both within an hour’s drive.
Picture of The Royal Oak, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to explore the Durham area
We stayed for a couple of nights as a base to explore the Durham area and do a bit of walking. Lovely area with good short country walks just outside the front door. Easy access to beautiful Durham city. Great value pub accomodation, wonderful hospitality, superb traditional breakfast and very good value and plentiful fresh homemade pub food in the evenings. Sonia and Ian made us feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Margaret B

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and enjoyed my stay

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Lelant, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B & B
Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back again for the Great North run 2014, nothing was too much trouble even offered us a cooked breakfast before our early set off, our pub meal was lovely, would strongly recommend, thanks again, Carol & Paul

Reviewed by
Carol Wooldridge

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we stayed in needs a lick of paint, there were no tea/coffee making facilities despite the landlady saying that she would put some in the room. We had a very early start the morning after we stayed here and the pub downstairs was very noisy until after midnight. We had to walk through large groups of people with our daughter when we returned to the room. I would not recommend this hotel if you have children of any age.

Reviewed by
H Marshall

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Very friendly reception when I arrived and during my stay, it is a nice little B&B in a village pub in a small village. Room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good. Will be staying here again.

Reviewed by
A Dixon

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Busy village pub. Good food prepared for you as you wait -- not cooked & re-heated -- rooms spotless
Owners doing a grand job to create a successful business. Improvements to exterior & chalets ongoing. Builders mess could be tidied up improve visual amenity. Welcome, craik and service couldn't be better. A good base to travel from -- lounge amenities limited. Great value for money --AND so handy for Chester-le-Street and the Cricket.

Reviewed by
ALLAN M

From West Calder, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the royal oak
What a fantastic three days we had. Sonia and Ian were the perfect hosts from the welcome we received on arrival to our departure. The food and accommodation were first class. The locals were very welcoming and friendly and we could not have wished for a better place to stay. We will definately be going back in the near future and would recommend to anyone. Thanks Sonia and Ian for everything and for making our stay such a pleasure. See you soon.

Reviewed by
Alwyn Bowdon

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sonia and Ian were excellent hosts

Reviewed by
Terence R

From Bagillt, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was not actually in the Hotel it was very similar to a Motel type arrangement, this suited us perfectly it was immaculate and very well thought out. Sonia and Ian (sorry if hubby's name wrong but not good with names) were very welcoming hosts, and you felt part of the family. The food was outstanding and very fresh, i asked for a salad with my steak which was cooked to perfection, and i must say that it was one of the best salads that i have had away from home (it was a proper salad with lots of different things in it and very fresh ), my hubby had that steak pie and i think there must have been half a pound of steak in it and he said it was the best pie he had ever had, the food was also a very good price.

Reviewed by
Christine Honneyman

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and welcoming
Nice place to base yourself for visit to Durham and surrounding countryside. Hosts very welcoming and accommodating and nothing too much trouble for them. Because our visit was a brief one, we only had breakfast, which was excellent, but their food has a great reputation as a few people mentioned to us when we told them we were staying there.

Reviewed by
COLIN L

From EDINBURGH, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next