The Royal Oak

3

1 Commercial Street, ,, Durham, DH7 9BN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paul D

  • February 2014

Nice place to stay

Room was nothing outstanding but clean and tidy, so still good value for money.

Excelent friendly, helpfull staff and outstanding food (quality and quantity!) realy made the say. Location is a little remote which will be ideal for some but won't suit everyone...

  • C Weston

  • February 2014

Weekend Stay

Suited my needs for an over night stay.

Owners were very friendly and helpful. Pub had a friendly atmosphere and you were made to feel welcome at all times. Worth a trip out for the Sunday lunch alone. Excellent meal and great value. Would stay at The Royal Oak again if in the area. Rooms were clean and functional

  • L Orritt

  • December 2013

Very welcoming place to stay for us and our dog.

Just had a three night midweek break at the Royal Oak.

Sonia and Ian made us feel at home straight away. Lovely friendly pub in the heart of a village. Excellent location for visiting the north east and Yorkshire dales. Very good food, excellent value for money. Our dog was made very welcome. We would recommend this pub if you are looking for a down to earth and comfortable place to stay. Thanks to Sonia and Ian for looking after us.

  • R Ward

  • November 2013

A warm welcome & great food

Value for money, room was adequate, food was excellent, bit out of the way, but would definitely use again.

  • Anthony R

  • November 2013

Durham visit

Good basic accommodation at a bargain price, only 10 - 15 minutes from Durham.

The hosts made me feel very welcome and couldn't have been more helpful. Excellent breakfast and evening meal. Would definitely stay again.

  • Georgina L

  • November 2013

Sonia, the landlady, was very friendly & helpful during our stay.

If we visit the area again we will definitely stay at the Royal Oak. We stayed with our 2 young grandchildren & were made very welcome

  • Keith K

  • November 2013

Good stay on Bonfire night

Fantastic people if you like mixing.

Rang me early morning to warn me that food was limited due to bonfire night. I love the people of the North East just like Yorkshire folk, what you see is what you get. Love it

PS

Change those sausages at breakfast.

  • L Burgess

  • October 2013

OK if you're stuck

Unfortunately the room smelled of smoke and the macerator on the toilet kept going off and kept me awake most of the night.

The hosts were pleasant enough and I only had toast in the morning so I can't comment about the food really. I booked because I wanted an evening meal and didn't want to have to travel to get it but arrived on the Monday when they don't do meals - would have been useful to know. Not truly awful but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Margaret B

  • October 2013

Great place to explore the Durham area

We stayed for a couple of nights as a base to explore the Durham area and do a bit of walking.

Lovely area with good short country walks just outside the front door. Easy access to beautiful Durham city. Great value pub accomodation, wonderful hospitality, superb traditional breakfast and very good value and plentiful fresh homemade pub food in the evenings. Sonia and Ian made us feel very welcome.

  • Mark W

  • September 2013

Very friendly and enjoyed my stay