No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
1 Commercial Street, , , Durham, DH7 9BN
Just a 20-minute drive from historic Durham, The Royal Oak is a family-run hotel offering a traditional restaurant, a bar, and free WiFi throughout. The hotel has wonderful views of the County Durham countryside. Each of the rooms at The Royal Oak has an iPod docking station, a TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathrooms feature a hairdryer, and all rooms have scenic views. Guests can enjoy classic home-cooked meals in the pub restaurant. The bar offers a range of light snacks, real local ales and fine wines, and there is also a games area with darts and a pool table. With free private parking, The Royal Oak Hotel is within a 35-minute drive of lively Newcastle and Gateshead. The Yorkshire Dales and Northumberland National Park are both within an hour’s drive.
Picture of The Royal Oak, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durham visit
Good basic accommodation at a bargain price, only 10 - 15 minutes from Durham.
The hosts made me feel very welcome and couldn't have been more helpful. Excellent breakfast and evening meal.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Anthony R

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay on Bonfire night
Fantastic people if you like mixing. Rang me early morning to warn me that food was limited due to bonfire night. I love the people of the North East just like Yorkshire folk, what you see is what you get.
Love it
PS
Change those sausages at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Keith K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sonia, the landlady, was very friendly & helpful during our stay.
If we visit the area again we will definitely stay at the Royal Oak.
We stayed with our 2 young grandchildren & were made very welcome

Reviewed by
Georgina L

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK if you're stuck
Unfortunately the room smelled of smoke and the macerator on the toilet kept going off and kept me awake most of the night. The hosts were pleasant enough and I only had toast in the morning so I can't comment about the food really. I booked because I wanted an evening meal and didn't want to have to travel to get it but arrived on the Monday when they don't do meals - would have been useful to know. Not truly awful but I wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
L Burgess

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to explore the Durham area
We stayed for a couple of nights as a base to explore the Durham area and do a bit of walking. Lovely area with good short country walks just outside the front door. Easy access to beautiful Durham city. Great value pub accomodation, wonderful hospitality, superb traditional breakfast and very good value and plentiful fresh homemade pub food in the evenings. Sonia and Ian made us feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Margaret B

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and enjoyed my stay

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Lelant, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B & B
Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back again for the Great North run 2014, nothing was too much trouble even offered us a cooked breakfast before our early set off, our pub meal was lovely, would strongly recommend, thanks again, Carol & Paul

Reviewed by
Carol Wooldridge

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we stayed in needs a lick of paint, there were no tea/coffee making facilities despite the landlady saying that she would put some in the room. We had a very early start the morning after we stayed here and the pub downstairs was very noisy until after midnight. We had to walk through large groups of people with our daughter when we returned to the room. I would not recommend this hotel if you have children of any age.

Reviewed by
H Marshall

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Very friendly reception when I arrived and during my stay, it is a nice little B&B in a village pub in a small village. Room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good. Will be staying here again.

Reviewed by
A Dixon

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Busy village pub. Good food prepared for you as you wait -- not cooked & re-heated -- rooms spotless
Owners doing a grand job to create a successful business. Improvements to exterior & chalets ongoing. Builders mess could be tidied up improve visual amenity. Welcome, craik and service couldn't be better. A good base to travel from -- lounge amenities limited. Great value for money --AND so handy for Chester-le-Street and the Cricket.

Reviewed by
ALLAN M

From West Calder, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next