No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Hotel Slaley Hall

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Slaley , Hexham, NE47 0BX

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

An Edwardian mansion set in 1000 acres of Northumbrian countryside, De Vere Slaley Hall is crowned by a spectacular Japanese Garden and a 2 championship Golf Courses. A unique location with fabulous interiors, 142 bedrooms equipped with modern facilities and fantastically comfortable beds.

De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel boasts 3 restaurants;
Hadrians Brasserie
Exquisitely designed serving the freshest Northumberland produce. Enjoy stunning views across the Hunting Course towards the forest.

The Claret Jug
Overlooking the golf course and specialises in classic, well prepared meals. Every evening it transforms into a deluxe bistro. A relaxed friendly atmosphere with an extensive selection of beers and wines.

Dukes Grill & Whiskey Snug
In the classic Edwardian drawing room, you have the opportunity of A La Carte dining in a luxurious setting. The food is classic British with a local, contemporary twist. After dinner head through to the Whiskey Snug and sample from over 300 malt whiskeys, there is no cosier place to finish your wine or sip an after dinner cognac.

19th Bar & Terrace
Enjoy the spectacular terrace views and meet up for a glass of wine or a beer. Light bites and meals are served all day.

Slaley Spa has a wide range of treatments to enhance and fulfil your stay as well as a 20 metre tropical pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and gym. We also have and extensive range of outdoor pursuits including quad biking, segways, 4x4 off road driving course, archery, clay pigeon shooting, paintballing and many more.

De Vere Hotel Slaley Hall has 2 championship standard courses to test all golfers. Combine spectacular view of the Northumberland countryside with challenging golf. The Hunting course is a real challenge with well placed bunkers and tricky greens whilst the Priesmtman has panormaic views of the Tyne Valley and is a classic course suitable for all levels of golfer.

Hadrian's Wall approximately 6 miles away, Beamish Museum approximately 30 miles, Newcastle City Centre 25 miles and the Metro Centre is situated 25 miles away.
Picture of De Vere Hotel Slaley Hall, Hexham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A 3* Star Hotel thats desperate for refurb!
Stayed here 2 years ago and it needed a refurb then, we were truly shocked to see 2 years on that it was still the same. Nice basic bedroom (3* - not 5*), the food was lovely in the restaurant but the service was that bad, both at dinner and at breakfast ,we had our supplements all refunded when we checked out however we would have been happier to spend the money and have the good service. The Spa is absolutely desperate for a refurb, very grubby and needed a good clean around the pool area etc, but the changing rooms had broken locks on the doors, all the wood is very chipped etc and genuinely dirty - again nothing you would expect at a so-called 5* hotel. It looked like a run down local leaisue centre. Rather than being a uniue hotel that you would visit as a treat sadly this is now not the case. There are much nicer halls and hotels in the north east area for teh same money and excellent service - go elsewhere!

Reviewed by
J Ferguson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our only complaints were the price of the drinks, which are an absolute disgrace and will stop us returning. Swearing by some well dressed golfers was also a bit strange !

Reviewed by
PAUL R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow
Beautiful hotel, fantastic setting, superb golf courses with views to die for, friendliest staff ever ,can't rate this highly enough

Reviewed by
G Birbeck

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
It is a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. It was a pleasure to be there. Unfortunately our dinner was a disaster. We had to send my wife's meal back as it was dry and inedible. Her meal was recooked. It was good the second time. No compensation was offered.

Reviewed by
Brian J

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely be back!!
We stayed at slaley hall on Saturday 1st August for one night as our friend got married there on this weekend. The service was fabulous and we could not fault any part of our stay in the slightest! The idea of getting breakfast delivered to your room for just a small charge is fantastic! The breakfast was delivered on time with so much to choose from. The staff are friendly and are always wiling to help! The wedding breakfast was lovely and again we could not fault it. We will definitely be back and we will definitely be recommending slaley hall to all of our friends!

Reviewed by
Lynsey Huddart

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place but restaurant and bar prices were extortionate which sadly spoiled the stay slightly.

Reviewed by
D Rowney

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here to celebrate
Our daughters wedding with many guests, staff were very accommodating and nothing was any trouble . The concierge team were fabulous sorting out our luggage etc . Great food, staff and company .

Reviewed by
j Lynas

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class would recommend this to anyone. Out overnight stay just not long enough though

Reviewed by
o masson

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Couldn't fault anything with this hotel plus got good deal on Laterooms.com, so good value as well. Only thing to be aware of is the dishes served in the restaurant are a bit on the rich side with no plainer options available. If you like your food simple and delicate, you will struggle to find anything on the menu.

Reviewed by
W Waters

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slaley Hall
Pros-The DBB deal was very good- but the dinner choice in the set menu was a little restricted (though adequate unless you were vegetarian in which case only one option was available)
Comfortable, quiet room

Cons-Bathroom looked a little "tired"
Quite a long walk to the car park which was downhill from the reception so may be difficult for those less mobile
Breakfast was a little chaotic with some empty dishes for over 15 minutes (but one staff member on duty was especially helpful)

Reviewed by
Ruth A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next