No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Slaley Hall

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Slaley , Hexham, NE47 0BX

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

An Edwardian mansion set in 1000 acres of Northumbrian countryside, Slaley Hall is crowned by a spectacular Japanese Garden and 2 championship Golf Courses. A unique location with fabulous interiors, 142 bedrooms equipped with modern facilities and fantastically comfortable beds.

Slaley Hall Hotel boasts 3 restaurants;

Hadrians Brasserie
Exquisitely designed serving the freshest Northumberland produce. Enjoy stunning views across the Hunting Course towards the forest.

The Claret Jug
Overlooking the golf course and specialises in classic, well-prepared meals. Every evening it transforms into a deluxe bistro. A relaxed friendly atmosphere with an extensive selection of beers and wines.

Dukes Grill & Whiskey Snug
In the classic Edwardian drawing room, you have the opportunity of A La Carte dining in a luxurious setting. The food is classic British with a local, contemporary twist. After dinner head through to the Whiskey Snug and sample from over 300 malt whiskeys. There is no cosier place to finish your wine or sip an after dinner cognac.

19th Bar & Terrace
Enjoy the spectacular terrace views and meet up for a glass of wine or a beer. Light bites and meals are served all day.

Slaley Spa has a wide range of treatments to enhance and fulfil your stay as well as a 20 metre tropical pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and gym. We also have an extensive range of outdoor pursuits including quad biking, segways, 4x4 off road driving course, archery, clay pigeon shooting, paintballing and many more.

Slaley Hall has 2 championship courses to test all golfers. Combine spectacular view of the Northumberland countryside with challenging golf. The Hunting course is a real challenge with well-placed bunkers and tricky greens whilst the Priestman has panoramic views of the Tyne Valley and is a classic course suitable for all levels of golfer.

Hadrian's Wall approximately 6 miles away, Beamish Museum approximately 30 miles, Newcastle City Centre 25 miles and the Metro Centre is situated 25 miles away.
Picture of Slaley Hall, Hexham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth what we paid!

Reviewed by
Lynne A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous stay
Everything was as described. Lovely treat

Reviewed by
Steve H

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay x

Reviewed by
p bell

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay
We stayed at Slaley for the third time last week , just as good as before

Reviewed by
E Wilson

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welocome Break
My wife and I fancied a short break and wanted to treat ourselves. Having booked a two night dinner bead and breakfast deal, through laterooms, we were not disappointed. The service from the staff was excellent right from the time we pulled up at the hotel to when we left. The receptionists, cleaners, bar staff, waiters were all friendly and helpful. I feel however that a special mention must be made of the valet who greeted us upon our arrival and looked after us until we left He was such a nice, polite and down to earth character and made us feel really at home. The room was excellent, large and comfortable. The en-suite was huge. The point I am about to make is a personal preference rather than a negative comment.. Please when the en suite is so large do away with the shower over the bath. You could fit a bath and separate shower cubicle in there very easily. I felt the shower over the bath very narrow and restrictive for someone my size. The facilities at the hotel, i.e. Spa, swimming pool and two golf courses were superb. We played one of the courses and were well chuffed with it. It was in superb condition and again the staff were friendly, helpful and informative. For the younger and more adventurous there are many oudoor sports and activities. The breakfasts were plentiful and nice. The dinner on the first night was excellent with quality food. Slight black mark on second nights dinner when I tried the Scarborough Woof. The woof itself was nice but it was served with what I can only describe as "Iceland" potato croquettes which let the meal down. Otherwise excellent and again the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a superb break. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will be returning for more.

Reviewed by
R Rodger

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent venue and service staff very friendly and helpful food great in the claret jug
Woberful relaxing leisure facilities ie sauna steam and swimming pool. Stayed with 2 dogs which also had a wonderful time

Reviewed by
s meldram

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay at Slaley Hall
Our stay at Slaley Hall was very pleasant.We stayed for just one night as we were touring the area.
The room was very nice & clean with a complimentary bottle of red wine which went down well. The only niggle we had was the slow service in the restaurant although it was only a quarter full. The breakfast was self service which was very good. All in all it was a pleasant stay and would probably stay again but skip the evening meal.

Reviewed by
L Wade

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attention to Detail
I have stayed at De Vere Slaley numerous times this was by far the poorest visit. Initial issues with the pricing of the room that the hotel knew nothing about even though Late Rooms had previously had contact with the hotel.The greatest issue was the room,a very tired and worn out bedroom no heating,which resulted in 3 visits by maintenance to correct it eventually ,a heated towel rail that did not work,lights off in the mirror in the bathroom,a sliding door between bedroom and bathroom that would not close,coupled with the heating system that rumbled and banged all not,which equalled a poor nights sleep.Breakfast had no plates available in the warming racks,empty bowls that had not been re-filled,no bread replaced in the buffet section and to cap it all hot breakfast food that had empty containers no eggs little bacon sausage mushrooms or tomatoes only beans and scrambled eggs.To obtain food and plates you had to ask the staff which was shocking.Reporting the issues of the room and breakfast to the duty manager resulted in a change of room and the inconvenience of repacking and moving and for the total inconvenience of the shocking first night £15 off the account which in essence is the price of morning coffee and tea in the afternoon,,,,not really very compensatory !! Breakfast on day two again had similar problems.I have written to the General Manager at Slaley with my thoughts but with no reply from him I cannot comment any other way than in my comments.

Reviewed by
Alan S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just lovely
lovely staff, clean rooms. small stingy portions for dinner but lovely huge selection for breakfast.

Reviewed by
karen k

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A 3* Star Hotel thats desperate for refurb!
Stayed here 2 years ago and it needed a refurb then, we were truly shocked to see 2 years on that it was still the same. Nice basic bedroom (3* - not 5*), the food was lovely in the restaurant but the service was that bad, both at dinner and at breakfast ,we had our supplements all refunded when we checked out however we would have been happier to spend the money and have the good service. The Spa is absolutely desperate for a refurb, very grubby and needed a good clean around the pool area etc, but the changing rooms had broken locks on the doors, all the wood is very chipped etc and genuinely dirty - again nothing you would expect at a so-called 5* hotel. It looked like a run down local leaisue centre. Rather than being a uniue hotel that you would visit as a treat sadly this is now not the case. There are much nicer halls and hotels in the north east area for teh same money and excellent service - go elsewhere!

Reviewed by
J Ferguson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next