No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
358 Westgate Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6NU
Bright, modern and totally refurbished, the 20-bedroomed BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel is situated within easy walking distance of Newcastle's city centre. That puts us, and you, in a great position for exploring the rest of North East England (top class theatres, music venues and museums are all within a short walking distance), with Grade II Listed gorgeousness to return to every evening! On Westgate Road, close to Newcastle Central Station, St. James Boulevard Bus Station and Newcastle International Airport, our location is hard to beat, while tastefully decorated bedrooms provide a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere that makes us hard to leave! Whilst staying with us, why not try out our own 'Halal' Indian/Italian restaurant, and sample HALAL meats in a menu full of creative dishes? For something a little different, try our outdoor 'Shisha Lounge' at weekends.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly & clean. Room a bit small. Excellent Curry.
o

Reviewed by
W M

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend anyone to stay here! Would definitley go back!

Reviewed by
C Haines

From Shildon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wednesday Night 17th July 2013
The hotel is really pleasant and clean. The surrounding area is a little shabby and there is a sad neglected cemetary opposite, Three tower blocks facing the hotel.
My room was clean and spacious, however even though I was on the top floor (room210) the noise from the kitchen extract fan was not nice, this stopped about 23:35 hours. Starting up again at 06:25 So best avoid this room if you need a good nights sleep. The room its self is really nicely decorated and bed really comfy. The food in the indian restaurant is really good and authentic.
But the breakfast, best avoid the full engish as the turkey rashers and sausage were not very nice. But the other chioce were good. I guess as they are Indian chefs they will not entertain pork.
BUT overall it was very good.

Reviewed by
John Michael K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A walk into town- but get a taxi back
Location meant we wouldn't have wanted to walk back late at night.
Rooms very good,
Reception fine
breakfast service polite but incompetent

Reviewed by
Graham M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Complaints
Staff were friendly & helpful.

Reviewed by
j p

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a Surprise
This hotel has been updated and the whole experience was delightful. The reception, the rooms and the food in the restaurant were excellent. I will stay again with great pleasure.

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room
Nice room and good facilities good staff helpful thankyou enjoyed my stay

Reviewed by
S Clarke

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was okay. Did not spend much time in the hotel - breakfast was very dissapointing.

Reviewed by
N RUSSELL

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Indian restaurant but bad hotel breakfast.
Just as title, I have eaten in the restaurant and it is excellent. I have stayed in the hotel twice and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. Also good rooms, they are simple, modern and clean with good comfortable beds. The hotel itself is in a great location not far away from St. James's or the city centre.
Yes, that is right there is a but. They say breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It really is when you are paying for Bed and breakfast. The cooked breakfast in the hotel really let it down badly. The are simply not of any suitable quality for any level of hotel.
The use of turkey bacon pretty minging and not what most people expect, if you are serving this as a substitue to normal bacon at least try to use good quality. The stuff we had was like smoked rubber, very poor. The frozen multipack, cheap sausages that they serve up for breakfast are very low quality, and terrible tasting before considering that they were also terribly cooked, the taste and appearance of being deep fried, making them small sponges of fat. Out of the full breakfast could only eat the eggs and mushrooms. This cooking is nowhere near the standard that you would expect of a best western or the 1st class Indian restaurant one room away. This needs to improve. Second time I have stayed here so I am afraid this is not an isolated event.
This is a decent little hotel, I am in Newcastle a few times a year and I will probably not stay here again. The positives I have indicated above are outweighed by the relatively high cost for the low quality of the breakfast that you get. Simply does not match that expected of a £100 a night hotel. Newcastle has plenty other good hotels that do t disappoint at this fundemental level. If you stay room only you may be much happier with this hotel.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were welcoming and at all times friendly and helpful
My first time in a Best Western and have to say an excellent experience ...staff friendly, helpful and courteous....accommodation, clean and pleasant and decor lovely

Reviewed by
Tom K

From Morpeth, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next