No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Balincourt

5Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
58 Christchurch Road , Bournemouth , BH13PF
If you're looking for a Bournemouth Hotel, Bournemouth Guest House, Bournemouth Guest Accommodation or Bournemouth Bed & Breakfast may we offer The Balincourt - 2007 Small Hotel of the Year Bournemouth Tourism Awards and commended in 2008,2010,2011. The Balincourt Guest House offers 5 star luxury Guest Accommodation located close to Bournemouth beach, the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) and Bournemouth town centre.

All bedrooms are individually decorated and equipped with a host of thoughtful extras. Relax in our lounge and bar, and enjoy freshly prepared evening meals in the attractive dining room. We only allow adults to ensure a peaceful and relaxing stay during your Bournemouth holiday. Built in the Victorian era, The Balincourt was originally the private house of a prominent and wealthy Bournemouth family. In 1926 the house became a private hotel. Each year we enter Bournemouth in Bloom, and in 2008, 2009 we won first in class. The house retains many original Victorian features, which we have been careful to incorporate in our refurbishment.
Picture of The Balincourt, Bournemouth  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good stay... recomended

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Balincourt
Clean and tidy with good attention to customer service. Very procey for a small guest house and quite a distance from the sea front (we drove in and parked as it was a good 30 min walk)

ManagementResponse

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We are very proud of our customer service standards. There is access to the beach about 10 minutes walk from the Balincourt so do speak with our staff next time you stay with us. We'll save you the trouble of driving to the beach!

Reviewed by
John Evans

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel accomodation
Hotel very clean and well placed to walk in from the cliff end to Bournemouth sea front! Staff friendly and helpful! A Quiet location apart from the occasional police siren travelling the road outside the hotel. The Only drawback is the small bar in the hotel is not manned so to attain service is just a bell push away. Therefore the room was always empty, atmosphere non existent! Realising of course the expense of staffing!

ManagementResponse

Thanks for leaving your review. We are so pleased that you found the Balincourt to be quiet and well placed for access to the beach. Additionally we were delighted that you were impressed by our staff. We work hard to give our guests the very best experience and look forward to you paying us a return visit.

Reviewed by
robin c

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and friendly
We stayed for 8 nights in early August. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was clean and in a good state of repair. My only reservation was that it was perhaps a little expensive - although this was Bournemouth at the height of the season.
The bed was very comfortable - which made it a problem to have to get up in the morning in time to catch the excellent breakfasts! There was a good choice of fruit, cereals and yoghurts followed by a choice cooked breakfasts including full English or something simpler like smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or poached egg on toast. This is a quiet hotel within walking distance of the beach and near to a frequent bus service into Bournemouth centre. There is also a bar serving food just across the road and an excellent Chinese restaurant just a short walk away.

Reviewed by
G Bryan

From Llantwit Major, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly home from home
A warm welcome when we arrived, shown to a spacious bedroom, nicely apportioned, beautifully laundered bed linen. Breakfast next morning was well organised, plentiful and very good quality.
Excellent overall experience.

Reviewed by
E Lowe

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty good
Only stayed at the Balincourt for one night, though our overall experience was a good one, the hotel is located quite close to the beach (only about 450-500 metres walk, most of it through public gardens which is really pleasant).
The Room we stayed in was quite narrow which on occasion made it a little difficult to move around in, though it was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable to sleep in (the main thing in my opinion).
We discovered Breakfast was only served after 8am which wasn't well advertised when we booked and we had an early start so unfortunately didn't get breakfast.
There is a reasonable amount of parking within the grounds at the front of property which was great and the building is lovely with fantastic high ceilings, a lovely older property with real fireplaces and thick walls! Also we stayed when the weather was fantastic and the flowers around the front lawn area were stunning, very picturesque.

Reviewed by
M Church

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay with good accommodation and a comprehensive breakfast menu. The Balincourt would be a venue I would happily use again.

Reviewed by
David Mullin

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This has to be one of the best hotels
Can not fault anything, hotel was spotless and food was excellent, would stay there again, one of the best hotels we have stayed in

Reviewed by
Linda Bedwell

From Harleston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly
very welcoming excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
ian perris

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short break away
Our first visit to Balincourt Hotel provided all we needed for a short relaxing break away. On our arrival we were made to feel welcome by the hoteliers,Alison and Nigel and then left to enjoy the hospitality of a clean comfortable room and a good choice of breakfast each morning.The location proved ideal for accessing the beaches and surrounding countryside. Being an independent hotel, Balincourt offered a more personal service which has left us wanting to return there in the future.

Reviewed by
D Fitzgerald

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next