No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Balincourt

5Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
58 Christchurch Road , Bournemouth , BH13PF
If you're looking for a Bournemouth Hotel, Bournemouth Guest House, Bournemouth Guest Accommodation or Bournemouth Bed & Breakfast may we offer The Balincourt - 2007 Small Hotel of the Year Bournemouth Tourism Awards and commended in 2008,2010,2011. The Balincourt Guest House offers 5 star luxury Guest Accommodation located close to Bournemouth beach, the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) and Bournemouth town centre.

All bedrooms are individually decorated and equipped with a host of thoughtful extras. Relax in our lounge and bar, and enjoy freshly prepared evening meals in the attractive dining room. We only allow adults to ensure a peaceful and relaxing stay during your Bournemouth holiday. Built in the Victorian era, The Balincourt was originally the private house of a prominent and wealthy Bournemouth family. In 1926 the house became a private hotel. Each year we enter Bournemouth in Bloom, and in 2008, 2009 we won first in class. The house retains many original Victorian features, which we have been careful to incorporate in our refurbishment.
Picture of The Balincourt, Bournemouth  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty good
Only stayed at the Balincourt for one night, though our overall experience was a good one, the hotel is located quite close to the beach (only about 450-500 metres walk, most of it through public gardens which is really pleasant).
The Room we stayed in was quite narrow which on occasion made it a little difficult to move around in, though it was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable to sleep in (the main thing in my opinion).
We discovered Breakfast was only served after 8am which wasn't well advertised when we booked and we had an early start so unfortunately didn't get breakfast.
There is a reasonable amount of parking within the grounds at the front of property which was great and the building is lovely with fantastic high ceilings, a lovely older property with real fireplaces and thick walls! Also we stayed when the weather was fantastic and the flowers around the front lawn area were stunning, very picturesque.

Reviewed by
M Church

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay with good accommodation and a comprehensive breakfast menu. The Balincourt would be a venue I would happily use again.

Reviewed by
David Mullin

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This has to be one of the best hotels
Can not fault anything, hotel was spotless and food was excellent, would stay there again, one of the best hotels we have stayed in

Reviewed by
Linda Bedwell

From Harleston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly
very welcoming excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
ian perris

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short break away
Our first visit to Balincourt Hotel provided all we needed for a short relaxing break away. On our arrival we were made to feel welcome by the hoteliers,Alison and Nigel and then left to enjoy the hospitality of a clean comfortable room and a good choice of breakfast each morning.The location proved ideal for accessing the beaches and surrounding countryside. Being an independent hotel, Balincourt offered a more personal service which has left us wanting to return there in the future.

Reviewed by
D Fitzgerald

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Peaceful Stay
Was looking for somewhere to have a peaceful nights sleep, away from the hens and stags that descend on Bournemouth. Close enough to centre and to the beach and accommodation was clean and roomy.

Reviewed by
G Grossi

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Enjoyed Ballincourt stay. Helpful staff, clean and some nice touches. Excellent breakfast. Room serviced and supplied very well. Handy location.

Reviewed by
John B

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Guest House
The Balincourt was an excellent hotel, we knew we were in for a great stay the moment we walked in the front door, and the welcome we received from the owner was lovely. The room we were given was a real treat and you could see that a lot of thought had gone into the decor, very clean and tidy, all down to the care the staff took to make sure the guests enjoyed their stay at The Balincourt. The breakfast that came with the room was exceptional and came with a lot of choice, all in all an excellent stay as I mentioned in the beginning.

ManagementResponse

Thanks so much for leaving your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Balincourt very soon. Best Regards, Alison

Reviewed by
John O

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Weekend this year
What a friendly warm welcome from mine host on arrival - being not used to B and B's ( we usually stay in hotels ) this was a really nice surprise. Very easy to find in Bournemouth , bus stop almost opposite or a very pleasant walk into town in about a twenty minute lazy walk.Good car parking facility for the limited number of rooms on offer.Very , very tidy and clean accommodation and internal facilities.Mine host and wife are very methodical , with a place for everything , and everything in its place .My husband and I felt that it was no problem to ask for anything . Extremly good sound proof windows giving a quite nights sleep which is surpising as the B and B is on the main Boscombe road. We have no hesitation in recommending this B and B to anyone else. Absolutly ten out of ten with a gold star !!

Reviewed by
Ann Hobbs

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accomodation close to amenities and BIC, good all round value.
Good room with all the facilities you would expect, wifi, etc. only slight negative was that the bed was not very comfy, could do with a new mattress.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for leaving your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your room and the facilities on offer. We do get a lot of guests who want to be close to the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), so it's good of you to point out the great location of the Balincourt. Thanks too for the comment regarding the mattress. It has been replaced as a result of your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balincourt.

Reviewed by
Lisa R

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next